Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
6 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I have been faithfully volunteering at the CSRA Human Society for over a year. The organization's heart and soul is focused on the well-being of its animals. For a cause that functions with limited resources, the CSRA Humane Society spares nothing to ensure that the animals are healthy and well cared for. I love my fellow volunteers, but the animals are what keep me coming back and committed to the cause. The single most humbling experience I have had in my life was earning the trust of one of our horribly abused dogs. After repeated interaction, our relationship progressed in baby step increments. Now, he whimpers when he sees me and rolls on his back and then licks my face. I tear up every time that I get to hang out with him. I wish he could speak english. I would love to ask him why me of all people is someone that he could love after the horrific treatment that he endured at the hand of another human being. The CSRA Human Society's commitment to loving their animals unconditionally and refusing to make euthanasia an option is an incredibly honorable and worthy cause. Please help them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

CSRA Humane Society is a wonderful organization. It is a no-kill shelter that strives to find the right home for their dogs and cats. We have adopted 1 of our fuzzy children from them and have been impressed with the passion and compassion of the staff. We went to look for a puppy not just for ourselves but to keep our other dogs company as well. When we went there the staff was extremely friendly. Although at first we went just to look we ended up finding an adorable puppy that we fell in love with. The youngster has made our older dogs young again. I really appreciated the time the staff members took to talk to me in person and on the phone about the guy we adopted. Not only is the staff helpful but they are knowledagble and have a genuine love for what they do. CSRA Humane Society is one of the nicest shelters that I have dealt with. The volunteers and workers always have a smile on their face while the animals seem happy, healthy and content!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012

more

October 20, 2012

Little did I know 8 years ago when I adopted a dog from the CSRA Humane Society the impact that would have on my family. Over those years, we adopted two more dogs, one of which came, again, from the CSRA Humane Society. I kept in touch with the adoption counselor and learned that my most recent addition's brother had been returned, and once again was waiting for his forever home. This pulled on my heart, and I decided then to begin volunteering by walking dogs and socializing with pets. Within a short time, my role changed into dog adoption counselor, and I was able to experience the joy that goes with finding a dog his or her new family and home. Imagine my happiness the day I found my pup's brother his new home. It was an exhilirating day. The shelter, though, has its shortcomings. We lease an old jail from the city. The maintenance costs and heating/cooling are high because of its age, and since it wasn't designed as a kennel for animals, there are challenges. Regardless, the volunteers and staff at the CSRA Humane Society do the best with what they have, caring for over 250 dogs and cats day in and day out, providing them with food & housing, exceptional veterinary care (thanks to the wonderful veterinarians in the area that work with us) including vaccinations, heartworm testing and, if necessary, treatment, spays and neuters, and surgeries if needed. Our staff and volunteers also spend hours and hours socializing with our pets, making sure that they have the skills they need to transition into a home environment with a special family. Our facility runs entirely on donations...we receive no funding from the city, the county or any government entity. Our Board and volunteers are very creative, hosting an annual Pet-A-Fair, putting together rummage sales, collecting shoes that are sent to 3rd world countries, and selling flowers and Christmas wreaths. They embrace any opportunity there is to spread the word about our facility and to encourage others to be a part of what we do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have volunteered at the CSRA Humane Society for over 7 years now. My two boys and I started volunteering because I wanted them to know what it meant to give back to the community. My oldest boy will graduate from college this year and comes back to volunteer at the shelter when he can. My youngest boy and I still volunteer. My niece is the one who initially brought the idea to us when she said this was the only organization that will let children volunteer as long as a parent is with them. We love working with the animals and the other volunteers who give of their time. Besides interacting with the animals, we help with fund raising, maintenance, cleaning yards, painting, and anything that needs to be done at the shelter. I love to tell people about the shelter and all the animals we have for adoption. The shelter has become like our second home. I always tell people who are looking to adopt a pet to come and visit our animals. Rescue animals make the best pets. Each animal has a special place in my heart and I am so excited for them when they find their forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I have volunteered at the CSRA Humane Society for over seven years now. When my oldest daughter was in middle school, she decided that she wanted to work with animals and eventually study veterinary medicine. The CSRA Humane Society was the only organization that welcomed her, my other daughter, and me with open arms. We were immediately trained on the proper techniques of dog walking and animal socialization. My oldest daughter is now in college studying animal science.
Since we have been at the shelter, we have seen the number of volunteers grow tremendously. Volunteers not only walk the dogs and socialize with the animals but also help in fundraising activities and complete basic yard work and building maintenance. The dedicated volunteers can be found at the shelter during adoption hours and on special dog walking days. This no-kill shelter houses over 250 pets that are looking for their forever homes.
The shelter quickly became our second home. The other volunteers are like family to us. Each person volunteering at the shelter has a passion and love for animals. It is a pleasure to walk through the shelter doors. The love for the animals is evidenced by the dedication and care the volunteers show.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

more

February 3, 2011

I have been on the volunteer board of directors for the CSRA Humane Society for over 10 years. Continuing to be a volunteer is important to me to give back to the homeless pets in my community since I know they are homeless through no fault of their own.

Most Saturdays will find me at the
Pet Center, our no-kill shelter in which we house roughly 250 - 275 homeless cats and dogs on a daily basis. We have a small staff of part-time paid kennel workers, but Saturdays find a large number of volunteers at the shelter.

I have seen our volunteer base grow tremendously over the past few years, and we have a loyal group of dog walkers who come out in any weather to walk, socialize with, and groom our dogs. Consequently, we have been adopting out more dogs, including more adult dogs (instead of the usual demand for just puppies). Similarly, we have a dedicated group who volunteers to socialize, groom, and play with our cats. Many of our cats are much more socialiable now than they were before, due largely to the increased interactions with our volunteers. We can only hope that more adult cats will be adopted because of their increased socialization.

I look forward to many more years of volunteer service with the CSRA Humane Society because this is a group who stepped up to fill the need for a no-kill alternative in our community over 10 years ago.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

getting pets adopted from humane groups instead of through puppy-mill pet stores and increasing the awareness of volunteerism in young people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest that more people become members of the Society. Since we receive no tax dollars or funding from national humane groups, we need local financial support to continue providing a home for these great pets.

Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers