Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.86255
Write A Review
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I have been a volunteer at CRRC for eight years and have been an active volunteer in four different communities over the past twenty years. CRRC is the most compassionate and effective non-profit organization I have experienced. They not only serve the community but provide meaningful volunteer opportunities for over 100 volunteers. The organization provides food and finances to the less fortunate, meals on wheels to those unable to provide, durable medical equipment to those in need, recreation to all who come forth, programs for the elderly, and various other programs to meet the changing needs of our community. I am proud to be a small part of the outstanding organization.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

I am a volunteer at CRRC, but I find that I am in fact getting paid by the wonder of seeing exactly what it does, what it means to the truly needy in the Canyon Lake area. Numerous recipients have told me that ere it not for the food and/or assistance CRRC has given them their families would have been hungry all month, or their utilities would have been shut off. Others have expressed their appreciation for wheelchairs and medical equipment provided them at no cost. What has moved me the most has been the happy expressions on the face of toddlers and children at seeing the bags of groceries which they are taking home, because in some cases they have had to do with little or nothing to eat that day. I have also delivered Meals on Wheels to the elderly and/or infirm residents, and their blessings upon receiving the meals mean very much to me. CRRC is a caring, compassionate and efficient provider of desperately-needed food and services - and I am proud to be a small part of it.
September 19, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
February 10, 2011

As a volunteer at the Food Pantry, I see forst hand the operation and the performance of the staff and volunteers. What imoresses me the most is the absolute courtesy, kindness and respect the "clien... more

September 19, 2014

As a non-profit that serves the underprivileged members of the community, CRRC stands out for its kind, compassionate staff and volunteers who treat clients with the utmost in caring and respect. People who come to the Resource Center for food or financial assistance are always met and greeted by a smiling, welcoming and caring volunteer or a staff member who genuinely wants to listen, understand and provide the most complete and prompt service while guarding the "client's" privacy and dignity.
February 10, 2011

As a volunteer at the Food Pantry, I see forst hand the operation and the performance of the staff and volunteers. What imoresses me the most is the absolute courtesy, kindness and respect the "clients" are treated with from everybody. You would think these are "paying customers" the way everybody treats them. I wish to single out Ms. Maureen Schein the Resource Program Director. She greets everybody with a warm, sincere and welcoming smile. She is very patient. helpful and courteous to those who have difficulty communicating their needs to her. I am so blessed to be a part of this wonderful group of people and this organization whose mission is best described as "Doing God's Work"

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Volunteering at the Front Desk, the Food Pantry and the Meals on Wheels program.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a more aggressive fund raising program.

April 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
3 previous reviews - show all
October 7, 2013

I volunteer at the CRRC Crisis Food Pantry and find it to be a very rewarding experience knowing that I am supporting the community and helping others less fortunate than I. I am also proud to serve ... more

April 5, 2014

The CRRC of Canyon Lake provides a variety of valuable services to the community including crisis food, and limited financial assistance, meals on wheels, medical equipment loans, senior and youth recreational acitivities, social events, espeically North Pole Village, Thrift Store merchandise, and other forms of community support. The staff and complement of many volunteers are dedicated and giving. Improvements and efficiencies are continuous including a recently added pavillion that can be used for various team and outdoor events and an ongoing effort to automate crisis food pantry records and data.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 7, 2013

I volunteer at the CRRC Crisis Food Pantry and find it to be a very rewarding experience knowing that I am supporting the community and helping others less fortunate than I. I am also proud to serve with such a dedicated group of staff and other volunteers who provide such a vital service on such a limited budget. It has been a treat to see the facilities and activities offered by the CRRC grow over the years while the demand within the community has also increased.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Automate much of the existing paperwork, which is an initiative currently underway. Increase the salaries of CRRC staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 24, 2012

I currently volunteer at the Community Resource and Recreation Center (CRRC) Crisis Food Pantry in Canyon Lake, Texas. As such, I have seen, firsthand, how the services provided by the CRRC not only support so many people in need, but offer social and recreational activities to the community that would not otherwise be available. Even the fundraising activities such as the Thrift Store, Market Days, and North Pole Village offer valuable and enjoyable benefits to the local communities. The staff, volunteers, and board members constantly find ways to stretch dollars, improve services, and give freely of their time to make life better in the Canyon Lake area. Their enthusiasm and energy is abundant and obvious at every level and becomes contagious, helping to lift the spirits of everyone who becomes acquainted with, or relies upon the CRRC. The strides made by this organization over the last few years have been extraordinary and ensured a growing need will be met. I am proud to be a member of the CRRC family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 14, 2011

The CRRC Food Pantry provides a valuable service to the community and spread their resources to many needy families through generous contributions of money, food, donated items, and the personal time of a dedicated staff and several volunteers. Frequently, the support provided to these people is the only thing that stands between them and tragedy. All of Canyon Lake should be proud of this service and facilities.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

At the CRRC food pantry.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only encourage everyone in the communtiy to be aware of the service and contribute their time and money as they are able.

April 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 4, 2014

The food is not the only thing we bring to them. For many it may
be the only face they see that week and the only person they
get to speak with . Receiving God's love through another person
Is another food we all need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 20, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 20, 2013

I've given my time (approx. 330 hrs. +/- a year) for over 12 years now (not counting my direction of the Ch. Wld. Service CROPWalks (1/4 of proceeds goes to this and another foodpantry)--$3-4K worth for us). I have watched us go from 6 maximum folk/families helped a week for other than food/ a pantry which JUST had moved out of (literally) closet(suppplied w/ gov't cheese & whatevers plus a few canned goods)into a 10x20 room w/ shallow --think book---shelves to , NOW, that room plus another 10x20, with walk in freezer, 2 mega refrigerators, 3 stand up freezers, one 6-7 ft. chest freezers and incredible rack space for what is donated and what is bought from San Antonio Food Bank. WHAT A BIG TIE GROWTH (sustainable in this very-giving-because-we produce community who "supports us as we support the community" as our logo says.
That's my main passion, but I spend time @ the front desk on Mondays, lending durable medical equipment, helping folk with forms for emergency/crisis help w/ rent, electricity, propane, water bills and some pharmacy costs (we've just started a special new program for special needs that don't fall into those categories, but are sparked by the current econo/political situationS) I answer the phone and refer folk to our Seniors and our all-ages Recreacion Centers and programs, and help our Crises/Emergency Director with calls for information..... I was on the Board for 6+ years a while ago, and am SO glad to see the strength and depth and spread of the talents/gifts/efforts/imagination of the one that's active now! I also do the confidential filing (w/ local newspaper arrest records entries---it helps to know how folks assets are being spent!) since I'm 'bond-able' by background.
I guess you can tell I'm VERY SOLD on this agency...to the point that I've put them in my will, as well as high on my annual charitable gifts agenda.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

work towards getting us a new building to house the administrative/food pantry/medical lending/filing,etc. needs---approximately 150% to 200& of what we've had now for 30 years give or take.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
2 previous reviews - show all
February 13, 2012

working in our food bank over the past few years I have recognized an increase of hundreds of new clients needing our assistance. At the same time I realize the Food Bank is having to stretch its do... more

October 17, 2013

It is a pleasure to Volunteer at our local food pantry. My "co-workers" and I enjoy the friendship and assistance we recieve from our Director. We are frequently asked our opinions and thoughts regarding future development of our Pantry.

Our area has continually brought us more clients
each month. Which has, at times, caused us to need additional personnel to handle the deliveries and disbursements. The Volunteers work together to cover the additional loads.

Our Director assists us whenever we have to make changes in our schedule that affect our assigned work schedule.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

At this time, we could use more space, more for storage, and more for displaying. New refrigeration would be great. Additional office space would be nice to provide privacy for those needing financial assistance. Our A/C is also stressed, especially during the warmer parts of the year.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 13, 2012

working in our food bank over the past few years I have recognized an increase of hundreds of new clients needing our assistance. At the same time I realize the Food Bank is having to stretch its dollar to get the kind of food that was more easily avialable to use two years ago. I feel bad not being able to hand out the fresh produce, milk, eggs, and fruit that we use to have. But, our clients are always greatful. We have added free finance classes for the clients to help them use their resources more wisely. Our directors are ever diligent in providing the best that we can give on our limited budgeta.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 3, 2011

Working at the CRRC Food Bank is a delight. The Volunteer Staff as well as the Directors all join in helping those in our area that need our support and assistance. It is more than giving out food, clothing, and assistance with bills. It is the art of understanding and supporting our community members during difficult time. Our Director is developing a method of "individual Selection" when it comes to the food items. The Client will let us know what items "They do NOT need" allowing us to fill their baskets more appropriately, eleiminating foods they may not eat or want. saves money, time and prevents waste.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Each day I volunteer I see how greatful the client is to be recieving our donations. So many of them could not make it though the month if it were not for the local Food Bank.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

We are currently setting up the food shelves, placing a "white Board" listing the latest item. Allowing the client to tell us what they do not need. The Volunteers and the Directors have a good working relationship and any idea coming from either side is considered with the Client in mind.

October 8, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 8, 2013

I went to CRRC to ask if I could volunteer occasionally and talked to Maureen and she acted as if it were an imposition to sit there and give me information. I was very discouraged and left. I am retired with nothing to do, a large nice SUV and was looking forward to helping and left the building with a bad taste in my mouth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Unsure

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

CRRC touches so many people in the Canyon Lake area. We serve through the Food Pantry, Crisis Program, loaning durable medical equipment, financial counseling and providing job search aid. We have a Thrift Shop that allows our community to purchase goods at a very reasonable cost. And if that isn't enough - we have a terrific Community Center utilized by our community groups to play cards and dominoes. We have an Adult Center that caters to seniors who are young at heart, where meals are served, movies are shown, games are played and the seniors have a chance to interact with their neighbors. We sponsor a flu shot clinic. The children of Canyon Lake are certainly not left out - we have non-competitive sports teams, provide location for Scouts. We also have a huge gym that is used for Silver Sneakers and other exercise groups. We are currently building a large pavilion that will be used by the entire community. Our offerings to the community are almost endless and through it all the CRRC staff and volunteers are fantastic. I am very proud to be a volunteer and be associated with CRRC.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
October 7, 2013

I volunteer at the Canyon Lake Food Pantry once a week, with an occasional fill in. It has been such a good experience for me. I was new to the area and not working , and looking for something to give back to the community. I work with the nicest group of people ever, and we really make a difference in people's lives. Most everyone is so appreciative of what they recieve, and I have truly enjoyed being able to help others in this way. It's not only the food & assistance they receive, but a kind word from the staff or volunteers you can tell blesses many.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach an exercise class (or two); help with food distribution; assist with many various aspects of retail in our thrift store; deliver Meals on Wheels; teach budgeting classes.