Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
117 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

We lost our Molly in May. I did not think we would want to get another dog so quickly, but then something just told me to look on Petfinder.com just to see "what was out there." We found and fell in love with our new baby, Sadie (and her sisters, but my husband said I could have only one- darnit!). We worked with Karen White, who was absolutely fantastic about accommodating us (since we live in Urbana, IL, she was even willing to meet us after hours... even after suffering a concussion!). I just can't say enough good things about what a great organization this is- very clean and took great care of our Sadie Baby- thank you, Karen and D & R Rescue! You guys rock!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 1, 2014

more

June 1, 2014

We adopted Simon from D and R Rescue for our daughter and he has been the perfect fit for her. We told Karen what we were looking for and everything she told us was spot on. She is an amazing dog person and knows exactly what she is doing and talking about! I would recommend her to anyone looking to adopt a pet! Thank you for the new addition to our family!!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 8, 2014

more

March 8, 2014

I have recently bought my own home and have a 10 yr boxer tht I have had since he was 3 months old. And I had bn looking around tryn to find the rite dog to fit my life and family and my older dog. I found out about D&R rescue through a lady tht wrks with Karen. And she had let me know tht Karen had a young female doberman tht sounded like she might b the match i was looking for. So i went to meet the dog her name is Ava and i absolutly feel n love with her so i filled out the application for her and Karen does the best i have ever seen in making sure tht when she adopts a dog out tht its going to a forever loving home by doing a home inspection,checking out vet records of any animals u own or have owned in the past, ect... So i was schedule to pick up Ava on a sat and the unexpected happn my 10 yr old dog got very sick and i had to put him n the vet hosp so i had let Karen know about wht had happened and she kept Ava for me till my older dog got better and was bk to him old self. She even calld me off and on every few days to c how my older dog was doing. Karen is very compassionate about animals and wht she does. So the day came tht i was able to get her and i was so excited to b gettn my new addition to my family. Ava was alrdy spayed utd on all her shots and had bn groomed for me tht day before i got there to pick her up, also microchipped and came with new collar,leash,bag of food, and a bag of goodies. I got her on Jan 25 so i've had her for a little over a month now and shes a complete joy to have she is exactly how Karen had told me she was. Im very grateful to Karen for doing wht she does for these dogs and takn care of Ava for me till my older dog got better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There is nothing tht i would change other than i would help out n anyway i could for her rescue to get grants and funds so she can keep doin her amazing wrk she does

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 7, 2014

more

January 7, 2014

I had been looking for a Maltese for about 3 months. I had filled out several applications and sent emails to several other rescue groups with little, slow or no response. I saw a little Maltese on Petfinder that had been rescued by D&R. She was currently being fostered about 2 hours from my home. I was very pleased and surprised at how fast Karen responded to my request for the adoption application and followed up with me on any questions I had. I felt that Karen really wanted to make sure this little Maltese was the one for me and also that whe would be going to a good home with responsible owners. Karen even followed up with me after I brought "Molly" home to make sure we were happy with her and that Molly was adjusting to her new home and family. I was impressed with Billie, the foster mom...she sent a care package that included some food, treats, collar & leash, and a toy for Molly. Billie has a lot of love and compassion for the dogs in her care. I am so lucky to have sweet little Molly in my life and it's because of rescue groups like D & R and people like Karen that make it possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2014

more

January 5, 2014

We have adopted two dobermans through D & R Rescue. One had been shot and terribly abused. If it hadn't been for Karen she would have died. Karen is very careful where she places her animals .we were blessed for 12years with a great dog...we now have another rescue that was 4months. She is going to be a fine addition to our family, thanks to Karen.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not make any changes..they do a great service . Very trustworthy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unlikely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In the spring of 2012, we searched Petfinder for a dog to adopt. We were looking for a King Charles mix and we found Bella who had been rescued by D and R Rescue, Inc. She was currently being fostered and was weaning her puppies. I contacted Karen and she made special arrangements to continue Bella's foster placement until we could drive from Lawrence, Kansas in June to pick her up. In the meantime, Karen kept in contact with us, answering my family's list of questions so that we could prepare for our new family member. We took a risk by adopting sight unseen, but trusted Karen and was rewarded with a beautiful dog! Bella is the sweetest dog I have ever owned and was clearly well-cared for while in her foster home. She was everything Karen said she was and more! When we picked her up, she had all the extras...microchipped, vet checked, new collar and leash, and a bag of goodies to go to her new home. Thank you, Karen, for rescuing a fabulous dog and giving us a life-long friend. Laura, Reilly, Raegan, Kit Kat, and, of course, Bella :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 6, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 6, 2013

We adopted our dog Maggie from D & R Rescue. We love our dog. She has been perfect for our family. We had a great experience with the adoption. Karen was very helpful and we received lots of things when we adopted Maggie. They provided us with tons of literature, dog toys, leash, collar and she was well taken care of. We would definitely recommend D& R to others looking to adopt a pet.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 28, 2013

more

February 28, 2013

I came in contact with Karen after looking for a new addition to ur family on Petfinder.com. D&R Rescue were very easy to work with. We already had a little doxie Ella and wanted to find her a playmate. I had already gone through the adoption process with a local doxie rescue and was waiting for that "perfect' little girl to be matched with. The other rescue always seemed to find some reason or another that an available pet wouldn't 'fit' in our home. I was starting to become disenheartened with rescue's until I spotted our Jenny on petfinder. Everything moved pretty quickly and smoothly once I contacted Karen of my interest in Jenny. I informed her we were already approved by another rescue,let her talk to our veterinarian and in no time at all we were setting up a time for our family( 4 kids and Ella) to go meet and hopefully bring Jenny home. We traveled 4 hours to go see Jenny and it was love at first site. Her foster mom Billie Jo answered lots of questions and was very helpful as well. After a few short hours, we were all packed up and ready to go home!! That was 1 1/2 years ago and things couldn't be better.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 25, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2013

I came across D & R Rescue when I was searching PetFinder for a dog. The information they included in the description, as well as the pictures they posted, led me to find a dog that I was interested in adopting. I emailed the listed email for an application, which was very easy to fill out. I sent it via email, and heard back the very same day. Once my application was approved, I was able to get in contact with the person fostering the dog. I called her, and she was very friendly and it was easy to set up a time to meet the dog. I drove to her house and met the dog and her husband. What a nice couple! We sat there at talked for about an hour, getting acquainted with the dog. It was love at first sight, so we signed the paperwork and left that evening with the dog. The rescue told me to take a few days to see how the dog and I worked together, and then I could email them if I was going to keep him or not. Of course I kept the dog, and emailed the rescue letting them know everything was great. I could not have had a better experience in adopting my dog. In fact, my parents are now looking to adopt a dog, and I have suggested they go through this rescue because my experience was nothing but positive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2013

more

February 25, 2013

I believe this rescue is very valuable and experienced. Just because a HUMAN made a mistake, it should have not lost its status. We all make mistakes now and then. People who do not make mistakes are dead. I adopted one of my little dogs from them. I got my adoption free, sponsored by Purina, since I am a senior.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers