Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
40 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

I had the opportunity to play music for one of Dancin Power's classes at the Shriners Hospital in Sacramento. I never thought I would be playing loud, high energy samba music in the atrium of a large children's hospital, but it worked wonderfully. The class was quite interactive for both the children and adults in attendance! Though little pressure was put on people to participate, most were engaged and visibly having a good time. The class was set up so each person could do as much or as little as they wanted or could do. At one point we went around the room and everyone made up their own dance moves for the whole class to try, which got people creating and laughing. Vania does an excellent job helping people to enjoy the basic pleasures of dance and music, in many different states of capability, age, and enthusiasm.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

I have been a volunteer dance instructor with the Dancin Power program for the past 4 years. Vania's enthusiasm and dedication to the program and it's mission inspired me tremendously and I knew I wanted to be involved. Vania is always patient focused, wanting the best experience for the kids but at the same time concerned that the volunteers have the support that is needed when caring for a vulnerable population. With her passion and endless energy she has grown this program from a one woman organization to a 501c3 with a committed board of directors, many volunteers, and multiple program locations. This is a great organization to be a part of!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I am a firm believer in the power of dance and expressive arts, and Dancin' Power provides a positive affirmation of this. This is a phenomenal organization that is affecting individual lives in very ... more

October 31, 2013

Dancin Power is a superb organization that brings expressive arts and movement to an often overlooked segment of the population: hospitalized children and their families. The volunteers are passionate and caring, but also fun and enthusiastic--a perfect mix. It is clear to me that lives are being changed for the better and I hope that many more will be positively affected by Dancin Power as the organization grows!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

I am a firm believer in the power of dance and expressive arts, and Dancin' Power provides a positive affirmation of this. This is a phenomenal organization that is affecting individual lives in very tangible ways. Vania is a wonderful leader with a genuine interest in helping others, especially those who are unable to help themselves. Her vision for Dancin' Power is something we all can, and should, get behind!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

My name is Mor'gaan I was 13 years old when I started dancing with dancing power during the 8 months that I spent in Children's hospital. I had never took a dance class in my life but thanks to dancing power I not only learned how to do dance i felt empowered enought to Peform 3 dances along with 20 other dancers for a audience of over 200 people at the hospital. It was one of the best days of my life and I will never forget it changed my life forever . Thank you dancing power !!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013

more

October 30, 2013

Dancin Power is a specialized movement and music program that brings dance classes free of charge to hospitalized kids facing chronic and life-threatening illnesses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013

more

October 27, 2013

Dancin Power is a wonderful non-profit organization that brings dance and music to young patients at Oakland Children's Hospital, and beyond. But more than that, it's brings huge heart and soul, and much needed joy to the families and all involved. Vania Deonizio, the founder, is a selfless and passionate leader who has managed to put this programming together on a shoestring, with the help of friends, family, and volunteers. Brava to her, and to all her helpers and supporters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2013

more

October 26, 2013

Dancin Power is fueled by the love and passion of the volunteers. It is amazing to witness the love of dance and music being shared with patients and families. Dancin Power has the ability to bring kids and their families together in a way that no other program can. The magic that happenes when dance is brought into stressful or otherwise negative situations is truly incredible. The positivity and belief in possibility that Dancin Power has is contagious, and has opened my eyes to what can happen when ideas and dreams are pursued.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would find a way to have more trained teachers available more often at the hospital.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

October 25, 2013

Dancin' Power is a fun and therapeutic outlet for many of the patients I work with at Children's Hospital & Research Center Oakland. All ages and ability levels can enjoy the music, movement, creativity, and comaraderie! I hope to continue to work with Miss Vania and Dancin' Power in the future.
-Sara, speech therapist

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This is a fantastic nonprofit organization. I volunteered with Dancin Power from 2011-2012 as a dance teacher and assistant. Visiting Children's Hospital Oakland with Dancin Power was one of the best parts of my week. Seeing the children's faces light up once we got moving, or seeing kids start out shy and grow more confident as the class progressed always gave me the "warm fuzzies" and made me look forward to coming back the next week. Witnessing the children reclaim their body to dance and have a good time was incredibly inspiring and just thinking about it makes me miss the being part of the program.
In addition to going to Children's hospital, I also went to Shriner's with Vania. This was an awesome experience because not only did she teach a children's class, she also taught a class for mothers of children in the hospital. The mothers' class was popular and a wonderful outlet and moment of self-care for them. Parents often forget to take time for themselves, and it was great that Vania was willing to give these devoted mothers a some time to let loose.
Overall, I definitely felt my time was well spent there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Honestly, I have not been actively involved in Dancin Power since moving about a year ago, so I am not sure how it has already changed. However, if I could change anything, I would expand the amount of programming within Children's and to other hospitals or in the area as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power is great! It has serve our Oakland patient tremendously, by engaging them in fun activities that they truly enjoy.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you would like to help Dancin Power impact, transform and inspire more sick and injured children, please contact us at info@dancinpower.org to learn about our many volunteering program opportunities. Volunteer