Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.879315
Write A Review
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I can attest to this organization's amazing record, as well as their fearless leader. I have known Jan for so many years, I have lost count. I was there when this vision was just a dream in Jan's head. Then, blessed to see it materialize and develop and truly be blessed of God.

Not for
the faint of heart to be diligent in what God calls you to do. From their founder to their board, they live to change the lives of foster children in the world. It has been one of my great blessings to be on the sidelines watching and enjoying what God put together!
October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As the Dallas County Juvenile Dept Volunteer Coordinator from the mid 90's to 2002, I interacted with Dare to Dream constantly. The DTD volunteers are a caring group of individuals who treated the youth in the Juvenile system with respect and concern but with good boundaries. Along with their interest and care of the residents in our institutions, they respected the DCJD staff, rules and guidelines. Dare to Dreams's devotion and consistent faithful work is to be commended and praised.
August 19, 2013

more

August 19, 2013

We have worked with Jan, and the Dare to Dream Group for over 15 years. Dare To Dreams' work is on the cutting edge of change, unmatched in emphasizing God's plan for redeeming the Worlds' children. Their services combine the two best elements for transforming kids' lives, God's Divine Plan and "mentorship" between business executives and disenfranchised youth. Their work with Texas' most difficult offenders is changing communities world wide. I am proud to recommend them to the world.

-Travis Wortham, Jr., Owner, The WORTHAM Group
(Retired-Superintendent, Texas Juvenile Justice Department)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

add more workers so more impact can be made with children. They need money to broaden their causes. We need to help them with fundraising.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Children who know the pain of childhood without the security of a loving, intact homelife or foster care have an advocate. The founder of Dare to Dream Foundation carries their banner with faithful conviction that dreams really can come true! She began life herself being thrust into fostercare and knows what a difference one caring person can make. The foundation has many years of proving trained volunteers can help to spark new hope in young lives. Without a vision, people will perish. Dare To Dream brings vision of new ways to live life. I've personally seen the sparkle of new hope in young eyes. There's nothing more inspiring. Dare to Dream is making a difference, one child at a time!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As Director of Nursing at an Adolescent Drug Treatment Residential Program in NY, and a foster child in the Brennen Home with Jan all those years ago, I can attest to the healing power of this story. It is a primer on how to rise above the challenges we face in the classroom of life and this book is written by a master trainer. As we say in the addiction field, your story matters! Nothing in this world happens by mistake and I am proud to have lived a part of this story with Jan. Joan Lohnes,RN,BS,ADS,LMHC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Dare to Dream is a top rate organization that has born abundant fruit in the lives of not only the multitude of children she and her team have touch and have given much support for them to succeed in life, body, soul, and Spirit. I recommend anything that Jan puts her hands and heart to will be given a hand up, not just a hand out. Testimonies of many children will verify this recommendation. When a child comes from a broken and dysfunctional home they need to know that there is someone who believes in them and their dreams. She and her team will be there when the need and the open door is presented. I have been a long time friend and supporter if this ministry and also been the recipient to help disadvantaged children in my own ministry of Rejoice Africa where I too was given opportunity to help many children and adults have hope and dreams again in their lives. Yes, I highly recommend Dare to Dream to be highly honored for all the years they have worked tirelessly to equip many to see their dreams come true.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My wife and I met Jan Tennyson in Hillcrest Church in the late 1980s. I was an Elder & Secretary of this Non-Denominational Evangelical Christian Church which Jan attended. We became her friends and observed her raise up the Dare To Dream Ministry & Children's Foundation, over these many years. She is a hard worker, in earnest and effective in helping needy children. I am a retired CPA and the Executive Director of Anchor Line Ministries, Inc. which helps needy Ministries & others solve their problems. I endorse Ms. Tennyson's Ministry & Foundation, Mr. Barry L. Burton, O.P.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 10, 2009

more

August 10, 2009

I am recently retired from the Adult Probation Dept.after 27 years on the job.For almost 17 of those 27years I have known Jan Tennyson and the Dare to Dream Foundation.I know what the Foundation has done and means in the lives of young people of Dallas County and what Jan means to the Foundation. I have gone with Jan and sometimes with other volunteers to speak to young people incarcerated in the Detentation Centers throughout the city,and each time,I have gotten back more than I gave.Jan help me understand that my purpose/my ministry was to see that no child would end up in the Adult system. Therefore,for all the speeches I made and parades I marched,I focused on that premise. Jan has been my inspiration and in a way,my rock.Because as I discovered years back,just starting as an Officer,instead of one(1)person trying to make the differance with 100 people on a caseload,I found 100 people to make the differance with the one person,one-at-a-time. THANKS Jan and the whole entire Dare to Dream family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The personal sharing and testimonies. Seeing young people confess their faith and accept Christ. The commradarie and fellowship with other Volunteers. Marching in the Parades

Ways to make it better...

I had possibly had time to be more active.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Update our database, colate volunteer packets and much more Volunteer