Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Baltimore is so lucky to have Cylburn, and Cylburn is lucky to be in Baltimore. Situated at the top of the ridge above the Jones Falls, Cylburn's 200+ acres of woodlands and horticultural areas are a destination for families, a place to bring visitors from out of town, a place to see some really cool trees and gardens, a place to walk your dog, or a place to walk quietly through the woods. Free parking, admission, lots of paved (accessible) and rustic trails through the woods--it is a great place whether you are looking for a half hour break, or an afternoon's adventure--about 2 minutes from the JFX.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More members to help support this special place.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Until three years ago I had not spent much time at Cylburn. Because of their many outdoor and art programs, I am now there often. I have also encouraged the involvement of other area organizations.
Not only is Cylburn a green oasis in Baltimore City, it is also becoming a cultural hub and
community gathering spot. The beauty of Cylburn has a calming and inspiring effect on all who go there, whether alone on a walk or for a program

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would renovate th mansion house and the nature center and plant more trees to add to the already fine collection.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cylburn Arboretum is a hidden gem located in the heart of Baltimore. It has miles of walking trails, places for children to explore, ride bikes and learn about nature. The grounds include not only many beautiful gardens, but also rare tree specimens. There are great nature camps, birding adventures, garden markets and various other ways for the community to learn.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

What an amazing facility! Visited for the first time in over 30 years a couple weeks ago and have already been back...and plan on going back again. Beautiful grounds, magnificent mansion, lovely brunches, and friendly, knowledgable volunteers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

light the pathways....very dark at night!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2013

more

October 28, 2013

Cylburn is a truly magical place! Such a haven in the middle of the city, with wonderful programs for children and adults.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more publicity. Being a best-kept secret is nice, but not as nice as being popular.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

I've been visiting Cylburn since I was a young girl. It has changed in stature and beauty thanks to its inspired artist/gardeners, and hard working trails volunteers, but remains serene and restful just as I found it 50 year ago. Visit, walk, be inspired!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013

more

October 21, 2013

Cylburn is my moment of zen! Whether you want gardening ideas, a peaceful respite or a place to walk in the woods, Cylburn has it right there in the heart of the City! Spend 5 minutes or spend the day....

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Cylburn Arboretum is a hidden gem in the Baltimore landscape. It is beautifully maintained, secluded and quiet, but 10 minutes away from the Inner Harbor. There's a great relationship between the Cylburn Association and Baltimore City so there's always something interesting going on from a horticultural or artistic perspective. The property is also available for private rental and it is a very popular spot for weddings, especially in the gardens in the Spring and Fall. The Vollmer Center is probably the "greenest" building in the city, with two green roofs, geothermal heating and cooling and a composting toilet system that is amazingly clean and super green! The park is dog friendly and kid friendly and the best place in the city to teach your children how to ride bikes. They have over 3 miles of both manicured and rustic trails, and the paved trails in the Arboretum proper (from the Vollmer Visitor Center and parking areas to Cylburn Mansion) are handicapped accessible. You will be blown away by how beautiful and nice the park is.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think that the Cylburn Association needs more volunteers to help with educational programming, gardening, providing tours of the property and the Mansion. More money is always nice, but there's nothing that a large group of diverse, dedicated volunteers can't accomplish!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

Clyburn Arboretum is a beautiful space to relax and enjoy all that nature has to offer. If you are a bird watcher, like to explore the many diverse trails, or visit the bird museum; this urban oasis is for you. It has been for me!!

Manami Brown

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 18, 2013

more

October 18, 2013

The work that the Association does to maintain and improve the beautify grounds of the Arboretum is a joy to all! The Arboretum serves many constituencies--from open space for neighboring communities, a place to take a walk in the city, learn about plants and trees, follow trails and birds--all of these wonderful experiences are available because of the good work the Association does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more members, more financial support....

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers