Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
43 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Dancin' Power is a fun and therapeutic outlet for many of the patients I work with at Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland. All ages and ability levels can enjoy the music, movement, creativity, and comaraderie! I hope to continue to work with Miss Vania and Dancin' Power in the future.
-Sara, speech therapist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic nonprofit organization. I volunteered with Dancin Power from 2011-2012 as a dance teacher and assistant. Visiting Children's Hospital Oakland with Dancin Power was one of the best parts of my week. Seeing the children's faces light up once we got moving, or seeing kids start out shy and grow more confident as the class progressed always gave me the "warm fuzzies" and made me look forward to coming back the next week. Witnessing the children reclaim their body to dance and have a good time was incredibly inspiring and just thinking about it makes me miss the being part of the program.
In addition to going to Children's hospital, I also went to Shriner's with Vania. This was an awesome experience because not only did she teach a children's class, she also taught a class for mothers of children in the hospital. The mothers' class was popular and a wonderful outlet and moment of self-care for them. Parents often forget to take time for themselves, and it was great that Vania was willing to give these devoted mothers a some time to let loose.
Overall, I definitely felt my time was well spent there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, I have not been actively involved in Dancin Power since moving about a year ago, so I am not sure how it has already changed. However, if I could change anything, I would expand the amount of programming within Children's and to other hospitals or in the area as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power is great! It has serve our Oakland patient tremendously, by engaging them in fun activities that they truly enjoy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fortunate enough to witness first-hand the amazing affect this program has on children in the hospital. I have seen children who were initially withdrawn come out of their shell and flourish through dance and music. I have seen children who previously thought they couldn't do things based on their disabilities or being in a wheelchair be empowered by the modifications Dancin Power was able to make to allow them to move and groove. The children can laugh, smile and get some exercise all at the same time. It's a great program that brings joy to so many hospitalized children and their families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to get the organization more funding so that they were able to spend more time in the hospital.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power brings smile, laughter and motivation to our overweight kids who never thought it can be fun to move and be comfortable with your own body. Vania is such a great dance instructor! She makes every child in our Healthy Heart program feel unique and important even when you don't know how to dance or move. Every hospital should have a Dancin Power, but most importantly have an invigorating leader like Vania.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am a pediatric physiastrist at Children’s Hospital Oakland. I witness first hand the positive effects of Dancin Power on the quality of life of my hospitalized patients. The kids love it and beam with joy during the classes. Their success in learning dance moves carries over to their performance in their intensive physical/occupational/speech therapy sessions. I am fortunate to be on the board of an organization that has such an ineffable presence in my workplace.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I, personally, am suffering with a brain tumor. I no longer can dance. But, Dancin Power reminded me that I can dance with the movement I do have in my body. I find such joy and strength dancing with the children and the other volunteers, even if we're sitting down, even if we can't raise our arms above our heads. Dancin Power shows us that, yes, we can express ourselves with our bodies even in the midst of our pain and limitations. To feel empowered again in our bodies - even in the midst of the trauma - heals the mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power has been a wonderful addition to the School Program in our hospital. Dancin Power staff have been able to work with kids that have various physical challenges. They have always found a way to empower the children to participate in movement activities. Kids can work from their wheelchairs or their beds and move in whatever manner works best for them. Once Dancin Power facilitated a movement session for a paraplegic child in which she was able to dance her hands to Twinkle Twinkle Little Star from her bed.
They have contributed a great deal to helping children have a positive sense of self-esteem and body image. Staff's gentle and warm approach has been a great success. This is a favorite hospital activity for many of our students.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Healthy Hearts is an obesity clinic at Children's, and we have had the pleasure of having many of our patients get to experience the magic of Dancin Power. We have been so incredibly impressed with how comfortable kids feel when they are part of a Dancin Power session. We have had family members come up to us afterwards and say how they had never seen their child enjoy dancing before!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 22, 2012

Dancin Power brings music, dance and movement to chronically ill children staying in hospitals. These things are so basic to the lives of healthy children that it’s easy to take them for granted, b... more

October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power transforms hospital rooms into joyful places where kids can be kids again -- supplementing their physical care with the spirited atmosphere that helps them heal. Even a bed-ridden child can listen to music and move his or her arms to the beat -- helping create the sense of community and ability that is so important for anyone coping with chronic illness, burns or disfigurements. The term transformative is really the only way to describe the energy in a room before vs. after a Dancin Power class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2012

Dancin Power brings music, dance and movement to chronically ill children staying in hospitals. These things are so basic to the lives of healthy children that it’s easy to take them for granted, but exactly why Dancin Power makes such an incredible impact in the lives of hospitalized children and their families. Vania has adapted moves so that even wheelchair and bed-ridden children can move their arms and heads to the music.

Vania’s hospital classes are transformative – I’ve witnessed gatherings of sick, shy children, along with their visiting siblings and parents, become playful, laughing kids and families again. The children look forward to the dance classes all week – a chance to feel ‘normal’ again – and parents clamor to find out when Vania will return. It takes an incredible amount of administration, organization and dedication to provide these classes in a hospital setting, and Vania leads her organization in such a passionate and professional manner – with the goal of training new teachers and expanding availability of her classes – I hope that more people can support Dancin Power’s amazing work in our community hospitals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you would like to help Dancin Power impact, transform and inspire more sick and injured children, please contact us at info@dancinpower.org to learn about our many volunteering program opportunities. Volunteer