Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Barbara Bush Library Friends has made it possible for the Spring community to enjoy numerous programs for adult, young adult and children. They are an asset for our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

I am a forever library user, and The Friends group at The Barbara Bush Library makes my library even better! New to texas, i joined the Friends' Board as away to meet new folkls. Volunteersman the Friends' bookstore, we provide funds for new ebooks, offers stimulating programs and social events all ages, and actively supports the summer reading program for the young people in the community. The Board is active, involved, and always looking for new faces and new ideas.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

This organization has been a part of my life since 1999. I have even involved my family in their activities. They provide things for the library the County cannot afford to supply. Libraries are an essential part of any community and this organization enhances their presence.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

The Friends supplement the County funding for this library, helping to make it a great asset for our community. The library provides print and electronic resources, popular classes, and programs for all ages from infants to seniors. This group has been called the "Rock Star" of Texas Friends groups.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

encourage even more people to become involved.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 5, 2013

more

October 5, 2013

Would be lost without our library. So much outreach to the public,children,adults,seniors alike. A real asset to our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase library hours.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

The Barbara Bush Harris County Library offers amazing services and exemplary creativity in serving the public. Much of this is made possible by the Cypress Creek Friends of the Library. This organization is a model for what it means to support literacy and learning in America.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would encourage more and more support for this organization so that they can expand their services even further. They are changing lives for young children through adults and seniors in exemplary ways.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

As a mature client with mobility issues I have found the library staff to be gracious, informed, and interested in my needs and requests. They have been particularly accommodating with my ipad usage of audio and ebooks.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

appreciate a street side book drop box. More handicapped parking spaces available are needed as the increased use of this facility.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 4, 2013

more


1 previous review
February 21, 2011

The first thing I did when I retired in 2006 was join the afternoon book club at the Barbara Bush branch and have read every book on our list and, except when I'm out of town, have attended the discu... more

October 4, 2013

This branch of the Harris County Library System is a resource this community cannot possibly do without. I have been a borrower and a member of one of its book clubs for the last seven years and just recently, became of member of the Friends board. To say I spend a lot of time here at the Barbara Bush branch, is an understatement but I'm not alone in that. It is one of the most heavily used branches in the system as evidenced by the number of books that pass in and out of circulation. Their children's programs are many and varied, from infants to elementary students. The community outreach is significant, with a considerable number of volunteers who assist the small staff that has survived the cutbacks. I'm constantly amazed at the countless hours Nancy Agafitei, our branch librarian works to efficiently oversee this library and all of its programs. Thanks, Nancy and your staff, for all you do!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add additional staff when funds become available.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 21, 2011

The first thing I did when I retired in 2006 was join the afternoon book club at the Barbara Bush branch and have read every book on our list and, except when I'm out of town, have attended the discussion every month. Nancy Agafitei, the branch librarian, is tireless in promoting the branch to the community and has made it one of the most active branches in the system. I also use the database for research in my work as a volunteer docent for the adjacent Pearl Fincher Museum of Fine Arts. My life without the Cypress Creek Barbara Bush branch library? Unthinkable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

growing to become the branch with the highest circulation in the system.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

keep it open on Sundays.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I found a notice of the upcoming book club discussion in the daily newspaper.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Fostered my love of books.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2013

more

October 4, 2013

I don't know that we would have the Barbara Bush Library without the Friends. They really pushed for the new library and now that it is built they really help keep it the best in the county. They support the library financially and with volunteer hours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more members!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 15, 2011

I have been a member of the BBLF for a number of years. I was an original donor when we built the new library and a user of the library since I moved to Spring 24 years ago. The library provides a won... more

August 21, 2013

I have been going to this library for the past 25 years. I love the new library! The staff are courteous and very helpful. I think the summer outreach program (that my kids participated in when young) is excellent. I fully support them financially when able and utilize both their hard copy book lending library and the e-book library. A great organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More e-books that are not romance novels.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 15, 2011

I have been a member of the BBLF for a number of years. I was an original donor when we built the new library and a user of the library since I moved to Spring 24 years ago. The library provides a wonderful service to those who cannot afford to buy books, to those of us who prefer to borrow books, for children's programs, and associated other programs for adults in our area. I have always found the librarians most helpful, regardless of what I need.
This library provides a wonderful public service to our community!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Children's reading programs, when my children were young; personally borrow on the order of 100 books a year; watched the services grow, since the new library was built; note the diversity of people who use this library in our community; appreciate the electronic services of the library, such as reserving books, notifications of due books, and the ability to renew on line. Also, since I work, I appreciate the evening and weekend hours.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am very satisfied with the library and its services. The one area where I notice high usage is onsite computers--so possibly more machines.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers