Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
123.2631645
Write A Review
December 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

more

December 15, 2014
4 people found this review helpful

All donors of this organization need to do their research very carefully and not get sucked into the lies and deceptions. Ask to see a detailed report of where your $ is going and why. Ask to see the report on all employees that receive compensation From CEO to secretary's and aides. Get all reports of any special projects such as Reimbursing Farmers and Ranchers due to wolf predation and how many $ was spent in your State. In 2013 Defenders Of Wildlife had a total revenue of $33,192,322. In the past Defenders Of Wildlife has also been very non transparent about how, when, and where they use your money. Just remember the $33.192.322 is your money not theirs to wasted on high salaries and wasted programs. All nonprofit organization are required by law to release any and all finance records. Its your right. In the past Defenders Of Wildlife has stated that legal fees are a large part of their expenses that's not so. Earth Justice is a non profit organization that does their legal work. So before you donate any money to Defenders Of Wildlife do your homework. It may save you headaches down the road.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Would not donate to start with.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

None

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 29, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

On Cape Hatteras National Seashore these folks encourage the killing of ALL wolves as they claim they are non native and threaten nesting birds. Success!!! The National Park Service succeeded in killing 12 wolves last year alone along with more than 400 other animals to protect a handful of bird nests on an adjacent beach. They are proficient in the use of taxpayer funds to sue over the most assinine things to collect their money in the form of reimbursed "legal fees". Spend your money at a local carnival trying to win a stuffed animal, they are both scam artists.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

call it by a more realistic name, perhaps Animal Scam International

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2013
7 people found this review helpful

Within 3 months after I paid my ANNUAL membership I started receiving harassing mail requesting that I pay another annual membership fee. This continued for nine months. They piled up several dollars in mail demanding that I pay again. These letters threatened the loss of my membership. When I did pay my annual membership on time the next year, they continued to send threatening and patronizing mail demanding that I pay for another month AFTER they cashed my check.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fire the membership management department. They money they waste on threatening letters could be spent on wolf protection

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2013
6 people found this review helpful

Dear Defenders of Wildlife,
The $100,000 you are asking us to help raise to defend "wolves under siege" will pay less than a third of your CEO's annual salary, which according to Charity Navigator, is $288,616 plus an additional $19,950 from "Affiliates." This is very disappointing. Are you
helping the wolves, or are the wolves helping Rodger Schlickeisen and other well-fed humans?

If Mr. Schlickeisen took a pay cut of $100,000 he could help wolves and people, too, people who are on social security (like myself) who would truly like to help wolves but who are barely able to pay their food bills.

A personal response would be appreciated.

Sincerely Yours,
Sheila Hamanaka

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2012

I know that Defenders does really great collaborative work with ranchers and other stakeholders to protect wolves, bears, and even bison. From their 2011 Annual Report, I also see that they used 91% of their funds on program and support services and only 9% on fundraising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 19, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
September 19, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Less than 52% of their income goes to program expenses. That should be criminal. I'm stopping any future donations to them. I'll be giving my donations to Animal Legal Defense Fund (4 star, 84.4% to program), Tony La Russa's Animal Rescue Foundation (4 star, 90.9% to program) and Animal Welfare Institute (4 star, 94.4% to program). Defenders of Wildlife is a ripoff. I wish I could take back my previous donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I honestly don't remember how I came across this site. But they pulled me in with their wolve slaughter prevention. I ended up signing a petition and felt good about it. But a little while after I did so I have been getting e-mail after e-mail asking me to donate money NOW! One e-mail even stated "have you gotten outlr last messages Liz?" Sorry but I have NEVER gotten e mail after email from ASPCA, best friends animal society, WWF. Basically The NON PROFIT organizations that one would think needs the most help don't hound you at all! This organization is like 90% profit sounds like! The people that run this thing get the most money out of the donation! Basically if you love wolves and want to protect theirs or any other habitat. Make sure you go to a NON PROFIT donation charity! Or at least look it up on here!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from CharityNavigator
June 27, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

I used to donate, until I learned more about the high salaries obscenely out of line for a charity. And their sellout of the wolves. And their constant appeals for yet more money. Where exactly is it going? Why can CN only give 2 stars? That's a huge red flag.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I saw their work locally on one small project, but it's not enough to overcome the bloated national corporate practices.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clean up their financial act and stop paying such exorbitant salaries. Do more grassroots work on the ground.

April 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 11, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This organization will not take "no" for an answer! Requests to stop sending me materials that I do not want fall on deaf ears. I have received approximately 2 appeals per month for the past 9 months (which is when I started logging appeals). Perhaps this organization actually does do something connected with environmental conservation; I don't know, because all I get is generic "If you care about wolves/polar bears/whatever, send us money". Like everyone else, I have had to reduce charitable giving in these hard times; I am now targeting my donations to organizations, mainly local, where I know what they are trying to do, can see the results, and be confident that they are not selling my name to other organizations, DOW fails on all counts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have no experience of this organization in the field.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Cut back on endless appeals. Inform supporters or potential supporters about what DOW actually achieves, rather than making vague claims about being involved in everything. Stop selling mailing lists.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers