Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
58 Reviews
1234.879315
Write A Review
November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As Director of Nursing at an Adolescent Drug Treatment Residential Program in NY, and a foster child in the Brennen Home with Jan all those years ago, I can attest to the healing power of this story. It is a primer on how to rise above the challenges we face in the classroom of life and this book is written by a master trainer. As we say in the addiction field, your story matters! Nothing in this world happens by mistake and I am proud to have lived a part of this story with Jan. Joan Lohnes,RN,BS,ADS,LMHC.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012

more

November 9, 2012

Dare to Dream is a top rate organization that has born abundant fruit in the lives of not only the multitude of children she and her team have touch and have given much support for them to succeed in life, body, soul, and Spirit. I recommend anything that Jan puts her hands and heart to will be given a hand up, not just a hand out. Testimonies of many children will verify this recommendation. When a child comes from a broken and dysfunctional home they need to know that there is someone who believes in them and their dreams. She and her team will be there when the need and the open door is presented. I have been a long time friend and supporter if this ministry and also been the recipient to help disadvantaged children in my own ministry of Rejoice Africa where I too was given opportunity to help many children and adults have hope and dreams again in their lives. Yes, I highly recommend Dare to Dream to be highly honored for all the years they have worked tirelessly to equip many to see their dreams come true.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

Dare to Dream is a wonderful organization. I am glad to have donated to the organization to help children dare to dream.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I met Jan while attending Hillcrest Church in the 90's. She is an amazing, godly woman who is so committed to her relationship with the Lord and to her ministry, Dare to Dream. Jan is very diligent and persevering and as a result the children she touches in her ministry are experiencing the love of God, and for many, for the first time in their life. She is a wonderful role model in many ways. Many blessings and prosperity on Dare to Dream so Jan can continue to bring joy and hope into the lives of so many kids who feel they've been left behind. Live on Dare to Dream!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

My wife and I met Jan Tennyson in Hillcrest Church in the late 1980s. I was an Elder & Secretary of this Non-Denominational Evangelical Christian Church which Jan attended. We became her friends and observed her raise up the Dare To Dream Ministry & Children's Foundation, over these many years. She is a hard worker, in earnest and effective in helping needy children. I am a retired CPA and the Executive Director of Anchor Line Ministries, Inc. which helps needy Ministries & others solve their problems. I endorse Ms. Tennyson's Ministry & Foundation, Mr. Barry L. Burton, O.P.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more


1 previous review
November 11, 2011

I have known Dare to Dream Foundation for 20 plus years in various capacities; viewer, donor, volunteer, advisory board member, presently board member and blessed friend to Jan Tennyson! I was worki... more

November 8, 2012

Dare to Dream Children's Foundation has been a part of my family for over twenty five years. I came to know the founder (Jan Tennyson) from the YMCA Casa shelter. I was an adolescent counselor working with sexually abused, physically abused and neglected youth ages 6-18 years old who lived with challeging life issues. Jan was one of the many programs that came to provide services that encouraged the children to "Dare to Dream." Through this particular program and more than the others we used, I learned as an adolescent counselor, that Dare to Dream was really encouraging the youth at the YMCA Casa Shelter. Many of the youth inn the shelter would always as; "Where is that lady who plays the key board with the dream music!" I later joined the program to help hurting children not hurt! As I learned more about Dare to Dream Children's Foundation, I got more involved and begain to be a substaining contributor to finacially support the program by deducting each pay period a percentage. The program gives annual or as needed reports on your contributions, which helped me feel good about where the finacial contributions go. (All donations are tax deductable) Dare to Dream have served youth programs all over the world as far as Russia and Romania just to name a few! I love this ministry and its founder who is loving, caring and very supportive to greeds and cultures. I encourage all who look to financially support a childrens program to, choose Dare to Dream Children's Foundation...over 25 years of caring for the needs of challenged youth and famlies. For more information visit Dare to Dream online at www.daretodream-dallas.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2011

I have known Dare to Dream Foundation for 20 plus years in various capacities; viewer, donor, volunteer, advisory board member, presently board member and blessed friend to Jan Tennyson!

I was working for the YMCA-Casa Shelter as supervisor in 1989 when I first knew of this organization.
The founder shared her story of her life challenges and dreams as a foster child and dared our clients to do the same. It was refreshing to close our eyes and hear her play on her portable keyboard; "Twickle, twinkle little STAR..." While our eyes were closed Jan spoke in a very soft assuring voice "See what you want to be in life and what its going to take for you to do it" and after we open our eyes! We share our vision with one another. Jan, ask me (a staff-Adolescent Counselor) what is your dream Jimmie, well i was just called to preach God's word and still serving as deacon at my church...I said, "I would like to be a pastor some day!" Well, some 11 years later and presently the Senior Pastor at my church...my vision came true. Jan has always been an encourager to me and my family and to everyone I have witnessed her meet! Dare to Dream Foundation's founder has blessed everyone who comes in contact with this ministry....To Dare To Dream and share the love of Christ!

Young people who has been encouraged to dare to dream, I can only imaging the many who have had their dreams and visions come to past! Thousands on thousands will say that the power of the Dare to Dream program has encouraged them to dream big, set goals and be responsible to take measures for achievement. I have and are being an encourager to others in my church and on my job, using the DTD methods.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my personal life...the challenges my family faced through the years. Dare to Dream has been there to support us in all areas of need!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase Jan's salary

More feedback...

How did you learn about this organization?

1989 while working for the YMCA Casa Shelter. DTD was a program that provided a service of lifes and motivation for our clients.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

Reaching the Foster Care population and providing aftercare!

What is its top priority in the long run?

Seeing young peoples hopes and dreams come to reality: families reconciled, no drug usage, high schools grads, college entries and no parenting teens.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 27, 2011

more

December 27, 2011

I was lucky enough to meet Jan in 2000. I participated in mentoring of youth at several locations in the DFW area. I was impressed with Jan's heart for children and her compassion when it came to helping them get through their tough times growing up. It was a pleasure being a part of her organization and being able to be a positive influence on the children that we mentored. If you have a heart for seeing the lives of today's youth changed, then DTDCF is one organization that you can support and know that a difference is being made locally and around the world with Jan's help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

December 26, 2011

more

December 26, 2011

I think I first heard of the sound work that Dare to Dream was providing to children in 1995. It has been a pleasure to be of some support to this organization since that time. Jan Tennyson has a true heart for children, especially those that have been separated from their families. As it has been said, "our greatest ministry opportunities come from our greatest hurts': If you read Jan's autobiography, "She Dares to Dream", it's evident that God was planning to use her in this way from an early age. James 1:27 tells us: "True religion is to visit the fatherless and the widows in their trouble . . ." Jan has been demonstrating true religion for many years and its true that actions speak much louder than words.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2011

more

November 12, 2011

This woman from the moment I met her was filled with a divine purpose! We were both a bit younger some 20 years ago but Jan's eyes shown with a love and concern for everyone. Especially children! When you read her story, which she has finally and lovingly put in a book....called...She Dares to Dream...you will understand her ambition and drive to find a world of love and peace for all children of God. Her favorite verse is “Be strong and of good courage, and do it; do not fear
nor be dismayed, for the Lord God—my God—will be with you.
He will not leave you or forsake you, until you have finished all
the work for the service of the house of the Lord.”
(1Chronicles 28:20a). Doesn't that describe Jan to you if you know her? And if you don't know her...make it a point to get to know her...you will be blessed!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Just knowing Jan.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not me suggesting changes................

November 11, 2011

more

November 11, 2011

No one cares more about kids with disfunctional backgrounds than Jan Tennyson. I found that out when I first volunteered to be a part of the Dare To Dream "Team." Prison Ministry is a strong calling for me. I talk to lots of adult inmates who come from unhealthy environments, many of whom would not have continued on their path of lawless behaviour had someone like Jan come into their lives when they were teenagers.

Jan is unflagging in her determination to continue to make a difference in the lives of young people. It is an honor and a privilege to serve with her in that effort.

Bill Kushnir

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

speaking to groups and ministering one-on-one with troubled teenagers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No suggestions

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Update our database, colate volunteer packets and much more Volunteer