Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
1234.847835
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Participating in Dare to Dream Events and volunteering were some if the most meaningful and fulfilling times. I love Jan because she truly has a heart and love for what she does and the children to whom she ministers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

September 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 26, 2011

Dare To Dream is an amazing organization led by a remarkable friend, Jan Tennyson. Her heart and passion to encourage children in their lives is infectious! Jan invited me to come and give of my time... more

September 27, 2013

I've worked as a volunteer with Jan, who has such a heart for the children and their lives. She genuinely cares about them reminds them of their individual value and what purposes God has for them. This kind of heart and care is so beautiful and so infectious! I got the privledge to work at Casa Shelter and Marzelle as well as a mission trip to Romania. What an amazing organization! Dare to Dream is special foundation with a great mission to empower our young people!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more volunteers and more men step up

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

December 26, 2011

Dare To Dream is an amazing organization led by a remarkable friend, Jan Tennyson. Her heart and passion to encourage children in their lives is infectious! Jan invited me to come and give of my time back in 1997. I had volunteered with some great people and I have seen kids eyes light up with the good news of Christ - and to see that is a just priceless! I've seen hearts and lives transformed because of all that Dare to Dream does for kids. It truly encourages and inspires children to Dream Big with Gods truth of love alongside them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

August 18, 2013

more

August 18, 2013

I was a volunteer for Dare to Dream some years ago. I had the opportunity to share my testimony and experiences during several visits to a juvenile prison in Dallas, Texas. It touch my heart to see so many young lives impacted by crime and the lack of positive role models in their lives. The teenagers in this juvenile prison need to hear a message of hope and forgiveness; Dare the Dream served as a venue to help reach out to these kids with love and compassion. It was an honor to work along side with Dare to Dream on this initiative.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that Dare to Dream reaches out to other juvenile prisons outside of the Dallas Fort Worth area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife, Anita, and I have volunteered with Jan Tennyson and Dare to Dream for years. Most recently, we help with their outreach to youth in detention. Every time we go, we see kids make decisions to follow Jesus. The practical and spiritual emphasis of this organization is truly changing the lives of young people. Being a part of this is one of the most rewarding experiences Anita and I have had. ...Paul and Anita Kerr

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage even more people to volunteer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am always amazed by the continuing effect that Dare To Dream foundation has on the lives of young people. Jan Tennyson and her volunteers have given hope to 1,000's of young people in sharing how Jesus has impacted their own lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Jan Tennyson, founder of Dare to Dream, for many years. I have experienced the DTD impact as both a volunteer at the office and at their outreaches in various youth detention centers.
When DTD volunteers share their message of hope, encouragement and God's love, it is not only
life changing for the youth, it is life changing for all the volunteers who participate! I have witnessed the tears of boys from 16-19 who are so moved just because some people they don't even know have taken time to show they really care about them. Dare to Dream is a wonderful organization that is well run and inspires "at risk" youth to know that they are valuable and can rise above their circumstances to be all that God created them to be. I am proud to be associated with such a great organization. Thank you Jan for Dare to Dream.
Linda D.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find a way to help it expand.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dare to Dream Children's Foundation continues to advance God's kingdom by introducing Jesus Christ to disadvantage youth that are struggling to managing their lives in today's hectic world. By doing so under the direction and leadership of Jan Tennyson, Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is creating tomorrows leaders that will lead their families, communities, businesses, and most important, the Church of Jesus Christ. This organization is one of integrity and purpose, and has been recognized by leaders in the community as a nonprofit that truly impacts our society for the greater good.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

To expand beyond Dallas County in to other Texas Counties, USA and Global.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was the very first volunteer for Jan and the Dare to Dream Foundation. As fate would have it, Jan placed an advertisement in a small newspaper. She was looking for a volunteer to help with administrative assignments. To our amazement we lived on the same street. I lived at the beginning of the street and she lived at the end of the street. I know that God was in this relationship right from the beginning.

I admire Jan and love her because of her commitment and unconditional love for the youth. She has really operated this nonprofit charity without much money but that has never stopped her from finding a way to make her dreams and goals to come true. It takes compassion to continually run a nonprofit to support others when the funding is small.

I know that this pioneer has made a difference in the life of many youth and the volunteers who have served her. She has an infectious spirit which no doubt has drawn the help from volunteers, opened doors for her to take youth to places that most of them would only dream of....I suppose that is why God planted the name "Dare to Dream" Childrens Foundation in her heart...because she wanted the people that she served to dare to dream...and experience the impossible that God made possible.

Della Faye

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more funds to support her efforts....today we need an organization that can address the needs of youth...our broken hearted and wounded youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I have had the opportunity to volunteer with Jan and the other Dare to Dream volunteers at the Juvenile Detention Center. I must say that they are a committed and passionate group dedicated to making a positive impact in the lives of young people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have known the founder Jan Tennyson and started volunteering with the Foundation over 20 years ago. During that time she has not once wavered from her dedication and heart for the children she serves. Growing up in a foster care system, she reaches out from a very special place of connection. Dare to Dream Children's Foundation is so worthy of this recognition! If you could speak to some of the children she has helped, they would tell you what a difference it has made in their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Update our database, colate volunteer packets and much more Volunteer