Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am the one and only volunteer that has worked for this corporation 17 years.

I have done absolutely everything to make it succeed and will not give up! I feel honored to review DCET today.

I designed DCET in 1995 as a Spanish family values radio talk show, with TV segments,
and four newspaper columns. Through this mediums I reached thousands of Hispanic families who needed positive solutions related to their educational, health, legal and human urgencies. I stopped being a talking head and designed "LA ESCUELITA" (Community Learning Centers) offering ESOL, GED, Citizenship and Computer classes as well as our forte: Spanish Literacy

In 1998, DCET became a private, non-profit corporation established under section 501©(3) of the Internal Revenue Service. During 17 years, I have served the community with passion, great dedication and no salary through DCET. My biggest compensation: The graduation of my students:)

DCET have become a major presence in the Metroplex due to its unique initiatives.
DCET's work have resulted in success stories of people who's lives have been rescued from illiteracy, family violence, drugs and addictions, teen pregnancy, and other negative family outcomes.

This service organization has been crafted with high quality. I have served as the only staff member for several years, to working with a volunteer staff, and now I am proud to count with 3 paid staff members and manage 26 volunteers, plus a Youth Leadership Council of 12 students. These students attend Irving High School and Union Bower Center for Learning in Irving and are offer scholarships at our annual CINCO DE MAYO Multicultural Festival and Educational/Health Fair.

I have invested my personal time into assisting the fast-growing number of Hispanic/Latino youth and their families in Irving and through DCET I assist parents with educational and personal development as well.

DCET’s programs are culturally designed with the idea of serving the needs of an underserved community: the immigrant community. You see students from Pakistan, India and all Latin American countries at “La Escuelita”, the DCET community learning center that assists the educational needs of close to 400 people a year.

I thank all the support offered by our members of the Board of Directors and the volunteers and sponsors that have made it possible for us to offer one of the most important elements in life: Education!


More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
December 11, 2013

The mother' s level of education is one of the most important factors influencing children's reading levels and other school achievements. The work that Debes Creer en Ti has done with undereducated parents is amazing. Education changes lives not only of the adults but also of their children. Adult literacy programs everywhere are suffering due to financial problems. Let's keep DCET doing such wonderful work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have had the pleasure of knowing Elvia Wallace-Martinez for more than thirty years. During that time I can attest to her outstanding commitment to the community and her many contributions. Her vision for Debes Creer en Ti (DCET) blossomed from a concept into a major community service organization incorporating education, culture and the arts. As the Executive Director of DCET, Elvia continues to be a major factor in supporting the community and making a positive difference in many lives... Ray Champney, President The Alternative Board DW Mid-Cities, member, Bedford City Council

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek affiliations and relationships that will expand the geographic reach and continue to broaden the scope of services

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

They are very good people and have a great spirit. They like helping people and trully are involved in the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I assisted DCET as an advisory council member when they started in business in 1995. This corporation is awesome! They are a ONE STOP SHOP teaching ESL, GED, Citizenship and computer classes. I have assisted DCET with Graphic Arts Design and understand very well their great mission. These are the awards that they have received:

“Excellence in Education” award by Dallas Mayor Laura Miller - 2004
“Community Volunteer of the Year” award by DFW International – 2004
“Community Achievement” by the Irving Hispanic Chamber of Commerce – 2005
“2006 Women of Spirit Award” by the American Jewish National Congress – 2006
"City of Grand Prairie proclaimed" May 16, 2006 as Elvia Wallace-Martinez’ day - 2006
"Real Women Award"
" Courage-Confidence-Character award from Girl Scouts of Tejas Council – 2006
"Community Choice Award" by Center for Non Profit Management - 2012
"Friendship Award" by Asian American Chamber or Commerce - 2013

They also have a great Prep-College Mentoring program which compliments with their FAMA (Folklorico Arts Mentoring Amigos) youth program. This is their website: www.dcenti.org
I do compliment this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They only changes would be for them to be fully funded so thay can continue operating with standards of excellence as they have been doing. Instead of being a volunteer driven organization. They need paid staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers