Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.949585
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I found our forever friend/new puppy while looking online on the shelter websites. I immediately emailed Karen because the description was of a puppy, who while in foster care was living with children, dogs and a cat. My husband and I have 4 children so getting a socialized puppy was very important to us. Karen immediately responded to my inquiry and we soon made plans for picking up our new puppy once she was spayed. I was very nervous adopting a pup without meeting her first. We live 3 hours away. However, I knew how dedicated Karen is to finding just the right home for her animals. With her knowing we have 4 kids I knew she wouldn't allow us to adopt a pup not suited for us. And wow is this true!! We are on day 2 with our precious chihuahua Pomeranian mix and she's amazing!! I couldn't be happier and we are all in love. Our puppy is well socialized, not skiddish, not rough or mean. She fits in perfectly with our family. Thank you Karen and D&R Rescue for our forever friend! I highly recommend this rescue regardless of your drive, it is so worth it!
Kristen Turner

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

My husband and I became first time indoor dog owners in 2012. We love our dog Josey so much, and decided we wanted another dog. We spent many hours looking on different websites looking for what we considered the perfect dog for us. Over the course of many months of reading, I realized that I wanted to adopt a rescue instead of buying from a breeder as we did with our first dog. Wow....it was very eye opening to read about puppy mills and something that I had never really thought about before. I am certain that any future dog we may own will be a rescue !

We found our perfect dog at D & R Rescue. Karen was absolutely wonderful, and answered my many, many questions regarding the puppy. Our puppy, Boomerang Sunshine "Boomer", was fostered by a family, and I can tell they took very good care of him. Boomer is the sweetest, most easy going boy. We could not be happier with him, or with our experience of adopting through D & R Rescue.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

We had been considering getting our son a dog for the past couple of years. We knew that we wanted to help an animal in need as opposed to dealing with a breeder or pet store, and my wife happened to find D and R Rescue online. We saw a picture of Max (a terrier mix puppy), and decided that he looked like the dog for us. My wife got in touch with Karen to discuss the adoption process, and she took us through every step and answered every question that we had. We arranged a date to pick up Max in Terre Haute, and everything went smoothly. Max had received good care with the foster family until it was time to come to our home. He had been neutered, micro-chipped, and partially house broken. Karen had copies of his medical records and all of the necessary forms for us to complete. Max even had a new leash & collar and some treats. While we were there, Karen was handling another adoption and arranging for the care of some baby raccoons as well. Her dedication to these animals is quite apparent and does not stop once the adoption is complete. She has promptly answered questions we have had since bringing Max home. We would definitely contact D and R Rescue again as well as recommend them to family and friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

In May 2014, we began searching for a puppy through Petfinder.com. following the unexpected death of our 8 year old dog, Daisy. We feel strongly about adopting rescue animals versus purchasing from a breeder. After several weeks of searching, we found Torrie's profile. I immediately contacted Karen at D & R. Karen was very prompt in returning my email inquiry and sent me more details about Torrie as well as the application. I was impressed with how thorough Karen was with the background check. I called my vet to let her know we were going to be adopting, and she said Karen had called to inquire about vaccinations, heart worm medication etc. Even though it was a holiday weekend, Karen sent me a return email letting me know that our adoption application had been approved. My son and I drove to Terra Haute from Rochester, Illinois the next weekend to pick up Torrie. When we arrived, we were greeted by Karen. Karen obviously loves what she does and truly cares about the animals that end up in her care. Torrie and her brother (also being adopted that day) were well-kept and in perfect health. Karen provided Torrie with a bag of food, treats, a leash and collar as well as booklets and articles on raising puppies. She also wanted us to know that if we changed our minds at any time, she would take Torrie back to ensure Torrie would be placed in the best home. I asked Karen how long she had been rescuing animals, and she said about 30 years! There have been many lucky animals over the years who have been blessed to meet Karen on their journey to their forever homes. Torrie (now named Maggie) brings us great joy everyday. We are thankful to Karen and D & R Rescue for all that they do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I'm raising my eight year old grandson, Daniel. We decided we wanted to adopt a puppy. We looked at several local shelters and spent a month looking online. Finally landed on the Petfinder
site and asked for a "mini-mutt" female puppy and up popped 3 sisters---toy fox terrier,Chi mix. Just
what we were looking for. So I e-mailed Karen and she very quickly responded. With patience and understanding Karen helped me thru the adoption process. And a few days later we met & took our precious "LIL SUZY" home. She's just adorable & so entertaining. Already having her spayed, shots & microchipped plus the bag of goodies is an added bonus. Thank you Karen and D&R Rescue, Jan Noble

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I am a college student who had been non-chalantly looking for a dog on various websites when I came across a Border Beagle that i fell in love with. unfortunately, he had a congenital lung defect and was put down. I was very upset about it, but was called and notified in person over the phone and consoled by Karen of this organization. Later on she emailed me with a litter of Springer/Beagle/Basset puppies asking if i was interested. I was, but i was very busy at the time and could not be certain that I would be able to come by to adopt one. Karen worked with me to find a time and when I finally met my new pal Charlie I fell in love with him. he had been treated so well and was so social and full of energy and absolutely adorable. It was a great deal as well, spending 150 dollars on him included the puppy himself, plus his being spayed, first round of shots, leash, collar, food, treats, reading material, and a lifetime membership to a microchip should he ever get lost. I could not be a bit happier with the business I did with D & R and would absolutely look here again should Charlie ever need a friend.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

We had searched for a rescue dog for several months with no luck. We came upon D&R Rescue, Inc. through Petfinder. I quickly emailed about Tink, and we received a quick reply. I had several more questions about the dog and emailed Karen a couple more times, each time I received a kind, quick, informative response. After completing a very thorough adoption questionnaire, we were approved to adopt our new family member! Karen was incredible! She was very informative and answered all of our questions. Bentley (formerly Tink) is adjusting well to our home and his big brother Bruno. Karen was thorough and professional through the entire process. You can tell she cares so much for her rescues. We couldn't be more pleased and will definitely recommend D & R Rescue to friends looking to add a dog to their family. Thanks again Karen for everything we are so very happy!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

We are very pleased with our new family member. Karen was so kind. In our initial contacts, she responded to emails immediately. Once we were approved, Karen knew we were driving long distance and was willing to wait while we experienced road construction delays. Upon arrival, she was very generous with supplies and information. Our puppy was both healthy and happy. He had already been neutered, was microchipped, and had some shots. Karen had taken great care of him. It's obvious that Karen cares. She made it a great experience. Thanks Karen!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 11, 2014

more

June 11, 2014

Thank you ever so much Karen with D and R Rescue. My Boston Terrier is the best buddy, he just wants to be loved. We couldn't be happier with the service and continuing service with questions, help in training and the follow ups. Karen set us up with everything Murphy needed and everything we needed, was very thourough. Although I already have a dog, we were all set up as if we never had one before. Thank you ever so much, will refer you to anyone I possibly can.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 4, 2014

more

June 4, 2014

I can not thank Karen and D & R rescue enough for helping us with adding a new family member. When making this decision we had so many questions. Karen took the time to respond to each of my questions and helped us in the process. I know Karen is passionate about what she does and dedicated to finding great homes for animals in need. I would highly recommend D & R to any one wanting to add a family member and wants someone knowledgeable and dedicated to talk to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

N/A

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers