Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.941185
Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review
March 20, 2014

more

March 20, 2014

Let me begin by saying I take my hat off to those who save lives and D&R Rescue is the best. My husband and I first met Karen 7 years ago when we adopted our first Doberman. I fell in love with the breed when my parents began showing Dobermans. When they retired from the ring, they decided to adopt and heard about Karen and the Rescue. Several years later they are on their fourth Doberman adoption making it a total of 5 successful, saved lives. Karen and the Rescue are very educated on the breed, making sure they are spayed/neutered, disposition and personality tested and thorough in their placement evaluation. Not to mention they all were identity micro-chipped, vetted making sure all wormed and vaccinated, supplied with collar, leash, toy, treats and healthy upon release. I wouldn't hesitate, in the least, referring anyone to Karen and this Rescue, for any adoption, not just a Doberman. Not only is the dog being saved, but in some circumstances so is the person. What more could you ask for in an adoption.
March 11, 2014

more

March 11, 2014

We had waited about six months before we were ready to start looking again for our new family members. We had a Beagle mix for seventeen years and she was going to be hard to replace. We spent several weeks looking on Petfinder.com before we found Petsmart was having a pet adoption weekend. We decided we wanted two puppies. We stopped by Petsmart and found two Jack Russell mix puppies that quickly stole our hearts. We didn't commit that Sunday, but we contacted D & R Rescue the next day and found one was still available but the other had been adopted. Karen had another puppy, a Springer Spaniel mix that was in a foster home that was available and we made arrangements to meet him and the Jack Russell mix again. Karen helped us through the adoption process, which couldn't have been simpler. When we stepped into the vet clinic, all of the paperwork had been completed, the puppies were ready with micro-chips, toys, food, training video, collars and new leashes. They had had been spayed and neutered. No item was forgotten. Karen has stayed in touch to find out how things are going. We couldn't be happier with our new family members. They have quickly adjusted to their new home and make us laugh daily! Thank you D & R !
March 8, 2014

more

March 8, 2014

We adopted a rescue dog from here at Christmas. She is everything Karen described har as and has been a great addition to our family. She came already microchipped and with collar, leash, bag of food, and more to get us started. We would definitely adopt from here again.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 8, 2014

more

March 8, 2014

I was looking to adopt my first puppy March 2006. Through PetFinder I found a litter of beagle/basset puppies rescued by D&R rescue. I made an appointment and drove out to visit Karen and meet the puppies. 9 week old Louie came home with me that day. He was perfect. Neutered, microchipped, first round of shots, collar/leash, and bag of goodies - all for a $100 donation fee. He is one my greatest blessings - I couldn't be more grateful to D&R Rescue for saving him! I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great rescue!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Volunteer my service - expand their capacity to help others!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 8, 2014

more

March 8, 2014

In April 2006, I was looking on Petfinder for my first dog ever. That is when I came across a picture of an adorable lab/corgi mix (Odie) that was rescued by D&R Rescue. I filled out the application so that I could meet the little guy. Karen was very thorough with the background check to ensure Odie found his fur-ever home. At the time, I was living in an apartment that did not allow dogs. Karen boarded Odie for a month after I adopted him so that I had time to get moved into my new home. She allowed me to pick Odie up every day and take him for walks and play with him during that month. She also answered all my "new mom" questions to help me prepare for the new experience of having a dog. When I was ready to bring Odie home, he had been microchipped, neutered, had his shots, had a new collar/leash, a bag of food, and a bath. Karen and her rescue took fantastic care of my baby boy, and I tell everyone in the area to check out her rescue if they are looking at adding to their family. I couldn't ask for a better experience. It is apparent that she truly cares about each dog she takes in and adopts out. I am truly grateful to have found Karen/D&R Rescue.
February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

I had been looking to adopt a dog for awhile when I found Boris on Petfinder. I filled out the application on a Saturday evening, and was approved in less than a week! Karen was in touch with me just about everyday on the status of my application; I was able to call and talk his foster mom to see if he was a good fit for me. Overall it was a great experience!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 24, 2014

more

January 24, 2014

In November of 2013 I found Elsa on Petfinder and she stole my heart. I emailed the rescue and received a response with an adoption application that night. After corresponding over email for several days, we made arrangements to meet so that I could pick up Elsa, sight unseen. Never having met her we were a little nervous but had been assured of her wonderful personality by both her foster home and rescue workers. She's been in our home for about two months and has changed our lives so much. She brings so much joy to my family's lives. Thank you so much for all the help with the adoption. We love our fubaby!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 20, 2014

more

January 20, 2014

My family adopted a little Yorkie Poo 2 months ago and we quickly agreed that we would like to adopt another dog so she had a companion... and we really liked the friendly Yorkie personality. I began to casually look around at rescue organizations where I found Boomer, who has been renamed Dierks. My vet had suggested looking for a male, slightly older than our puppy. Dierks was a perfect match. I contacted Karen with D & R Rescue Inc. and she quickly got back with me. Karen was extremely flexible with our meeting time, as it had to change due to poor weather conditions with little notice. Dierks was exactly as she had described him. He is extremely friendly, good around kids, good around animals, and has a gentle spirit. After being home for just a few hours, he had snuggled up with our puppy to take a nap together. He had a veterinarian's clean bill of health, his shots were current and he had just been neutered. Karen sent us home with a folder full of helpful information, treats, a toy and coupons to help get the additional supplies he would need. I woud highly recommend adopting through this organization. As a matter of fact, I have already passed on their information to others. Thank you Karen for answering all of our questions, educating us and saving Dierks! Love, Eric, Lisa, Madison, Mira, Izzy and Dierks

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 19, 2014

more

January 19, 2014

I had been casually watching Petfinder for a possible addition to our home and contacted Karen about one of her rescues. That dog had already been adopted, but Karen let me know of another dog that seemed to fit what I was looking for. Since I was looking for a dog with the energy for obedience and agility, I very much appreciated the trial period to see if the dog would be the right fit. Karen is very good at reading dogs and this Cairn terrier mix is just the right dog for us. Communication with Karen before and after the adoption was very good, even though this was a busy time of the year (December 2013).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a way to get D & R Rescue more grant money to continue their work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 11, 2014

more

January 11, 2014

I would like to congratulate the folks at D and R rescue for all the trouble and expense they went to
in their efforts to enable us to adopt our little rescue pup. This little puppy must have been in
an excellent foster home until all of the veterinary procedures were completed and she was
old enough to go to her permanent home. She was very well socialized to both adults and kids when we got her and also friendly to our maltese dog Marty and made friends with him right away. I was also impressed by the fact that the folks at D and R Rescue went to all this trouble to rescue and adopt out a pregnant maltese toy dog and her pups when they were born even though this is not one of the breeds they are dedicated to saving. These are good hearted people!



More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers