Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.913045
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am Stavriana, a Greek speaking Cypriot and together with my Turkish speaking Cypriot friend Melisa, we had the great opportunity to spend a month in America and be hosted by an amazing host family. The concept behind this was spending a month on neutral ground and share a room. Based on this idea a strong friendship was developed. We realised that what was connecting the youth of our country was far stronger than what was keeping us apart. Having the chance to explore America together with DiMicelli family was an amazing experience! The fact is that now I know that I have a family in America! Beyond that my family is now very close with Melisa's family and therefore I can say that CFP was really successful in all aspects! "WE ARE NOT FIGHTING EACH OTHER. WE ARE FIGHTING THE MASK OF THE DEVIL WE PAINTED ON EACH OTHER'S FACE"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Our Family hosted 2 young men from Cyprus this past July. We had a wonderful time showing them what American life is like and enjoyed taking care of them. We especially enjoyed having them cook with us and travel to several places together to "show them the sights. I have hosted other exchange type program is the past and this was by far the best experience we have had.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family hosted two fine young ladies from Cyprus and had a great cultural exchange. My favorite lesson was how we are all in this together. They brought their very strong local coffee as a gift. I asked about the coffee while we were enjoying it one morning. Gizem said "Maria calls it Greek coffee, we call it Turkish coffee, but it is the same."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My family had a great opportunity to host 2 great young ladies from Cyprus. It was great to be able share our time together and see the world and a different culture from two vibrant and smart young ladies. My kids really had fun with them and enjoyed hearing about a different country. I think the girls had a good time an enjoyed their American experience. I would definitely do it again. Bo D.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

I had the opportunity to be hosted by such a perfect family, Dimicelli family. It was an amazing opportunity for me to spend one month away from conflict in Cyprus with my Greek-Speaking Cypriot friend. We shared same room during one month. However, it is not just about sharing a room , we also shared our ideas, opinions, friendship and so on. Each day we found more chance to learn about each other to be able to build a sustainable friendship and peace between us. During one month in America, we attend workshops and also rope climbing activity with our other friends from Cyprus. I believe that this activities strengthen our trust to each other. I feel lucky that I had chance to attend this program; meet and make friendship with Greek-Speaking Cypriot friends. This program is not just going to America and spent one month with a Greek-Speaking Cypriot friend. Our families also met with each other in Cyprus, came together and spend time. From my experiences with my Greek-Speaking Cypriot friends, I can clearly see that we don’t have that much difference and our cultures are similar to each other. Why we shouldn’t united in a country divided…!!!! I highly recommend this program to everyone.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our family hosted a pair of teens this past summer. I will be honest that I had trepidation based on friends' experiences with visiting teens in other programs. My concerns were addressed beautifully by the Cyprus Friendship Program director and we took the leap of faith which resulted in one of the most enjoyable and meaningful experiences my family has ever had. The teens were amazing people who taught us so much and soaked up the American experience with great respect and enthusiasm. We stay in touch and I feel that they are a part of our family forever. This program is brilliantly conceived and thoughtfully executed. I know it will sustain and continue its success as it is truly a win-win on so many levels for all involved. Thank you to the founders , administrators and participants for this amazing program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We hosted 2 teens in 2010 and another pair in 2011. FANTASTIC experience for our family and for the visiting teens. We truly feel that our family has expanded & we keep in touch with all the teens. Coming from opposite sides of conflict in Cyprus, they learn about each other and work towards a future in which both sides come together in peace. Being a part of this process is humbling as we watched the teens learn about each other and their stories. Although we were unable to be a part of the program in 2012, we will certainly participate again in the future. For now we are immensely proud of "our girls" who are all at university, keep in touch with one another, and have plans to meet up again one day!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had a lovely experience this summer hosting 2 teens from the Cyprus Friendship Program (CFP). The teens participated in many program activities in Cyprus in the months prior to their visit to the US. They studied their nation's history, the issues leading up to the current Cypriot conflict, and types and methods of conflict resolution. They were thus ready to spend 4 weeks in (what is for them) neutral US territory, to build strong friendships with their pairs to take back to Cyprus and use as a foundation for future peace efforts in the island nation. The teens were smart, friendly, ready to try new things, meet new people, and have new experiences. They were thrilled to be in the US, and I was thrilled to show my country to them. It is quite an experience to see your country through someone else's eyes! The 12 teens in our region also got along well as a group, and we host families enjoyed having the kids together. When the group was ready to fly back to Cyprus, there were MANY tears at the airport! These wonderful kids will always be a part of our lives. I would encourage anyone to participate in the CFP.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My son had the opportunity last year to be hosted by an exceptional family in New Hampshire with a Turkish- speaking Cypriot. The two boys bonded over the month August and learned the values of peaceful co-existence and friendship. My son returned mature and capable of constructing a future without conflict. the program was very well organized and even though i was quite concerned with the idea of my child being away with some strangers for a month, he became close to the host family and gained a lot from their lifestyle.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Last July, we hosted two teen boys from opposing sides of a National conflict in Cyprus. My family was sad for the time to end. My children will forever be changed by the experience of hearing first hand about what it is like growing up in an a country that requires peacekeeping forces to prevent war. This coming from boys, the same age as my children, who had just a year or two before they were required to perform military duty for opposite sides of the conflict. Over family meals they shared their feelings of loss and regret, of hope, and of their dreams of the future that sounded almost identical. And when we said goodnight, they returned to their bedroom that they shared and talked some more. I like to think that alone they talked about the shared experience of being so far way from home, of the weird American customs our family had, of the thrill of learning baseball etc. The point being that I feel the brilliant design of the program worked to promote peace as it was intended to: starting the process of with teenagers who will be the future leaders of the their shared country.Watching the bond between these to boys grow, gave my family a sense of hope and the sense that in a small way we may have contributed to the larger task of world peace.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

talk to families about hosting Cypriot teens, participate in organizing a leadership workshop, take a pair of Cypriot teens on an outing....the possibilities are endless! Volunteer