Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.86255
Write A Review
April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

The CRRC Food Pantry and Thrift Shop are vitally important to the poor in Canyon Lake. Without these two organizations many people, and especially children, would be in terrible straits. Additionally, the activities at the Recreation Center and Senior Center bring the community together.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Truly cherish the time spent volunteering at the CRRC Food Bank! It's great helping those who need help as well as the growing relationships built with community oriented volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

Volunteering for CRRC has been a worthwhile experience for me this year. I began in January working in the Food Pantry with several other volunteers. There was so much to do besides filling the baskets with food for people in need. I loved being a part of such a well-run organization that helped so many people and will return in the fall.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I volunteer in the Book part of the shop. Those that do not sell after a perios of time and sorted and donated to various places to help with their expense of reading materials. It is better to recycle than destroy reading materials.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Great place to shop with good prices. I bought an older Singer sewing machine several years ago--older but in excellent condition. I still sew on it almost every day--What a buy ! Thanks CRRC

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 17, 2011

I'm an owner of a Curves franchise which does a food drive every year in our communities. We love our CRRC for it's wide variety of programs they offer from the seniors to the youth. They have als... more

February 26, 2012

As Curves approachs our 14th annual food drive we look forward to working with the CRRC food pantry. Each year we strive to do better as the needs of our community are always there and the CRRC Food Pantry works deligently to meet those needs. The staff at the CRRC provide vital servics to our community in many ways. Maureen Schein and the staff of voluteers continue provide our community with the help so many families need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 17, 2011

I'm an owner of a Curves franchise which does a food drive every year in our communities. We love our CRRC for it's wide variety of programs they offer from the seniors to the youth. They have also allowed me to teach fitness at the Rec center to promote a healthy lifestyle for all ages. The amount of work they do is remarkable with the help of volunteers. I was also lucky enough to attend a focus meeting that gave us all a view of the needs in our community and how we can help.
This year I hope to beat our numbers for the food drive. Our first year 2,008 we collected over 900lbs of grocery, the second year 2,009 we collected money and food totally over 1,800lbs. This year I'd like to see the numbers double as the needs have increased.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Sending people in need that don't know about all the programs they offer to the community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would change the location to a larger facility with more staffing to process all the deliveries.

February 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2012

My husband and I started volunteering for the meals on wheels program in 2010. Unfortunately we had to stop when he was diagnosed with cancer in May 2011. He is doing better and we anticipate returning in the near future. We did not know much about everything involved with the CRRC. But have learned that they do more for the community of Canyon Lake than we could have imagined. Not only do they provide the area for the meals on wheels volunteer delivery but also provide needy families with food pantry items and monetary assistance at times. Also available to the entire community is a thrift shop with numerous items of clothing, furniture and house hold items at very reasonable prices. The entire staff is wonderful and very caring.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

February 25, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
February 25, 2012

Being a volunteer at CRRC has had a profound effect on my life. But more importantly, I see the profound effect it has had on the lives of many other people. People whose life depends on CRRC just to make ends meet. Everyone who walks in the door is greeted with kindness, compassion and dignity by everyone involved. Whether it is the food pantry, the thrift store or the recreation center, everyone is treated the same and is always made to feel welcome. I have personally seen the gratitude on the faces of all who come there for help. I thank God for being a small part of it and this organization is in need of and deserving of any and all help they can possible receive.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 25, 2012

more

February 25, 2012

I'm so glad to get a chance to extol the kudos of CRRC in Sattler. I am an avid 'shopper' at the Thrift Store, which is not only "fun" to shop due to it's well-organized items, but the caliber of clothing, housewares and furniture is excellent. Also, I am a member of the Silver Sneakers and the facility at the Rec Center is outstanding - as well as the trainers. Many Seniors in this community would never be able to participate in an exercise program if it wasn't for this center. And... I also use the Senior Event Center - will have my 55th Anniversary Celebration there in April. There's so much more I could say about the CRRC, but space dictates.The people who actually 'run' this organization are the BEST!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2012

more

February 24, 2012

I started with, then CLAC, circa 2000, with a Hunger Walk (national) supporting food pantries....Since then I've been there most every Monday, filling grocery carts, lending durable medical equipment, helping folk fill out forms to receive help in crisis situations, stocking shelves and doing filing and arrest records (we like to have a whole picture...though we help as we can, because of or in spite of)......Here I am 12 years later committing many hours a month and with great joy in the delightful mix of people becoming friends as we work together.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach an exercise class (or two); help with food distribution; assist with many various aspects of retail in our thrift store; deliver Meals on Wheels; teach budgeting classes.