Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Defending Dissent keeps me informed and active on issues of civil liberties in the USA and human rights.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

As a criminal defense lawyer, I am very familiar with just how eroded civil liberties have become in the name of "national security." Organizations that are willing to stand up against these policies, like DDF, are critical to the preservation of our liberties.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am a lawyer and board member with the Chicago Committee to Defend the Bill of Rights (CCDBR). DDF has had a longstanding relationship with CCDBR and other leading organizations, and it stands at the forefront for important civil liberties issues. CCDBR is unafraid to build connections between other organizations, support the work of other groups, and to continue to fight the evisceration of civil liberties and rights. They even support the CCDBR newsletter and press releases, which helps to build a national coalition around these issues. All in all, DDF is a 5-star deserving organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I have worked with the Defending Dissent Foundation for many years. They are a reliable coalition partner in DC, but the best thing about this group is that they are solid on the facts and the policies they work on without being a boring think tank. They make grassroots activism easy and fun.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

It's comforting to know that there is an organization that is still willing to speak out against the dangers to our democracy posed by government actions. It's frightening that some other organizations (including some of the previously most progressive) are now afraid to defend some of our basic human rights.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This group has long defended free-speech and anti-harassment rights -- issues that are once again under challenge today.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Their mailings are very helpful to my research. They cover the material with skill and comprehensiveness.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Defending Dissent is on the job providing up to the minute info on the deteriorating conditions in our democracy. The passion and commitment of Sue Udry also impresses!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I am glad to help Defending Dissent in any way that I can in order to ensure our Freedoms

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

Consistently, for over 50 years under earlier names, it has done what its name says, preventing people from being jailed or suppressed by other means of law for holding unpopular views. Or on suspicion of holding such views. Its actions probably show a bias towards support of people who criticize the government; this would be because agreeing with the government is rarely a form of dissent that goernments try to suppress.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write a profile of an activist they admire for our Civil Liberties Hall of Fame Wiki Volunteer