Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
32 Reviews
1234.93755
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
November 8, 2013

more

November 8, 2013

Dedicated to doing the will of God by serving those in need

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013

more

November 2, 2013

Cy-Hope is a great non-profit foundation and I am proud to volunteer with Foundry United Methodist Church to help out with this great organization. It helps so many children and their families which is very important in today's society. By helping children we are paving the way for our next generation! Love this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 16, 2013

more

October 16, 2013

Cy-Hope is in the "business" of bringing Hope to the children in Cy-Fair ISD. As a volunteer with this organization I have seen hope be restored in children's eyes, but more than that, I have seen hope resonate throughout the whole district....teachers, community leaders, adults, parents, business owners and children alike. I volunteer at one of the organization's Hope Centers. Cy-Hope has a trailer in a trailer park community within the district. Every week I go and spend time with the children in this community. We read together, play games, work on homework, learn basic life skills like cooking & sewing and basically share life together. These children are absolutely precious and so "hungry" for our time and love. I know we are making a difference in their young lives and they are most assuredly making a difference in mine. Cy-Hope also provides 7 tons of food a week to eligible students in the district through their back pack program. It is an amazing sight to see all of that food in their Jersey Village warehouse and an even more amazing sight to see all that food leave the warehouse through the many volunteers who take it to each participating school. Another wonderful program of Cy-Hopes is Dierker's Champs. Larry Dierker of the Astros was instrumental in founding this program and it's relational coaching concept. Because of Cy-Hope every coach in the CFISD attended a program on relational coaching. This program reminded our coaches to look beyond the "game" and see the positive impact they can have on our young men and women. They were inspired to develop in our children good character traits and positive attributes, not just develop athletes. This is just a few of the great things Cy-Hope does for our community. If you have a passion for kids and want to see Hope spread across a community and change lives for the better, then Cy-Hope is where you need to be.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

I volunteer as a Mentor to an elementary child through the Foundry Church Cy-Hope program. This is my third year and my blessings keep growing. It is important to make a difference in the lives of children, but they make the biggest difference in our lives. I spent 25 years in public education and I am glad to continue to serve the community and the children.
HD Steele

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Hope to find ways to get more people involved. There are never enough volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Cy-Hope has served the Cypress-Fairbanks ISD community for many years. I have served as school counselor for one of our elementary campuses for some time now and Cy-Hope has assisted our students in various ways. The backpack food assistance program has been the most influential. This program provides our students with a backpack filled with necessary food items assuring that our students have nutritious meals each weekend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would not change a thing about Cy-Hope. The resources and assistance they have provided to this community is needed and appreciated.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 13, 2013

more

October 13, 2013

Cy-Hope has been very generous to the Cy-Fair community. Each week during the school year they deliver 25 bags of food to the students at our middle school through the Back Pack Buddy Program. We are in our third year of receiving this service. Additionally, they have donated funds to help make it possible for students to take Advanced Placement Tests, after completing the course. These students have done well in the course, but cannot afford to pay the cost of the test. This is a gift that helps them currently, and in the future by allowing them to earn college credit. The staff at Cy-Hope is generous and caring - they always make us feel special by helping out our students.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am a member of The Foundry where the Cy Hope organization received its vision and birth through our wonderful, mission centered pastoral leadership. The congregation has been asked to give back to the needs of the Cy Fair community in which we are called to serve. As gifted church members, I believe the spirit of Jesus calls us to be his hands and feet in our community and Cy- Hope aligns itself with the great commission. It does this in a variety of ways. First, it feeds many low income families through the backpack program which partners with Cy Fair school district. Second, Cy Hope supports a trallier in a nearby Hispanic community which they provide various resources in that mobile home community. They also rent an apartment complex which serves mainly an African American and Hispanic community. They help provide snacks after school, homework tutoring, game playing and throw holiday parties to bring the community close together which gives them hope in their financial lack. Volunteers also mentor in several of the adopted Cy Fair schools in the area. Foundry encourages their VBS teens to get involved by cleaning these facilities, picking up trash and playing with the children during the summer. They also provide VBS experiences for these two adopted communities. At Andre Elementry they provide gifts and gift wrapping for the children and their families. They also help the schools with parties and fun days for the children. I personally have been involved in all the aboved mentioned activities. Cy Hope was gracious enough to let my daughters and I implement a basketball program for the youth at Longhorn Mobile Community. I cannot say enough good about the awesome work of this organization. Keeping children loved on and busy means a brighter future for all of us tomorrow. God Bless! Please don't hesitate to get involved if God is tugging at your heart strings.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I volunteered at Winfern after school program. The program is for latch-key kids who come home to an empty house (apartment). The leaders of the program have activities for the kids that teach them personal skills that they are not receiving from their family. It gives them organized activites such as:
cooking skills, art skills, outdoor activities, reading, drawing, etc.
The children seem to love the directors and just being at the facility. Among other things, the facility offers free back-to-school haircuts for these under privileged children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a larger outdoor facility for the kids. There is no playground equipment, backstops, soccar goals, etc.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I am a school counselor who has 50 students in the Backpack Buddy Program facilitated by Cy-Hope. Each week a wonderful Cy-Hope volunteer delivers food to our school and fills the backpacks with or without my assistance. Each volunteer (Jeanne or Linda) often encourages me to let them do it so I can take care of other assignments. I'm amazed that they have such a caring heart to extend their help to me. I feel truly blessed that my school is one of many participating schools and that so many of my students receive the weekend food. I am especially grateful that I received a call from Cy-Hope asking me to add a former student to my distribution list. The student is battling cancer and I feel honored that Cy-Hope enabled me to play a supporting role in the family's life. Thanks Cy-Hope and Foundry for your kindness and the hope you give to others. Audrey S.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase their budget so they can expand their outreadh and hire additional staff if needed.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

I have volunteered for Cy-Hope in many areas and each and every one is so vital to the Cy-Fair Area. I am amazed at how they continue to expand their services to reach as many people as possible within their boundaries. They are changing lives and making a positive impact on the community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Serve at 1 of our 2 Hope Centers, unload food from truck, deliver food to schools, work at celebrity golf classic, holiday market, gala, volunteer appreciation dinner and much more!, Volunteer