Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.111115
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 26, 2014

more

February 26, 2014

My wife and I have supported Dallas Life for 30 years. We have made donations of money and clothing. We helped with accounting presentations to make it easier for potential donors better understand how they help people change their lives.
We really like that in additional to providing food and
sleeping accommodations, Dallas Life changes lives. They help alcoholics, drug addicts, prostitutes, homeless, those who have lost their jobs, those with anger management issues change their lives. Their 10 month New Life program address these issues.
New Life teaches them how to use a computer, create a resume, prepare for an interview. They also provide donated clothes so they look nice for the interview. They have a medical clinic and provide free dentistry services. This is a place for people who want to get better. They don't allow drinking or drugs. Everyone is asked to help out in some way. This helping out creates self respect. It gets people to change from takers to givers and improve their lives and not depend on society for handouts.
This is a terrific program thanks to staff, volunteers, and the homeless who want to change.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it so they could serve more homeless people who want to change.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 5, 2013

more

May 5, 2013

The Name says it all. Dallas Life is on a mission to change lives. I came there from Ohio after nearly 15 years of being homeless. I suffered from drug and alcohol addiction that took away my middle class life and left me on the streets with out friends or family due to my behavior. Dallas Life took me in and allowed me to stay several days while I learned what they had to offer and make up my mind if I was ready to do what was necessary to put my life back in order. I thank God I made the right choice and stayed. I enrolled in their 10 month New Life program and with Gods Grace and Mercy along with the dedicated staff and guidance and structure built into their program, my life started changing and improving from the start. It wasn't always easy but a lot of things worth having aren't. I realized early on that my way of doing things had not served me well and I needed to let someone else take over. That someone was God, through him, in the form of Dallas Life and it's staff. The lessons I learned in class and the example that the staff set keep me going strong to this day almost 5 years later. Dallas Life is not only for drug and alcohol rehabilitation, it's also there to help anyone with life problems in general ranging from making bad decisions, to economical reasons that got them in the situation they are currently in. The combination of class room studies, counseling and bible studies is geared to give anyone the attributes necessary to succeed in life. Dallas Life offers GED classes to assist in getting an high school diploma along with a wide range of life skills, parenting, budgeting, anger management, addiction and Christian studies classes. They also help with job leads and housing assistance for their program graduates. Mentors are available to help guide, direct and set a positive example on a one to one basis for the men and women. This was of particular help to me due to the fact that after so many years of homelessness, a person's mind can become so engrained in an particular behavior pattern you need someone you trust to help teach you how to live again. It hurt's my heart to hear people twist and say negative things about good organizations only because they weren't ready or willing to get the help that was offered to them or because they have been given bad information by others. What ever the reason, all I know is that in my almost 5 year association with Dallas Life, I have seen the life's of hundreds of men, women and children transformed and helped back into society with a positive Christian faith, confidence, and all the tools they need to succeed.
Dallas Life as well as other non profit organizations rely in part on volunteers to help keep them running smoothly. I've seen first hand the impact volunteers can have on the lives of others especially the children, and in turn the impact the family's and children have on the lives of the volunteers. Consider volunteering, have a wonderful day.
God Bless.
Thank You For Your Time.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

As a young College student, I was excited to find ministries truly providing change to people and offering help to those who are ready to receive it! That is when I found Dallas LIFE. I quickly became involved with this facility because of it's mission. I never have more encouraging moments and uplifting talks than when I am at Dallas LIFE. The Staff is wonderful! The residents each have a story to tell, and the overall way that the shelter gives help to people, you can tell that it is LIFE CHANGING! This shelter is structured and has a lot of rules to follow, but I find that each rule has a purpose and within that purpose lies the best interest of the homeless individuals and families they are serving. I have come to truly LOVE DALLAS LIFE! Come down for a tour and you'll understand why Dallas LIFE is the BEST place in Texas for those seeking recovery.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

As a Christian minister I have found Dallas Life to be a place where God is doing a powerful work. The Gospel is preached regularly in the Chapel, the Lord's Supper is celebrated at least twice per month, there are Bible study classes, and prayer meetings. I personnally know of forty verbal decisions to accept Jesus Christ as Savior and almost as many Baptisms there this past year. I have spoken to many that tell me their lives have been changed for the better as a result of the time they spent at Dallas Life. I believe Dallas LIfe was established by God for the welfare of all He leads there, and He continues to bless and sustain this shelter in a mighty way. Please join me in praying for the Dallas Life staff and the work God has led them to do, both in His service and for the residents. Please remember to pray for Dallas Life residents, supporters, and volunteers asking God to bless and sustain them all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I have been involved with Dallas LIFE for several years and they are simply wonderful! They take care of the homeless and help all who come through their doors. Recovery and life change is what matters most. other shelter in Dallas are just a free bed and a meal but Dallas LIFE offers classes and a 10 month recovery program. Every dollar is spent wisely and they genuinely care about people! They are very open and transparent about all they do and I have been involved directly with homeless people they help as well as with the staff and board and they are all terrific! I am so very glad Dallas LIFE is here for my city!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 18, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
April 18, 2013

I love knowing Dallas LIFE represents change. My dollars get people out of the cycle of homelessness even when many shelters do not. The ten month program is accountability based, structured and sets a standard for those who are used to setting none. Homeless here leave with jobs, apartments, mentors, and a desire to be contributing members of society! I applaud the many residents at Dallas LIFE who are changing their lives and I see it in their faces when i am there. I see strong minded, purposeful residents who will NEVER BE HOMELESS AGAIN!!! Hats off to Dallas LIFE!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 21, 2013

more

March 21, 2013

I was here. The video they give is very condescending (this video explains the rules). I believe you have to look like you are on something or look homeless. I got turned away. I didn't have 10 dollars for stay and I was skilled (educated for jobs). In order to join the program, it would probably benefit someone who is on drugs (no disrespect) or need on-the-job-training. You would have to stay the whole time. I guess I didnt fit, the case worker took one look at me and told me they probably wouldnt be able to help me. When I got to the window, they asked me for 10 dollars. I told them I didnt have it and they looked at me like I was crazy. I just thanked them and left. Homeless Shelter...REALLY?!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

None

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 11, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am sorry that the first review did not state the facts truthfully and I must let the public know the accurate truth about Dallas LIFE Homeless Shelter. Dallas Mission for Life, Inc. dba Dallas LIFE, is one of the most successful homeless shelters in the USA, with a graduation % that exceeds other homeless shelters similiar to our mission. It is one of the only homeless shelters that provides over 50 individual family rooms that have been decorated by designers and others so that married couples and families do not have to be separated. We also are the only homeless program with a program for Senior Citizens and Overcomers (those who must be treated for medical needs). There are 3 ways to stay at Dallas LIFE after your first 5 nights that are FREE the first time you stay with us. And, children always stay for free. Here are the 3 ways: 1) Work for stay for 90 days in positions offered that have skill sets that are matched by the resident (there are a certain number of these positions available), 2) Pay to stay - $10 per night (no time limit on this) or 3) Enroll in our 10 month New Life Recovery Program that includes classes that are faith-based as well as computer classes in a state-of-the-art computer classroom, GED courses, Anger Management, Women's Issues, Mens Issues, Budget and Finance, Overcoming Addictions and others to assist residents in managing their life while at Dallas LIFE and after they leave. We provide free dental care every Friday, a vision clinic once a month as well as having VA, Social Security and Legal Aid on designated days. Metro Care is on site one day a week and the Parkland Medical Unit is available 2 days a week right outside our door. Our children attend DISD schools and the bus picks-up and drops-off our students before and after school. We have 2 graduations per year, one in February and September. We have a great relationship with Back On My Feet running program that also encourages those who participate to be overcomers and great citizens of their communities. Accountability is emphasized in a loving way and so is working at designated positions so that they realize not everything in life is free and we all must contribute to make our homes and places of work a pleasant environment with everyone doing their job(s) with a great attitude. The food donated is not sold back to Walmart; Walmart donates a lot of our food and other needed items, and we have a great relationship with them. Our residents do not work 8 hour shifts if they are enrolled in our New LIFE Recovery Program. Their days also include classroom instruction time periods and free time to work on assignments. Dallas LIFE is a safe environment for those who find themselves homeless for various reasons and a place that loves its residents and wants the very best for them as they stay with us.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This place needs to be shut down. They exploit the homeless, making them work 8 hr days for $10 room and board. If you dont go to chapel your bed is taken away from you. And the DONATED food is SOLD to the homeless for rediculous prices. Oh did I forget that they sell some of that DONATED food to WALMART??? I rate them BELOW zero. I am not sure how to go about reporting this awful place!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unlikely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers