Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
August 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 6, 2012

I have been both a client and a volunteer at Deborah's Palm, a nonprofit community for women in Palo Alto, CA. The remarkable and friendly woman, Katie Richey, fufilled her lifetime dream of a wome... more

August 20, 2013

Deborah's Palm provides me with so much: friendships with other women, activities and classes, and most importantly, a second home where I can go, relax with a cup of tea, and talk with other women.

Katie Ritchie, the creator and founder, is a remarkable woman whose good nature, bright
smile and laughter, as well as her desire to help others makes every encounter with her memorable.

The blue and white Victorian house in which Deborah's Palm is located, has a beautiful interior, and welcoming garden; it is an enchanting, peaceful place.

Deborah's Palm provides many services to women in the Palo Alto area and surrounding communities: a place to meet other women, to relax, to attend lectures and classes, or to volunteer in a variety of capacities. I cannot speak highly enough of Deborah's Palm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

I have been both a client and a volunteer at Deborah's Palm, a nonprofit community for women in Palo Alto, CA. The remarkable and friendly woman, Katie Richey, fufilled her lifetime dream of a women's community where all women are welcome when she established Deborah's Palm. Katie financed the endeavor herself, purchasing and remodeling a large Victorian houseon a downtown street. The building and gardens, as well as the interior of the house, are beautiful and welcoming; the rooms are furnished comfortably so as to encourage conversation among women; there are many small rooms, including a library, which provide women a place to relax, to get to know other women, and to recharge from the hectic Silicon Valley lifestyle. The kitchen is often a place where women sit and talk over a cup of tea. At Deborah's Palm a client can receive mentoring or take one of the many classes that are offered or join a crafts related group. If a woman needs support there are groups tailored for providing suport. In addition, a wide range of educational groups and courses are offered, examples are: succesful job searching, divorce recovery, and discovering your calling. There are no fees at Deborah's Palm, although clients may make donations, thus each woman has the autonomy to decide the amount she wishes to contribute. As a client, I am currently taking Conversational Spanish and Art- both classes are small and the instructor, is an artist herself and has taught painting for many years. She is enthusiastic and extremely competent. Because she believes "Anyone can paint," I was encouraged to try painting, an art form in which I had no experience. I was thrilled to find that I enjoy painting and have a burgeoning ability as a painter. I also am learning to communicate in Spanish, which I believe is essential for daily life in California. The instructor, who has lived in Mexico, encourages the members of the small class to lose their inhibitions about speaking Spanish; she, herself, provides a model of this. In both Art and Spanish, the instructor and the other women in the classes encourage and use constructive criticism when giving critiques of each other's work; this fosters a relaxed, fun atmosphere. As a volunteer at Deborah's Palm I mentor women who want to solve problems in their lives; this experience is extremely rewarding and an honor when clients trust me enough to share their problems. I also serve as an "Ambassador" welcoming women new to the area to Deborah's Palm; this responsibility allows me to meet many remarkable women, women who have come from other countries and states, who seek friendships and information about their new home. For the women who are new to this area, Deborah's Palm can serve as the one place where these women are sure to meet other welcoming, warm, and friendly women, thus taking away some of the confusion and loss inherent in moving to a new area. In summary, I believe that Deborah's Palm is a unique community, the ONLY community for women in this area, serving women who seek support, friendship, or instruction. I believe Deborah's Palm deserves funding for its exemplary program which is free of fees but reliant on donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Deborah's Palm's mission is truly unique. It's a community center for women; it provides much-needed support during times of transition like divorce, new careers, and similar challenges. Beyond its beautiful setting, the programs and classes fill an otherwise unfilled need - a place for women to go to grow and receive support that's not crisis related. In Silicon Valley the pace is hurried and stressful. Deborah's Palm offers a welcome respite to both give and receive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

I have found so many wonderful people and fabulous classes to take at Deborah's Palm. There are so many options to choose from and if you want to start a group there, you can make it happen. Katie, the director, is the warmest, most loving and giving person you could ever be blessed to know. We are so fortunate to have this center in Palo Alto. Thank you Katie for all you do for all of us.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

We all need a place to be when life is just not happening as we thought it might; many times I have been in this position and each time i found help, comfort and hope at Deborah's palm. When you are in need- you need it- thanks for all your help to Deborhah's palm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

serve at the Front Desk, greeting clients on a daily basis; help with special events; help to organize and manage class activities and site operations.