Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
57 Reviews
1234.877195
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am always amazed by the continuing effect that Dare To Dream foundation has on the lives of young people. Jan Tennyson and her volunteers have given hope to 1,000's of young people in sharing how Jesus has impacted their own lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Jan Tennyson, founder of Dare to Dream, for many years. I have experienced the DTD impact as both a volunteer at the office and at their outreaches in various youth detention centers.
When DTD volunteers share their message of hope, encouragement and God's love, it is not only
life changing for the youth, it is life changing for all the volunteers who participate! I have witnessed the tears of boys from 16-19 who are so moved just because some people they don't even know have taken time to show they really care about them. Dare to Dream is a wonderful organization that is well run and inspires "at risk" youth to know that they are valuable and can rise above their circumstances to be all that God created them to be. I am proud to be associated with such a great organization. Thank you Jan for Dare to Dream.
Linda D.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to help it expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dare to Dream Children's Foundation continues to advance God's kingdom by introducing Jesus Christ to disadvantage youth that are struggling to managing their lives in today's hectic world. By doing so under the direction and leadership of Jan Tennyson, Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is creating tomorrows leaders that will lead their families, communities, businesses, and most important, the Church of Jesus Christ. This organization is one of integrity and purpose, and has been recognized by leaders in the community as a nonprofit that truly impacts our society for the greater good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To expand beyond Dallas County in to other Texas Counties, USA and Global.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was the very first volunteer for Jan and the Dare to Dream Foundation. As fate would have it, Jan placed an advertisement in a small newspaper. She was looking for a volunteer to help with administrative assignments. To our amazement we lived on the same street. I lived at the beginning of the street and she lived at the end of the street. I know that God was in this relationship right from the beginning.

I admire Jan and love her because of her commitment and unconditional love for the youth. She has really operated this nonprofit charity without much money but that has never stopped her from finding a way to make her dreams and goals to come true. It takes compassion to continually run a nonprofit to support others when the funding is small.

I know that this pioneer has made a difference in the life of many youth and the volunteers who have served her. She has an infectious spirit which no doubt has drawn the help from volunteers, opened doors for her to take youth to places that most of them would only dream of....I suppose that is why God planted the name "Dare to Dream" Childrens Foundation in her heart...because she wanted the people that she served to dare to dream...and experience the impossible that God made possible.

Della Faye

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funds to support her efforts....today we need an organization that can address the needs of youth...our broken hearted and wounded youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer with Jan and the other Dare to Dream volunteers at the Juvenile Detention Center. I must say that they are a committed and passionate group dedicated to making a positive impact in the lives of young people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known the founder Jan Tennyson and started volunteering with the Foundation over 20 years ago. During that time she has not once wavered from her dedication and heart for the children she serves. Growing up in a foster care system, she reaches out from a very special place of connection. Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is so worthy of this recognition! If you could speak to some of the children she has helped, they would tell you what a difference it has made in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is an organization that has made a tremendous impact on our youth in Dallas and across the globe. As a volunteer for over eight years at the Casa Shelter in Dallas, Texas I have personally witnessed the impact this organization has on so many children. I have witnessed awards that have been given to Jan Tenneyson that confirmed those in the community have seen for themselves this wonderful impact. I take pride and grateful for the many blessings I've personally received playing a small part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Dare to Dream at the Henry Wade Justice Center for teenage juveniles. I have been amazed that this age group is so willing to be attentive and hear good news. They are at a point in their lives when they want to change and The Dare To Dream staff, especially Jan Tennyson, its founder, have a special repoire with youth. Volunteers are able to introduce themselves to the youth and lead discussion and prayer with smaller groups at the end of the evening. Others can volunteer to be the main speaker for the evening. The young people are very receptive to people who show that they really care about them. This age group can be saved from a destructive lifestyle by groups like Dare to Dream who show them another path and help them learn how to pursue that path through support of teachers, churches, and new friends once they are released. Dare to Dream reminds the youth that God loves them and has a marvelous plan for their lives. Many of the youth are eager to receive hope and to believe they can "dare to dream."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I love this organization. I get to volunteer with them once a quarter but I travel far to go help as I truly believe in their cause. Jan Tennyson, the Founder, is a professional, caring, and organized lady. This shows in the way all her other volunteers operate. This place is worth volunteers and financial help. If you actually go spend time with the youth in the detention centers, it will change the way you see life and it will be a humbling experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I met Jan at Hillcrest in the 90's and wanted to volunteer in her organization. She needed office help and at the time, that was all I was able to do after working each day. I know Jan's heart is full of true caring and has shared everything for the cause. Jan is an outstanding mentor and you will not find anyone more devoted to her work. I was truly blessed during my time with her to see the results of her efforts. Dare to Dream has helped so many young people and I have been blessed to be a part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Update our database, colate volunteer packets and much more Volunteer