Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Dancin' Power is a fun and therapeutic outlet for many of the patients I work with at Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland. All ages and ability levels can enjoy the music, movement, creativity, and comaraderie! I hope to continue to work with Miss Vania and Dancin' Power in the future.
-Sara, speech therapist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power has been a wonderful addition to the School Program in our hospital. Dancin Power staff have been able to work with kids that have various physical challenges. They have always found a way to empower the children to participate in movement activities. Kids can work from their wheelchairs or their beds and move in whatever manner works best for them. Once Dancin Power facilitated a movement session for a paraplegic child in which she was able to dance her hands to Twinkle Twinkle Little Star from her bed.
They have contributed a great deal to helping children have a positive sense of self-esteem and body image. Staff's gentle and warm approach has been a great success. This is a favorite hospital activity for many of our students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power transforms young lives with music and movement. I've known Vania professionally and personally for many years and Dancin Power is her passion, her joy, her life's work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I saw firsthand the transformative power that this programs brings to children who are hospitalized. The energy, positivity and accepting attitude that Dancin Power brings to these kids is almost magical. A wonderful program that all children should have the opportunity to experience!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it nationwide!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

My first 'class' with Vania was in the corridor of Childrens Hospital Oakland about 4 yrs ago, with a girl who had serious asthma and another who was in a wheelchair. In 3 wods, it was wonderful! With Vania's help and huge smiles on their faces, the girls moved their arms and legs to the salsa beat. We laughed at our antics and encouraged passerbys to join in the fun. Vania's loving, generous heart and warm spirit continue to follow her in her great work. The world really needs her vision and I hope it never fades.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 1, 2012

more

December 1, 2012

Dancin Power is to put it simply... a blessing! I have had the great pleasure of observing and participating in this amazing program. Vania and her dedicated and talented team provide such a valuable service to our community of kids at CHRCO; an opportunity to be transported through world music, fun movements, and engage with other kids (and sometimes their caregivers). it's so wonderfully healing to the human spirit while going through some of the darkest hours these kids and families will ever face. Thanks so very much Vania - for your passion and selfless attitude!! Cheers to Dancin Power!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

I saw Dancin Power (DP) way back when it started and am so proud and pleased to see how it grows today! DP serves so many patients, siblings, and families who so desperately need to feel normal, to feel alive and to feel worthwhile. Watching people participate in DP programs you watch magic come to life. People forget their pain, their stress, their worries for a period of time and are transformed into a person, living in their body, breathing, moving, dancing, laughing, smiling. They are beautifully, simply, perfectly ALIVE! They continue to bring community together with music and movement and are an empowering force, brining people and patients the highest quality of life possible. Thank you Dancin Power for all you do!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012

more

November 24, 2012

Dancin Power has empowered many children and family members dealing with disease and stresses associated with hospitalization. Under Vania's leadership, patients are introduced to dance within the medical setting. She has been able to accommodate children with all kinds of mobility challenges and does so with grace and respect for each child. She works around IV poles, wheelchairs, paraplegia and pain to help kids be able to move in a way that is supportive to the medical plan as well as therapeutic to the child. The end result is that everyone around is vicariously uplifted. It is not uncommon to see a nurse pop in to a Dancin Power session and sway to the beat! This is such a powerful medium and one that is incredibly uplifting to everyone involved. Encore! Encore!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012

more

November 5, 2012

Our organization Soccer Without Borders has worked with Dancin Power for the past two summers in Oakland and San Jose, CA where Dancin Power teachers have led amazing dance workshops with our youth during the Oakland and San Jose Refugee Community Soccer Camps. Dancin Power staff injected a tremendous amount of positive, warm energy into the camp and gave many of the kids a chance to express themselves and learn new dance moves while building community. The founder Vania is an amazing person bringing the joy of dance and movement to kids who truly need it.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you would like to help Dancin Power impact, transform and inspire more sick and injured children, please contact us at info@dancinpower.org to learn about our many volunteering program opportunities. Volunteer