Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
November 18, 2013

I've been a volunteer for DANA for nine years and I can see I'll be involved for many more. Why? Because at last I've found a place that is key to California's Rancho period history whose story must be shared with all Californians. DANA is a place in the Nipomo community for people with a variety of interests and talents to invest time and treasure because the preservation of the site involves the preservation of the stories of all who were here, all who passed through, and all who imagined what this golden state could become.

As a retired teacher, I find myself still instructing children, but about local and state history and about nature. I'm outdoors, with great volunteers, and valued for my contributions.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more people to know about our site.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 25, 2013

The organization has really taken off these last couple of years. The volunteers are more organized with training and direction from the leaders. The organization shows that it cares for its volunteers and acknowledges each person's contribution. I feel most welcome here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 22, 2013

My wife and I love working at the Rancho Nipomo Heritage Park. We have been involved for nearly 5 years and have seen great advances in the restoration of the Adobe and are excited about plans for the Visitor Center and Heritage Park. This is a venue that Nipomo can be proud of. Many visitors will come in the next years and they will be enriched by what they will see and hear.

We encourage everyone to come by for a visit and to get involved in our work.

Bob & Rena Weiger
Nipomo, CA

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We'd like to see more community involvement. We have grants that have allowed us to restore the Adobe and to build out the Heritage Park, but we need sustainable support from the local community to pay for operational expenses.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2013

I joined the Dana Adobe Nipomo Amigos when the group was organized. I am proud of being involved with helping them save the old adobe, and educate school children about California history.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 21, 2013

I am a docent for the Dana Adobe, an historical home in Nipomo dating back to the 1840's. As a retired school teacher, I enjoy helping with the educational field trips made by the local schools. To be able to make history "come alive" is exciting for all who visit and students get to experience "hands-on" what life was like on the rancho 150 years ago. The general public may visit also in the afternoons on weekends and attend concerts and lectures throughout the summer. This is a great place to volunteer and there are many opportunities to get involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2013

I just finished hosting a school field trip to the Adobe. We had 75 third/fourth grade students and five stations for them to experience rancho life in California around 1850. From the restored adobe to tour, to the delicious aroma of tortillas cooking, I am impressed by the quality and committment of this organization to educate the public and the young. What a treasure hidden in Nipomo! Come and tour the adobe on a weekend and personally experience what a dedicated group of volunteers can accomplish! And there is more to come as the planned Heritage Park begins construction soon!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more volunteers to help make an impact with school groups in the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2013

When I joined the DANA Board in 2011, the organizations was operating more as a small local non-profit, with a more Mom and Pop organization. In April of 2011, receiving a $2,998,00 grant to build a Nature Educational Facility, the Board began to grow in all ways, and direct its functioning to a much m ore professional level. Since that time, the Board and the organization have continued on that path and are becoming a well-run organization, in the process of plans to build our facility and have it become a "star location" in San Luis Obispo County.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Just continue to grow and reach for success - it is within reach!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 19, 2013

Participating at DANA as a Docent gives me the opportunity to learn more about local history, the area's relevance in the history of California, and gives me a chance to try to make history interesting for the young.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A little

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers