Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 24, 2013

more

January 24, 2013

Defending Dissent has for decades fought to protect our political and civil liberties and to defend unpopular people and causes in the name of justice and democratic rights. It deserves continuing support.
Clay Steinman

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

If it weren't for the efforts of DDF I wouldn't have heard about many important citizen actions. They are doing an excellent job and deserve recognition. Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 2, 2012

more

December 2, 2012

Defending Dissent is vital to the continued protection of American civil liberties and universal human rights.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Defending Dissent's outstanding newsletter is an indispensable component of the civil liberties ongoing compendium of information and analysis. My organization, the Chicago Committee to Defend the Bill of Rights (www.ccdbr.org) makes regular use of these newsletters, forwards them and links them to our web site. DD's participation in various coalitions in unselfish and consistently useful in promoting our mission of defending civil liberties and especially First Amendment rights. Finally, DD has provided, including recently, very signficant material support to our work here in Chicago. Thank you, Sue Udry, and DD board for all that you are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

I appreciate the Defending Dissent Foundation for their excellent communications. They send only a few emails, and these emails let me know precisely what concrete actions are being taken with my donations, from submitting briefs in important court cases to lobbying for particular amendments. These announcements are also timely, and help me interpret what I'm reading in the news about particular legislation from the perspectives of informed civil liberties advocates.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

This organization is very informative in terms of helping my understand that my civil liberties in America are under attack.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Defending Dissent Foundation's skill at networking and coalition building has made its effectiveness even greater. It has the respect and support of many organizations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

I first heard of this group in 1984 and have been supporting them every since.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This organization is an EXCELLENT channel for defending human rights and civil liberties (human rights are civil liberties, too) in the U.S., and I highly praise them for their work in doing so, particularly because human and civil rights are under increasing attack and threat in the U.S., with less and less Americans understanding the importance of being vigilant, standing up for their preservation, standing up against their abrogation, and understanding that we must NOT sacrifice them for so-called "security". Thank you for all of your consideration.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

We must defend dissenters, as they alone have the courage that others lack to speak out against the wrong-doings committed by the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches of our government and against our war-mongering, inhumane, profiteering, unjust, lawless, short-sighted policies.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write a profile of an activist they admire for our Civil Liberties Hall of Fame Wiki Volunteer