Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

My daughter and I heard about Days for Girls and their hygiene kits for girls and women at Children's Hospitals 'Girls Only' class this summer. When the teacher told around 40 girls attending the class what the kits were for and then offered to let them see the kits, a mass of girls rushed down to see the kits and feel them and look them over. It was exciting for the mothers to see a sustainable / reusable / washable option. Soon afterwards my daughter decided to ask for her friends to make donations to DFG in lieu of gifts for her birthday party. She ordered her own kit and showed it at her party and successfully raised $310! It was fun educating my daughters friends and parents about the kits and how they are helping girls in need all over the world! Thank you DFG for making a difference.
August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

I was so happy to find DFG! I feel privileged to be part of the effort as a team leader. They have such great online content to help us be successful in making kits. Wonderful personal attention by email. All questions answered quickly and kindly. Pictures and videos on facebook show the real tangible ways our work is making a difference. It's been a positive experience all around. I intend to keep working with them and supporting this great cause.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

A team from the Mornington Peninsula, Vic, Australia has been visiting and supporting orphanages and poverty stricken areas in Myanmar (Burma) for the last 7 years. In 2013 one of our team overheard a lady buying material, talk about DfG and so asked her about the concept. We realized this would be something that would transform the lives of the girls we had contact with in Myanmar and they wouldn't miss school days. The website had videos and all the info needed to make these feminine hygiene kits and so we were keen to get started. I am not a sewer at all but felt to gather people to get involved, whether it be for donating the soap, face washers etc or cutting out or sewing, each person was significant.
Since then we have been able to spread the word and are now organizing cut out and sewing days. Having only just heard about DfG we were only able to make 50 kits on our last visit but it was so exciting seeing the look on the girls faces as we explained them. As we only have a male Burmese interpreter over there, 2 of us showed the girls through actions not words what the kit was all about. This made it fun and partly demystified the stigma of periods being seen as shameful. We were amazed how this brought about a deeper relationship with these girls and a sense of sisterhood.
We also bought some of the orphanages a sewing machine and items such as material, cotton scissors etc so they could make their own. Unfortunately we can't send anything in the post to Myanmar from Australia so need to physically take the kits and PUL material with us when we go.
Whilst we were in Myanmar we also visited an Australian lady who has a program where kids who live on the street come in and are taught sewing and furniture restoration. We were able to give her a sample kit and patterns also. From there a guy she knows donated $3000 specifically towards expenses for the DfG kits to be made when he heard about the concept.
The DfG concept is amazing and we are hoping to take a minimum of 250 kits in 2015.
We would love to hear from anyone else who has taken kits to Myanmar.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have an area on the website to encourage people to send in their tips to you re the sewing, cutting out, pattern etc where they have found ways to improve etc on these items. These would need to be vetted by DfG as the standard of the items obviously needs to be excellent for sustainability and then any tips approved could be shared on the website

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

What a great programme! I have a 15 year old daughter and we forget how easy it is to buy products in Australia. This has really opened our eyes to what girls in other countries have to deal with. I love to craft so knitting and sewing for such a great cause is a win/win. I also love how there are so many chapters so I was able to find one in Sydney and feel like I am making a real difference! Thanks so much DfG!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
January 22, 2014

Days for Girls has employed a practical solution to a problem that has been overlooked for centuries: that women who lack basic hygiene are victims of a cycle that keeps them uneducated and oppressed... more

August 11, 2014

This is one of the most phenomenal organizations I have ever had contact with. It is an example of how a grass-roots, all-volunteer movement can chage the world and help women and girls lift themselves out of poverty and shame. In addition to serving women and girls around the world, this organization is changing the conversation about women's bodies in a positive way everywhere. One of the strengths of the organization is the passion with which volunteers willingly serve: it is a delight to know that this is meaningful and life-changing work: for volunteers and recipients alike.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 22, 2014

Days for Girls has employed a practical solution to a problem that has been overlooked for centuries: that women who lack basic hygiene are victims of a cycle that keeps them uneducated and oppressed. Europe has long understood the connection between Menstrual Hygeine Management (MHM) in developing countries, and it is exhilarating that DFG has stepped up to the Body Positive message in the process of addressing MHM, systemic misogyny, and attendant poverty. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to contribute.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I am so passionate for this cause! Every woman I tell about it has that "moment of pause" where they consider what their life as a girl would have been like, if they had to miss school every time they had their period; after that moment, they always want to know what they can do to help. This charity is especially empowering because it doesn't just give sustainable hygiene supplies, it also teaches girls and women how to make their own, to create their own income and lift their communities. You couldn't pick a better cause to devote money and time to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Instantaneously make everyone in the world aware of it! And while I'm dreaming, I'd like a pony...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

What a privilege it is to serve with Days for Girls. It never ceases to amaze me how much of an impact this program makes and how direct and effective it is. I am truly honored to volunteer with the thousands of amazing volunteers around the globe that help empower girls and women to live with more opportunity, dignity and health.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More funding to empower even more girls and women.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

I've been working in Africa for awhile, long enough to see NGO's come and go--some having spent a lot and made no contributions, while othersade things worse, DFG is that rare organization that not only dramatically changes lives of the women they serve, but the people who volunteer.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Fund a administrative staff

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Days for Girls International has helped open my eyes to a need all around the world. I'm so impressed at how fast this organization has grown and how many countries it serves. The challenge to simply provide sanitary cloths to girls around the world is amazing but in addition has saved lives and put girls in school how awesome is that! Imagine the positive impact on countries having smart and healthy girls and women leading the next generation and being role models for the current generation if funding were available.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I came to the knowledge of this wonderful non-profit organization from my daughter who lives in Lynden. She is an active member of this group, "days for girls". I can think of no better way in which to help these girls than to provide the pads they need in order to be able to go to school. Their education is a vital part of their mental health and growth and a way out of their sometimes desperate situations. I am a retired R.N. and I can definitely appreciate the physical health benefits from the use of the "days for girls pads". I feel sure that these girls have a lot of love and gratitude in their hearts for those who give their time and efforts toward this program. My contribution is that of a donor and I have great admiration for those who give of their time and talents to this program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more opportunities for people to donate financially

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assemble kits, sew kit components, or serve as a Days for Girls International Ambassador Volunteer