Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 7, 2009

more

December 7, 2009

I worked with Davis Community Meals regularly on Saturdays for several helping serve people in the community. The need for and appreciation of this organization is huge. DCM not only provides a shelter to those in need of a place to stay, but also regular meals to families and individuals in need. DCM has become a family to homeless, needy and even lonely folks throughout the Yolo community.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

spending time with people in the community and knowing that I am volunteering my time for a very important service.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 3, 2009

more

December 3, 2009

Working as a volunteer for DCM has been one of the most rewarding opportunities I've had. The shelter provides a wide range of resources from a long term transitional housing program, to a day shelter open to the entire homeless population, to a cold weather shelter available for individuals looking for a place to stay during the harsh winter. The organization also provides meals throughout the week. The staff there are nice and compassionate about helping the needs of the homeless population.

More feedback...

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand its services to include meals available to the community every day. Also, it would expand its long term transitional housing to include more participants, as well as extend the temporary shelter services it provides to the community.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 3, 2009

more

December 3, 2009

I have been a volunteer cook and general gopher for Davis Community Meals since 1991. There are many long-term volunteers. My term of service is not exceptional. I have seen the program grow from one meal per week to currently include 3 meals per week, a long-term shelter, a cold weather shelter and recovery/support services plus more. The volunteers are a sensitive, caring,dedicated group of men and women and young people. From my kitchen perspective the meals are prepared with attention to nutrition, balance, fresh produce of California and food safety. The dinners are restaurant quality, the atmosphere is pleasant and people who ordinarily would not be able to eat out enjoy a quality dining experience. Davis Community Meals is aptly named. It definitely improves the lives of many of its marginalized community members.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very motivated, came from all professional and religious backgrounds and were truly interested in caring for their fellow citizens.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

expand all of its currently offered services. The volunteers are waiting!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 3, 2009

more

December 3, 2009

Helping with cooking in the kitchen one Tuesday a week during the summer is both fun and rewarding for me. I'm impressed with how many people enthusiastically take part in collecting and delivering donated food, sorting the food, cooking a nutritious and appealing meal with whatever happens to come in that day, and staying to clean the kitchen so all will be ready for serving that same evening. We share extra food with other non-profits like the Senior Center and Grace in Action. Also individual guests can come pick up surplus produce to take home. It is great fun to sort and set out extra fruits and vegetables in attractive displays like a little Farmer's Market with good things to eat. During the school year, I help the Unity in Community group set up, serve and clean up after the meal once a month. At the dinner guests and volunteers treat each other with mutual appreciation, respect and equality which I find truly wonderful

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

personally seeing how generous local businesses and individuals are in taking the time and effort to save and set aside surplus foods from stores, farms, bakeries, etc. for volunteers to collect. Even home gardeners harvest and bring in their own produce.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

lively, generous, cooperative, talented, dependable, appreciative, enthusiastic, respectful and fun-loving. They make the work feel more like play -- great folks!

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide meals every day of the week and find homes and medical care and all the other things that homeless and impoverished children and adults need to survive and then thrive.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 2, 2009

more

December 2, 2009

Over the last four years I have learned that DCM has 7 programs that benefit the homeless or nearly homeless in Davis. With few paid staff and a tiny budget, this non-profit works to feed people healthy food, make them aware of and teach them how and when to contact the few resources available, house them, shelter them in cold weather, do laundry, counsel, and provide an address, support former foster children as they tackle college -- and always treat people facing incredible challenges with dignity and warmth. I love volunteering for them and giving them money. DCM is awesome!

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the relationships with the people that are in need as well as the volunteers. On Saturdays at lunch Donna and Ken entertain and it is pure fun to see people with a million cares sing along and dance.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

The staff have been with DCM for more than 5 years - very rare - and they care! The volunteers come from everywhere in the community and are incredibly generous with their time and talents.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

With more funding, DCM could provide more housing to women and children - and with really big funding - medical and mental health care at a basic level.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers