Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
53 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Dancin Power arrives with an upbeat can-do attitude that sets the tone for the interaction. Patients and their families are engaged and taken on a journey of movement along with Vania. Physical limitations are forgotten as people of all ages and abilties are swept into the joy that is "dance"! Patients who may be self conscience forget their concerns. Patients who have been afraid to move because of pain find their fears were unfounded. Children who have always loved to dance find they can still do so no matter what their limitations are at the moment. We only wish they could be here every day!!
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power brings together patients and their families with joy, creativity and inspiration. Young patients are given the opportunity to move, dance and express themselves with music within the hospital setting.Vania Deonizio is the brilliant guiding force behind Dancin Power. Vania is joined by a team of dedicated and enthusiastic volunteer dance teachers. We are trained and supported personally by Vania, and given the tools to best serve our participants. A dance class is specially created to give kids a fun and rewarding class, while increasing their self-esteem in an encouraging environment.
I am a volunteer dance teacher with Dancin Power, and am so grateful to have found this incredibly worthwhile nonprofit organization.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power has been a tremendous source of joy for children who desperately need it. Driven by Vania's energy and passion to help others, Dancin Power also reaches the hearts of others in the community. I am proud to support this great non-profit!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 23, 2013

Dancin Power transforms hospital rooms into joyful places where kids can be kids again -- supplementing their physical care with the spirited atmosphere that helps them heal. Even a bed-ridden child ... more

September 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

One Dancin Power session can transform a room of hospital patients into a room of joyful, playful children again. The work that Dancin Power does is so powerful and inclusive; bed-ridden children can benefit from the music and even moving hands along to the beat. I've never come across a program like it.
October 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power transforms hospital rooms into joyful places where kids can be kids again -- supplementing their physical care with the spirited atmosphere that helps them heal. Even a bed-ridden child can listen to music and move his or her arms to the beat -- helping create the sense of community and ability that is so important for anyone coping with chronic illness, burns or disfigurements. The term transformative is really the only way to describe the energy in a room before vs. after a Dancin Power class.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2012

Dancin Power brings music, dance and movement to chronically ill children staying in hospitals. These things are so basic to the lives of healthy children that it’s easy to take them for granted, but exactly why Dancin Power makes such an incredible impact in the lives of hospitalized children and their families. Vania has adapted moves so that even wheelchair and bed-ridden children can move their arms and heads to the music.

Vania’s hospital classes are transformative – I’ve witnessed gatherings of sick, shy children, along with their visiting siblings and parents, become playful, laughing kids and families again. The children look forward to the dance classes all week – a chance to feel ‘normal’ again – and parents clamor to find out when Vania will return. It takes an incredible amount of administration, organization and dedication to provide these classes in a hospital setting, and Vania leads her organization in such a passionate and professional manner – with the goal of training new teachers and expanding availability of her classes – I hope that more people can support Dancin Power’s amazing work in our community hospitals.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This is a great example of a grass roots nonprofit that accomplishes so much with such a great impact on the lives of a vulnerable population, extremely ill children.
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power touches the lives of sick & injured children every day. Their volunteers inspire hospitalized children to express themselves through dance & movement, and in doing so bring so much positive energy and much-needed joy to the children and families that they serve. Their tireless work is both instructional and therapeutic. They teach the children to be in touch with their bodies and comfortable in their own skin while at the same time offering them an irreplaceable escape from their strenuous and painful circumstances.

Dancin Power is a truly inspirational organization that provides an invaluable service to the beloved children that it serves.
September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2013

Dancin Power is a wonderful program, that inspires everyone involved or around the magic. As a volunteer, I get to share my love through dancing in the hospital with some of the most incredible little... more

September 22, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power, touches the lives of children, parents, staff and teachers in such an incredible and unique way. A way through dance, which is often set to the side as a crucial role in therapeutic settings, but one that has the ability to turn a life around. My work with Dancin Power, has not only effected my own interpersonal grown and transformation, but I have literally been a witness to this change in families and children. Dancin Power, is a very special and wonderful program that brings a smile to the face of someone who often hasn't felt one in a while, which becomes a domino effect of smiles all around. I love this program!
October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power is a wonderful program, that inspires everyone involved or around the magic. As a volunteer, I get to share my love through dancing in the hospital with some of the most incredible little human beings i have ever met. it is a way to lift spirits, in the most natural, energetic and human way possible, through dancing! When you arrive at the hospital, to the point of leaving, it is so obvious the impact Dancin Power has on the kids, the hospital staff and their parents. It creates a time of relief, a sanction to escape into a wonderful moment of dance, music and community. I have seen so many hearts be lifted through Dancin Power, as well as my own. I think this program has an incredible impact, and i would love to see it expand and get more recognition, because it truly is phenomenal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to see more money, time, sponsorship donated to the program, so it can truly flourish in all its potential.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2013

Dancin Power gives sick and injured children the chance to feel normal and just be children for a while. When the music starts, it's clear that they're able to let go of worries and pain and actually ... more

September 22, 2014

I am thrilled to be part of Dancin Power because of the tremendous service it provides to sick, injured, and hospitalized children. There is simply nothing more uplifting and inspirational than seeing those small faces ignite with the joy of dancing during their stay in an otherwise frightening, painful, and sad place. Dancin Power gives those kids an artistic outlet for their emotions during an extremely trying time and provides them with vital respite. Dancin Power fosters a sense of normalcy and a feeling of health through specially tailored dance moves that are within every child's reach. I am proud to be on Dancin Power's board of directors and work toward its essential mission.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Dancin Power gives sick and injured children the chance to feel normal and just be children for a while. When the music starts, it's clear that they're able to let go of worries and pain and actually feel good in their bodies. It's truly a transformative experience for the children and their families. During the classes, there is so much positivity, joy, and hope that it spills over to everyone around, even the hospital staff walking by. I am very honored to be a board member for Dancin Power and to have been part of the organization from the start as a teacher and volunteer. This organization has had a powerful impact on thousands of young people. Here's to many more years of uplifting thousands more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more teachers and give more classes to reach even more sick and injured children!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 15, 2012

I began volunteering as a teacher-in-training with Dancin Power a few months ago after meeting the Founder, Vania, and Co-Founder, Sarah by chance after a dance movie. Vania was wearing a Dancin Powe... more

September 21, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Vania and her team are doing in valuable work for the precious children whose strength you could never imagine. Those undergoing cancer treatment way too young and survivors of burn incidents Vania is bringing a true gift to them and their families. I have been able to see firsthand The joy and energy that these children in exude because they are part of the Dancin Power program. They deserve a huge voted big knowledge meant and I hope their programs expand far and wide!
November 15, 2012

I began volunteering as a teacher-in-training with Dancin Power a few months ago after meeting the Founder, Vania, and Co-Founder, Sarah by chance after a dance movie. Vania was wearing a Dancin Power shirt and spoke to me about the program with such heartfelt enthusiasm and belief in what they were doing. I walked away from the conversation with a brochure and a deep knowledge in my heart that I wanted to be involved. As a professional dancer and public health professional I was excited about what I could bring into the lives of these children and their families but since volunteering I have found that I am the one rewarded and inspired by the strength and attitudes of the amazing individuals I have met and worked with through Dancin Power. Whether through music, movement, stories in motion or performance, seeing first-hand the smiles and energy of the participants is priceless. Though I have been dancing and teaching for over two decades I cannot say enough about all I have learned through the program and those involved. Vania is an extremely dedicated and capable leader, teacher and trainer. As a volunteer I have appreciated her overall energy, knowledge and approach in how she conducts the program and trains volunteers. She is extremely sensitive to the needs of the children and families we serve as well as our needs as teachers to provide a fun and supportive atmosphere for participants. Vania takes the time to train and nurture the volunteer teachers to work appropriately with the patients' needs in the hospital setting simultaneously allowing them to bring their own unique voices, talents and ideas to the program. I am thankful to be part of this amazing program and encourage people to support Dancin Power in any way they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2014

more

September 21, 2014

I volunteered with Vania ( the founder) one day at Children's Hospital Oakland ( where I am a data analyst) and it was just wonderful. Dance therapy really does make children with mobility issues feel better, laugh and be kids.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

If you would like to help Dancin Power impact, transform and inspire more sick and injured children, please contact us at info@dancinpower.org to learn about our many volunteering program opportunities. Volunteer