Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

The Defending Dissent Foundation is a critically important institution in the civil liberties sphere. Defending freedoms of speech, assembly and the press is, of course, necessary, but just as important is defending the right to dissent. Defending Dissent understands it is not the constitutionally protected speech and actions of those we agree with that need to be protected, it's the views of those who challenge and upset the ruling powers and status quo. Defending Dissent has a storied history of taking up the cause of dissidents, and I am proud to be a board member and supporter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow its funding base.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I began working with this group in the mid-1970s and have stuck with them, eventually becoming a board member. The Defending Dissent Foundation started in 1960 as a group of people trying to shut down... more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

One of the features I volunteer to help with as a Board member is to build DDF's online Civil Liberties Hall of Fame. http://www.defendingdissent.org/fame/ DDF does so much more. It has a real commitment to explaining not just the right to dissent but the fact that a healthy democracy requires dissent and debate in order to function properly as a free society. We help build coalitions to defend dissent across the political spectrum.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase its visibility

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I began working with this group in the mid-1970s and have stuck with them, eventually becoming a board member. The Defending Dissent Foundation started in 1960 as a group of people trying to shut down the House Un-American Activities Committee due to its scandalous false claims and witch-hunting of dissidents who opposed the excesses of the Cold War McCarthy Period. We helped shut down HUAC, and then turned our attention to rolling back repressive legislation. Now in addition to challenging bad legislation we champion the cause of vigorous dissent because dissent is essential to real democracy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Defending Dissent, has a long history of struggle for justice, from its grandparent group, the Natl Committee Against Repressive Legislation, which helped to defeat the House Unamerican Activities Committee, to First Amendment Foundation. In its present life, Defending Dissent is a most vital and indispensable organization at a time when this nation faces perhaps its most difficult, in defense of civil liberties, working both with sister organizations and lobbying effectively on the hill.I am proud, as a board member, to be part of this most energetic, resourceful and courageous organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Defending the right to political dissent (telling the government when we disagree) is the most basic predicate to a free society. The Defending Dissent Foundation, and it's predecessor entities, have been doing this superbly since 1960.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to increase its donor base.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

It is my honor and privilege to serve as a board member with the Defending Dissent Foundation, a crucial organization in protecting political and free-speech rights in the United States. DDF is a small but indispensable contributor to American democracy, freedom and constitutional liberty.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 30, 2012

I am honored to be involved in such a great organization. DDF takes your rights and everyone's civil liberties seriously. It began as a coalition to abolish Joe McCarthy's HUAC, it then evolved and ... more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I can't say enough about Defending Dissent Foundation. Since it began in 1960, it has been trailblazer in defending political dissent. In terms of staff, it's one full time executive director and a bit more for an assistant. And they still have an impact. DDF was sited by a UN human rights report several times in the past couple of years. Join the fight to protect the right to political dissent!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 30, 2012

I am honored to be involved in such a great organization. DDF takes your rights and everyone's civil liberties seriously. It began as a coalition to abolish Joe McCarthy's HUAC, it then evolved and is now DDF -- a defender of the First Amendment. I recommend that you join and become a Dissenter! Dissent is Patriotic.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write a profile of an activist they admire for our Civil Liberties Hall of Fame Wiki Volunteer