Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
71 Reviews
1234.81695
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 10, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
August 20, 2013

Dads Make a Difference uses teenagers to train middle school students about the importance of respect, about the the issue of parenting too soon, and about how important it is to involve fathers with ... more

October 10, 2014

DMAD has research to prove that it creates long-term attitude and behavior chang among teens in preventing too early pregnancy and parenthood.

It has successfully trained about 8,000 students in its 21 years of existance and it has created an in demand cirriculum.

This agency
really delivers results.

August 20, 2013

Dads Make a Difference uses teenagers to train middle school students about the importance of respect, about the the issue of parenting too soon, and about how important it is to involve fathers with their families. The mentoring relationship and peer advocacy model really works, and the Wilder foundation did a study to prove that DMAD training creates lasting attitude change. DMAD has contributed to the decrease in teen pregnancies in Minnesota. It is an exceptional organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find it more fully, so that it could reach more people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 27, 2012

My first contact with dad's make a difference was because of my job. My supervisor at the Minnesota Department of Human Services had asked me to attend a training about 16 years ago. I was monumentally impressed by how well they trained young people about respect, planning for the future, and delaying too early pregnancy.

Since that time, the agency has trained thousands of junior high and high school students. The Wilder Foundation has done an empirical study that verifies that dads make a difference training produces tangible attitude changes.

The agency will be celebrating its 20th anniversary in the summer. It does exceptional training to produce responsible teenagers and, eventually, but not too soon, parents.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2014

more

October 1, 2014

I have been a donor to Dad's Make a Difference because I believe in this great organization and the work it does. Everyone involved is passionate about their cause and it shows in the difference they make in the community. Young people's lives are touched in a way that empowers them to find their voice and make a difference in the lives of others.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I have been volunteering for Dads Make A Difference for about 6 years now, and LOVE the program. I myself was a high schooler who attended my DMAD training and absolutely loved going into my local middle schools and teaching the curriculum. So much so that I reached out to Jan about becoming an adult trainer once I began college. She graciously accepted my offer, and I have greatly enjoyed working with Jan and the other trainers ever since. Jan is kind, courteous, and has a deep passion for this cause that is near and dear to her heart. It is my belief that learning the responsibilities of parenting is a key element to a person's overall success and is important to learn at an early age. Not only do children obtain a deeper level of respect for what their parents do for them, but they also begin to develop values that they will carry with them throughout life and into parenting years of their own. The curriculum is diverse, fun, and most importantly; open to all ideas, opinions, and personal stories. I know I do not only speak for myself when I say that Dads Make A Difference is a learning experience that one carries in their heart for a lifetime.
September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

I strongly endorse the worth of Dads Make A Difference (DMAD) to our community--its 20-year history of educating young people about the importance of fathers, about relationships and safe sexual decis... more

September 5, 2013

I recently attended an anniversary celebration for Dads Make a Difference (DMAD) and the testimonials from past participants, trainers, health educators, Minnesota State Department of Human Services, community nonprofit leaders, sexuality education professionals, youth workers, teachers--a range of folks involved in the organization's long history--gave further evidence of the power of this youth development organization and its curriculum to positively enhance the healthy development of Minnesota youth. It is a peer education program that has effectively educated youth about healthy relationships, sexual decision making and the important role of fathers for many years. We need to ensure that it continues to evolve in ways that allow it to educate and influence future generations of Minnesota youth.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get large scale financial support from a federal or state funding source and/or corporate sponsor so the organization can expand, grow and hire more staff.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

I strongly endorse the worth of Dads Make A Difference (DMAD) to our community--its 20-year history of educating young people about the importance of fathers, about relationships and safe sexual decision-making. The steady and creative stewardship of this organization by Executive Director Jan Hayne (during difficult economic times) and a committed cadre of volunteers have kept it afloat and allowed it to continue to play an active role in educating youth in the twin cities and greater Minnesota. As a current Board Member and Youth Development Professional, I highly recommend the DMAD organization and encourage you to learn more about it via its website www.dadsmakeadifference.org. And if you can, I also encourage you to make a donation so it can continue its good work.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Dads Make a Difference meets a definite need and utilizes a proven curriculum model based on research for training and outreach. Past participants become some of the staff when training is done again. A great, proven model that makes a difference in the lives of young Dads and ultimately, their child/ren.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide a strong funding source supporting this program which makes a difference in the lives of young men who become parents who then often learn (and need to learn) what it means to be an effective, supportive Dad in the lives of their child/ren. It continues on my contributor list.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

My daughter took the Dads Makes a Difference training back when she was in high school and she became a participant at Como High School to inform others! DMAD training provided insight for my daughter who had an absent father to give her some hope and understanding around the importance of dads. Being a board member was easy because I have seen the personal value of the vision and mission of this organization's impact on my family! Great work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more training in the Twin Cities!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Dads Make A Difference - made a difference in my life. I participated in the Dada Make A Difference program in 1996 as a professional in the field. I was professionally impressed and personally touch by the curriculum so much I became a trainer for the program. After training over 800 participants during my tenure, I was blessed to see up close and personal the impact Dads Make A Difference has made in the lives of young women and especially young men. This program continuously makes strategic and intentional efforts to remain relevant. In addition, the capabilty to also be interculturally competent in its language and delivery of sensitive content is no small feat. Please join me in financially supporting Dads Make A Difference so it remains a timeless pillar in our community and beyond.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Mandate it's curriculum in every 6th-8th grade classroom.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 28, 2012

Being involved in Dads has been an extremely rewarding experience. I attended training as a high school student, and knew right then that I wanted to stay involved in this program. It is obvious that... more

September 5, 2013

DMAD has been a part of my journey from teenhood to adulthood. I first met the founder of Dads, Jan Hayne, six years ago. I could immediately sense her passion as she told her story, and shared the mission of this amazing non-profit. The curriculum is timeless and yet fresh, traditional and yet innovative, and consistent year after year in core values, life lessons, and practical applications. It is a privilege to work with such amazing people who share Jan's mission of responsible parenting and the importance of relationship building. Students learn it, love it, and share it with their peers, family and friends, and in the digital world we live in, the positive energy Jan brings to her students is shared across the nation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As a non-profit, budgeting is important. If Jan was granted with more resources, I wholeheartedly know that she could make this program even more fresh and innovative.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 28, 2012

Being involved in Dads has been an extremely rewarding experience. I attended training as a high school student, and knew right then that I wanted to stay involved in this program. It is obvious that Jan has a deep passion for the organization and so do her volunteers. I hope to stay involved in DMAD for a very long time. Great program, great people, great cause!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

Dads Make a Difference is a program that changes lives. This curriculum not only helps young people make healthy decisions to plan for their futures but it also builds leadership skills and protective factors for young people who are struggling or facing challenges in their own lives. It creates a ripple effect that touches so many people and continues to impact young people in middle school, high school and beyond. It helps create a fuller picture of parenthood particularly for children born to young and/or single parents. It helps build community among trainers, peer educators, their students and staff that weaves a thread of hope and resilience for all young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Diversify the programming to increase revenue and hire additional staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 4, 2013

more

September 4, 2013

A fantastic non profit organization that maximizes its resources to deliver exceptional services that benefit so many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers