Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
1234.862755
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered with Dare to Dream at the Henry Wade Justice Center for teenage juveniles. I have been amazed that this age group is so willing to be attentive and hear good news. They are at a point in their lives when they want to change and The Dare To Dream staff, especially Jan Tennyson, its founder, have a special repoire with youth. Volunteers are able to introduce themselves to the youth and lead discussion and prayer with smaller groups at the end of the evening. Others can volunteer to be the main speaker for the evening. The young people are very receptive to people who show that they really care about them. This age group can be saved from a destructive lifestyle by groups like Dare to Dream who show them another path and help them learn how to pursue that path through support of teachers, churches, and new friends once they are released. Dare to Dream reminds the youth that God loves them and has a marvelous plan for their lives. Many of the youth are eager to receive hope and to believe they can "dare to dream."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Children who know the pain of childhood without the security of a loving, intact homelife or foster care have an advocate. The founder of Dare to Dream Foundation carries their banner with faithful conviction that dreams really can come true! She began life herself being thrust into fostercare and knows what a difference one caring person can make. The foundation has many years of proving trained volunteers can help to spark new hope in young lives. Without a vision, people will perish. Dare To Dream brings vision of new ways to live life. I've personally seen the sparkle of new hope in young eyes. There's nothing more inspiring. Dare to Dream is making a difference, one child at a time!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

I love this organization. I get to volunteer with them once a quarter but I travel far to go help as I truly believe in their cause. Jan Tennyson, the Founder, is a professional, caring, and organized lady. This shows in the way all her other volunteers operate. This place is worth volunteers and financial help. If you actually go spend time with the youth in the detention centers, it will change the way you see life and it will be a humbling experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

My Name is Harold Wilson.In january 2009 I retired from the Dallas County Adult Probation Dept. after 27 years of srvice.For 20 of those years I have known and worked and admired Ms.Jan Tennyson.Jan helped me fulfill a dream and a mandate i set for myself as a Probation officer and as a Regional Supervisor which was to find commited community people willing and capable in helping me and my staff make a differance in the lives of individuals under community supervison. In having Jan and Dare To Dream volunteers and staff as both contemporary and friends I have found no shortage, or lack-there-of neither in committment nor willingness to Open Hearts or Hands to those in Need, especially young people.I have been given beyond measure since meeting and knowing Jan and pray that as she moves forward so will her mandate as well as her mission and her ministry.THANKS SO MUCH Jan and Love Always!! Harold.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I met Jan at Hillcrest in the 90's and wanted to volunteer in her organization. She needed office help and at the time, that was all I was able to do after working each day. I know Jan's heart is full of true caring and has shared everything for the cause. Jan is an outstanding mentor and you will not find anyone more devoted to her work. I was truly blessed during my time with her to see the results of her efforts. Dare to Dream has helped so many young people and I have been blessed to be a part of such a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

The harvest is plenty, but the laborers are few. We learn that the hard way in any group, but what makes an organization special is the ability to do the most with the assets we possess. Jan taught me that I have so much more inside to give and helped me to share that with others to see the greatness that dwells within in each and every one of us. Dare to Dream helps to create oxygen when these children's reserves are running on empty. Hope does not disappoint and neither will those that invest their time and resources to help Dare to Dream Children's Foundation - good luck to all the groups and thanks to all the volunteers in the Non Profit world - the capacity to serve is trully limitless. David A.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

As I was trying to decide between being a Client Served or a Volunteer I was torn because I have had the awesome opportunity to be on both sides of this organization. When I was younger Dare to Dream offered my bothers and I opportunities that our SE status would normally not have been able to afford us. We received gifts at Christmas as well as served other families throughout the year at various events. Now that I am an Educator and the Youth Director at my church, I am able to volunteer with Dare to Dream and serve kids and families allowing them to experience the same opportunities I have had. This is a wonderful ministry to be a part of and I encourage everyone who can to participate in changing the lives of kids forever!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

While living in Dallas I was blessed to be a volunteer at Dare to Dream. Children big and small receive gifts of love and compassion through this wonderful foundation. May God bless those who help and those who serve, and may He expand the territory and boundaries reached by Dare to Dream.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

Countless lives have been impacted through Dare to Dream. Hope is reinstated, courage is found,and a positive, fruitful future emerges . Many thanks to Jan and her team, for countless hours of giving unselfishly to these children and teens.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I had the great pleasure and privilege to serve at-risk youth with Dare to Dream in the late 90's. Their mission of reaching out and impacting young people heading in the wrong direction was pursued with great passion. Though many at-risk youth were not interested in the efforts of 'do-gooders' trying to help them, it was wonderful to see some respond to the love and care being shown them and begin to turn their lives around. The camaraderie among the volunteers was amazing.

More feedback...

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Update our database, colate volunteer packets and much more Volunteer