Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Write A Review
November 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 12, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My classmates and I travelled to Calhuitz, Guatemala with Curamericas Global in 2011. It was truly a mind-opening experience that I will keep with me forever. Andrew Herrera was an excellent leader both in preparing and guiding us. I highly recommend Curamericas. The experience would not have been the same without them.
October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went to Guatemala with CurAmericas in August 2014 and it was a phenomenal experience. The trip was well planned and implemented, coordinated by two wonderful coordinators, Jane and Barbara. It was a wonderful opportunity to learn how non-profits operate in different countries. I really love the work CurAmericas does because it is culturally sensitive and leaves planning and implementation to individuals who know the community best. I love how CurAmericas empowers people in different countries to bring about sustainable change.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered on three different trips with Curamericas over the years, all to Bolivia. I have found each to be more exhilarating than the last. The organization has done incredible work in Bolivia since it's founding, saving thousands of lives. It is clear that Cuamericas is cherished in Bolivia, and the organization cherishes the people of Bolivia. They make each volunteer feel special and engaged throughout the experience, and to really see first hand the good they are doing there. I look forward to my next opportunity to serve with Cuamericas.
October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I completed an internship with Curamericas Global lasting two semesters of my graduate program in 2012-13. As an International Relations Master's Candidate, I was encouraged to choose a specialization based on my interests and subsequent coursework. My experience with Curamericas was essential in establishing my specialization in Global Public Health. I was afforded an opportunity to work hands-on with grant research, drafting, and subsequent monitoring and evaluation for programs in Liberia and Guatemala. The staff was supportive and provided constructive criticism which I still find helpful during my current full-time position at an international non-profit. The community-based impact-oriented approach to care and project development, and the great value placed on sustainability are two principals Curamericas reinforced in me, which are now a fundamental part of my own ideology. All-around, it was a great experience working at this non-profit!
October 29, 2014

more

October 29, 2014

My trip to Calhuitz, Guatemala with Curamericas in August 2014 was undoubtedly one of the best volunteer experiences I've ever had. The organization works with - rather than against - its beneficiary population to promote sustainable development, a far cry from the model followed by most NGOs. As a volunteer, Curamericas allowed me to observe and experience the realities of healthcare and development in the developing world, while simultaneously providing a program in fun, informative, and unforgettable cultural immersion.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

My fellow classmates and I went to the Curamericas Global site in Calhuitz, Guatemala in 2011 and I still hold that experience very dear to my heart. Curamericas Global is such a fantastic nonprofit organization that not only helps you give back but also helps you every step of the way from organizing your trip to interacting with the natives to ensuring your safety to enjoying your days in a new country. Through Curamericas Global, we learned about the different ways to help the kids and adults in Calhuitz as well as enjoy the Guatemalan beauty that we were constantly surrounded by. We had hands on experience with the babies by weighing them and giving them medical shots as well as help build part of a hospital for women, Casa de Materna. We also had the privilege to have such a passionate, lively, and dedicated person of service like Andrew Herrera to guide, protect and mentor us throughout our trip in Guatemala. Curamericas Global educates people of the healthcare in other countries and strives to improve it in areas like Guatemala, Bolivia and Haiti. I am so thankful I got to be a part of Curamericas Global and this organization gave me an experience that I still happily reflect on to this day.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

I went to Bolivia with Curamericas in 2013. I was amazed to see how their programs empowered community members, especially women, to make real change at the local level, bettering conditions for themselves, their children, and future generations. There was so much respect and love showing the profound relationship with the community Curamericas has. This experience is actually what inspired me to seek a master degree in social work and public health.
October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

You can find no better group to work with than Curamericas Global. I went on a trip with them in the summer of 2012 to their site in Calhuitz, Guatemala. We worked with Mr. Andrew Herrera, whose heart for service and dedication to Curamericas brought the trip to life. With emphasis on sustainability and immersion into native cultures, this nonprofit's work truly is beneficial on a global scale. Everything was professional, from the original details about planning the trip all the way through our days in Guatemala too. I could not recommend this organization more highly!
October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

As a former intern for Curamericas Global, I had the privilege of working alongside individuals who are passionate about improving the lives of women and children across the globe. What makes Curamericas unique is their use of the community-based, impact-oriented methodology. This empowers local indigenous communities and allows them to partner with existing health organizations, ensuring the success and, most importantly, the sustainability of their programs.

After my semester-long internship, I was able to see Curamericas’ work firsthand at one of their project sites in Guatemala in June, 2014. Witnessing the impact CG’s efforts on the local Mayan community was overwhelming. Before Curamericas came to Calhuitz, we were told that the Mayan women’s greatest fear was surviving their pregnancy. Curamericas Global has eliminated that fear. Because of Curamericas, women are not dying in childbirth, babies are surviving, and communities now have hope.
October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Originally I took my son with me on a Curamericas volunteer trip to Bolivia in 1999. We traveled again on another volunteer team a few years later. I now volunteer in the office. The volunteer trips were life changing for both my son and I! We got to see how other people live and got to witness the effects of primary healthcare. Curamericas combines a volunteer experience with results-based intervention for primary health care. The volunteer experience builds compassion and understanding of others in the volunteers. The primary health care intervention builds skills in the target community that save lives. I love this nonprofit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers