Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more

November 1, 2013

My daughter has bilateral retinoblastoma and this organization is wonderful!!! When she was first diagnosed they made an awful situation that much better:) thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing:)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

This organization has been a tremendous help for my family in the months and year following my daughters diagnosis. I'm so great full for all the support and information this organization has lent to my family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

I became involved with this charity, like many people often do, after having a personal experience. My daughter was diagnosed with eye cancer shortly after being born in 2007. We were lucky in many ways and our precious child is wonderfully healthy and happy today. Still, the nightmare of those first few weeks were awful. My wife and I were terrified. Our fears were magnified by this exceedingly rare disease. I mean, cancer in your eye? I never even heard of that before. The anonymity of the disease exasperated the terror we were subjected to because there were so few people in our medical community that knew much about it or could answer the 52,000 questions we had. Somehow, in the midst of the haze of desperation and fear we were introduced to a woman who couldn't help our daughter but certainly saved us. This non medical person survived eye cancer as a child and has since dedicated herself to helping others dealing with the trauma of such a difficult circumstance. She had more knowledge than most doctors we spoke with. She was always there to speak with us. She was our angel. That woman started this charity and subsequently asked me to join the board. I was both humbled and honored. This is a great charity for many reasons. This great group of people work hard to raise funds not only to help affected children and their families cope with the devastation of this disease but they also spend so much time bringing awareness (and earlier diagnosis) to families and medical communities around the US and around the world. Many children are alive today and many more will be saved because of the dedication, commitment and hard work being done at DECF. I am extremely proud to be affiliated with such a wonderful nonprofit organization

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can not think of any changes I would make. I only wish we could raise more money more quickly to help more families

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

This charity has a global impact on improving the chances of sight and life for children affected by retinoblastoma.
They work hard and continually strive to raise funds and awareness.
They have come along huge leaps since their beginnings and now help families all over the world.
I
personally know people who's support from DECF was the only thing that got them through when their child was diagnosed with retinoblastoma. Their outreach is a vital support network for families who have been thrown into the scary world of childhood cancer.
Awareness is vital in the fight to save vision and lives and without DECF, in many countries across the world, more children would lose their sight to retinoblastoma and possibly life too.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

This is a great cause which helps children get the medical treatment they so badly need. I know a family which benefits greatly from the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

As a survivor and a parent of a child with RB, I know too well the importance of information and support. Parents receiving a diagnosis need clear easy to understand information in order to make decisions impacting their child's life. From the physical to the emotional aspects that are associated with having cancer, losing an eye, side effects of treatment...DECF helps parents through the process always keeping the child as the first priority.
DECF assists adult survivors in staying educated about potential risks for secondary cancers, managing prosthetics and more.
This organization is making a positive impact on children with eye cancer, their families and adult survivors throughout the world. I'm proud to have the opportunity to work with and support this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

want more funds enabling the organization to afford full time dedicated employees to implementing the vision.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 18, 2013

more

June 18, 2013

Daisy's Eye Cancer Fund had helped my patients and their families in immeasurable ways. The story behind how this organization was invisioned and how it began is heart warming and commendable. The outreach of this program is immense and it's mission statement is lived out each and every day by its committed and incredibly dedicated members. They continue to do great work both here and abroad.
Amy Leverant M.D.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 3, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

DECF is great! They provide great information to parents and other family members going through very difficult times with the diagnosis of their little loved one with retinoblastoma. They offer hope a... more

June 3, 2013

Such a wonderful organization! There is not enough awareness about retinoblastoma. Knowing Daisy is out there helping as many children that they can is amazing. Getting early detection information out to new parents is one of their goals that I am 100% in support of! If only we would have known about this dreadful cancer early, maybe our little granddaughter's eye could have been saved! Kudos to DECF for all you do!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

DECF is great! They provide great information to parents and other family members going through very difficult times with the diagnosis of their little loved one with retinoblastoma. They offer hope and encouragement to everyone.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 3, 2013

more

June 3, 2013

WOW! Can't say enough about this non-profit! They have helped my family through an RB diagnosis, constant questions and have often eased my own fears when my daughter was diagnosed 7 years ago (she was 8 months old). We have made many donations to this amazing group and we are looking forward to many more years working w/DECF.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I just always wanted them to be in the US along with their beginnings in the UK and it seems that is where they are headed!!! YEA!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2013

more

June 2, 2013

A very dear friends granddaughter has RB and is surviving. The challenges that are faced by the family are beyond human endurance. The DECF is a great help to them. Without it the hopes for Evie would be greatly reduced.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1) help a group of parents organise a social event for families affected by childhood eye cancer; .2) bake some goods to sell at a fundraising Daisy Bake;3) host a gift wrapping stall at Christmas to help raise awareness and funds. Volunteer