Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.847835
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is an organization that has made a tremendous impact on our youth in Dallas and across the globe. As a volunteer for over eight years at the Casa Shelter in Dallas, Texas I have personally witnessed the impact this organization has on so many children. I have witnessed awards that have been given to Jan Tenneyson that confirmed those in the community have seen for themselves this wonderful impact. I take pride and grateful for the many blessings I've personally received playing a small part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Dare to Dream at the Henry Wade Justice Center for teenage juveniles. I have been amazed that this age group is so willing to be attentive and hear good news. They are at a point in their lives when they want to change and The Dare To Dream staff, especially Jan Tennyson, its founder, have a special repoire with youth. Volunteers are able to introduce themselves to the youth and lead discussion and prayer with smaller groups at the end of the evening. Others can volunteer to be the main speaker for the evening. The young people are very receptive to people who show that they really care about them. This age group can be saved from a destructive lifestyle by groups like Dare to Dream who show them another path and help them learn how to pursue that path through support of teachers, churches, and new friends once they are released. Dare to Dream reminds the youth that God loves them and has a marvelous plan for their lives. Many of the youth are eager to receive hope and to believe they can "dare to dream."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I love this organization. I get to volunteer with them once a quarter but I travel far to go help as I truly believe in their cause. Jan Tennyson, the Founder, is a professional, caring, and organized lady. This shows in the way all her other volunteers operate. This place is worth volunteers and financial help. If you actually go spend time with the youth in the detention centers, it will change the way you see life and it will be a humbling experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I met Jan at Hillcrest in the 90's and wanted to volunteer in her organization. She needed office help and at the time, that was all I was able to do after working each day. I know Jan's heart is full of true caring and has shared everything for the cause. Jan is an outstanding mentor and you will not find anyone more devoted to her work. I was truly blessed during my time with her to see the results of her efforts. Dare to Dream has helped so many young people and I have been blessed to be a part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The harvest is plenty, but the laborers are few. We learn that the hard way in any group, but what makes an organization special is the ability to do the most with the assets we possess. Jan taught me that I have so much more inside to give and helped me to share that with others to see the greatness that dwells within in each and every one of us. Dare to Dream helps to create oxygen when these children's reserves are running on empty. Hope does not disappoint and neither will those that invest their time and resources to help Dare to Dream Children's Foundation - good luck to all the groups and thanks to all the volunteers in the Non Profit world - the capacity to serve is trully limitless. David A.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

While living in Dallas I was blessed to be a volunteer at Dare to Dream. Children big and small receive gifts of love and compassion through this wonderful foundation. May God bless those who help and those who serve, and may He expand the territory and boundaries reached by Dare to Dream.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I had the great pleasure and privilege to serve at-risk youth with Dare to Dream in the late 90's. Their mission of reaching out and impacting young people heading in the wrong direction was pursued with great passion. Though many at-risk youth were not interested in the efforts of 'do-gooders' trying to help them, it was wonderful to see some respond to the love and care being shown them and begin to turn their lives around. The camaraderie among the volunteers was amazing.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I met Jan while attending Hillcrest Church in the 90's. She is an amazing, godly woman who is so committed to her relationship with the Lord and to her ministry, Dare to Dream. Jan is very diligent and persevering and as a result the children she touches in her ministry are experiencing the love of God, and for many, for the first time in their life. She is a wonderful role model in many ways. Many blessings and prosperity on Dare to Dream so Jan can continue to bring joy and hope into the lives of so many kids who feel they've been left behind. Live on Dare to Dream!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

December 27, 2011

more

December 27, 2011

I was lucky enough to meet Jan in 2000. I participated in mentoring of youth at several locations in the DFW area. I was impressed with Jan's heart for children and her compassion when it came to helping them get through their tough times growing up. It was a pleasure being a part of her organization and being able to be a positive influence on the children that we mentored. If you have a heart for seeing the lives of today's youth changed, then DTDCF is one organization that you can support and know that a difference is being made locally and around the world with Jan's help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

November 11, 2011

more

November 11, 2011

No one cares more about kids with disfunctional backgrounds than Jan Tennyson. I found that out when I first volunteered to be a part of the Dare To Dream "Team." Prison Ministry is a strong calling for me. I talk to lots of adult inmates who come from unhealthy environments, many of whom would not have continued on their path of lawless behaviour had someone like Jan come into their lives when they were teenagers.

Jan is unflagging in her determination to continue to make a difference in the lives of young people. It is an honor and a privilege to serve with her in that effort.

Bill Kushnir

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

speaking to groups and ministering one-on-one with troubled teenagers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers