Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
142 Reviews
1234.957755
Write A Review
January 15, 2015

more

January 15, 2015

Hello, I just wanted to say we just adopted an adorable dog from D & R rescue and we were very happy with the way it was handled. It's great to know how involved and particular they are in the adoption process. They care about the homes and people that are going to be adopting the animals. We know several couples who had adopted or rescued dogs from them, and I'm very pleased with the personal service we received.
January 13, 2015

more

January 13, 2015

D & R Rescue has been so helpful to us. I recently contacted D & R Rescue about a puppy they had taken in and after thorough review of our application we were accepted and we were able to pick up our little Lexi girl! I was happy to know that they really review the applications and really make sure that the dogs will go to a good home where they are taken care of and loved. D& R Rescue is 3 hours away from where we live but I was so pleased at the way things were done that were not hesitant to make the drive. I would definitely adopt from this rescue again! Karen has been so helpful. She went over all of the info with us that we will need in the weeks to come with our new rescue puppy and has kept in contact with responding so quickly to emails I have sent since. I love knowing that staying in touch with them was just as important to them as it was to our family. I would recommend this rescue to family and friends and if I lived closer would love to volunteer my time with them
December 25, 2014

more

December 25, 2014

Well, it's been 2 months since I brought my little Rottie home. I didn't think I was ever going to get back home. Here's how the day's events unfolded. The drive from my house to Terre Haute is every bit of 4 hours. About an hour away from my destination I pulled into a rest area to stretch my legs. When I went to start my vehicle, it wouldn't start. I spent the next hour asking everyone if they had jumper cables thinking it was the battery. Turned out it was the starter. Mind you, it's Sunday and now going on 4:00pm, no place open to get my vehicle fixed. I was due in Terra Haute by this time. I called Karen, the D & R Rescue contact and explained what was going on and that somehow I would make it there, just not sure when. Once the tow truck arrived, I called Karen back to let her know I was on my way. She recommended a place to have my vehicle dropped off so it could get fixed the next day and told me to have the tow truck driver drop me off at her place of work and she would meet me there and pick me up. She then told me that she would let me stay at her house that night. On top of that, she let me use her vehicle the next day while my vehicle was getting fixed, so I could take my new little guy to the park and get to know him. As a D & R Rescue representative Karen went above and beyond her responsibilities, for me, a complete stranger! I would highly recommend anyone looking to rescue a Rottweiler (or Doberman) to go through D & R Rescue first. I can't say enough good things about her or this organization.

--Michelle, proud mommy of Donar, my 4-legged baby
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

I was seeking a companion pup for my dog Sophie. While searching Pet Finder I came across Cooper. I contacted D & R Rescue regarding the possibility of adopting him. The application and adoption process was professional but straightforward. Karen was professional and wonderful to work with. She is very experienced and gave me some great suggestions on introducing a new pup into our home. She answered all of my questions prior to adopting and after. She also suggested some great dog training facilities in my area. She has a true love and passion for rescuing and making sure the rescues end up in the right forever homes. Sophie and Cooper are great pals and I'm so very happy and grateful we were the right forever home for Cooper.
December 20, 2014

more

December 20, 2014

I recently adopted Pluto, now Baxter, and was amazed at the quality of service! First off Karen responded to me within the hour with what more information she needed from me to get approved and within a day I had been approved! The next day I went and met Baxter and fell in love! I was looking for an Emotional Service Dog and Karen saw that Baxter would fit the profile and he did! He by far exceeded my expectations and I love him more than anything in the world! If you are looking for high quality, professional, and helpful people to adopt a dog from this is the place! I couldn't have asked for a better dog and am so glad I was able to get the help and support I needed from Karen to find him! I had been looking painfully for around a month and was getting very discouraged when I found him. He was well worth the wait!
December 18, 2014

more

December 18, 2014

I lost my dog, Keebler, on Sept 19, 2013 and didn't think I would ever be able to love another dog, but after some time and a lot of sadness, my sister-n-law convinced me to look for another dog. In May 14, 2014 I saw a photo of Buddy on Petfinder while I was searching for a Chihuahua mix from D & R Rescue, Inc. I contacted Karen and she responded immediately. Since Buddy was still a baby we had to wait a little while to get him, but Karen was always very kind and stayed in contact with me and answered any and all questions. The day I picked Buddy up, was the first time I had seen him, aside from his photo, but he was adorable and so loving and sweet. I was surprised that the adoption fee covered Buddy being neutered, microchipped, treats, dog food, collar & leash and much more. Karen is one of the most caring people I have met. She cares about the animals and the person adopting them. Thank you so much Karen for allowing us to adopt Buddy and bringing the joy and laughter back into our family. He is spoiled rotten and is living a great life now that wouldn't be possible without people like Karen and others who rescue these pets. So thank you once again Karen and D & R Rescue, Inc for choosing us for Buddy. We love him so very much!
December 18, 2014

more

December 18, 2014

We received Jax from D&R rescue and are very happy with the whole process. Karen White was great and I would recommend her and the rescue for anyone seeking a pet.
December 18, 2014

more

December 18, 2014

I recently adopted a puppy! Our desire for a puppy started a while back and we knew that we wanted a dog that would be able to work on the farm with us. We had been around some Australian shepherds before and decided that that was the bread we wanted. I started searching. I ended up on adoptapet.com and found our sweet Holly. The same day I contacted Karen about adopting her, I received an email back and began the adoption process. I was able to go and get her shortly after. She came up to date with vaccines, neutered and was very clean. Karen set us up with dog food, a collar and many helpful guidelines to bringing home a puppy. I am so in love with our baby! I highly recommend adopting from Doberman and Rottwiler Rescue!
December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

After searching for a dog on petfinder I found a little shih tzu that I was interested in. So I contacted D & R rescue. Karen notified me right away that the dog I was interested in had found another home but she suggested this other little dog named Scooby. She sent me pictures and described him as being playful and great with other dogs. Which is exactly what I was looking for being that I have two other dogs. After talking back and fourth for a couple days we were able to meet Scooby at a adoption event at Petsmart. I fell in love with him right on the spot. I was sure he would be a great fit for my family. So I adopted him! I kept in touch with Karen over the folloeong weeks to let her know how Scooby was doing with my other dogs. She answered any questions I had and educated me on many things! You can really tell that she is passionate about her job and finding forever homes for these dogs. I have recommended her to many friends who are looking to adopt. Thanks for helping me and my family find our newest fur baby ! We love him so much!

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 17, 2014

more

December 17, 2014

I adopted a cat from Karen at D&R Rescue and am very glad I got it there. Karen is very thorough - the welfare of the animal going forward and it's fit in the family is as important to her as getting an animal placed.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers