Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
15 Reviews
1234.933335
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've helped CJC in a number of capacities over the years & I have seen first hand how this organization really helps girls blossom with confidence. The kids really love the teachers and the class volunteers, but the thing that they benefit the most from, is the positive attention they receive in the classroom. As Jane Phillips likes to emphasize to the kids, love is the most important thing in the world, and these kids really take that message to heart.

Aside from the emotional support, knowing how to handle yourself in social situations, learning to write thank you notes and introducing oneself with a firm handshake are all necessary skills one needs throughout life and the girls are very interested in learning these skills. CJC isn't just about tea parties, it's about developing confidence & trust in oneself - the cornerstones of good self-esteem. I've been told by CJC graduates that Crown Jewel Club helped them feel that they could accomplish any goal they set - and that's what it's all about, isn't it?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer it to more schools.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

The Crown Jewel Club is an amazing program that provides young girls with the basic tools, necessary for success. The club teaches girls to embrace their individuality and to always have "confidence." I had such a great time volunteering. It's amazing to see how much the girls love and really look forward to the club. The CJC impacts all involved - such a great program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 15, 2013

more

April 15, 2013

Volunteering for the Crown Jewel Club has been so rewarding for me. Watching the transition of these young girls over the course of the weeks is amazing. They gain so much confidence, ability to socialize outside of their sphere of influence and gain skills which will stay with them for the rest of their lives. But most importantly, they learn to love themselves!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

I recently volunteered for the Crown Jewel Club a few weeks ago. The non-profit is set up in an inner city school where these girls would otherwise not be receiving this type of assitance. I walked away feeling like I really made an impact on a child's life and hopefully through the help of this club they are able to become strong ambitious women... who now have great manners! I can definitely see how empowering an effort like this can be to girls at such an early age. Great mission with a strong support system!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

Very cute and thoughtful non profit. I wish I would have had this opportunity as a young lade, not because I didn't have great mentors and excellent parents, but because kids just need to hear things 10 times before it sinks in sometimes. This approach is solid. The girls seemed to really embrace the art of class, being polished, and having general "home training" or "etiquette" skills that will carry them far in ife and allow them grace and encourage them to operate with a loving and open heart. Kudos to these ladies for taking the time to think of this and successfully execute on their dream and make such a big big difference in so many young ladies lives that would otherwise potentially never had had this opportunity. Cheers to The Crown Jewel Club.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I've volunteered for the Crown Jewel Club for 2 years. This is an orgnization with a great mission where lots of teenages benefit from the classes. The group is very well organized, each class has a theme, and girls go through a series classes and will be rewarded for learnings the skills. It's fun and meaningful nonprofit orgnization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have volunteered a few times at The Crown Jewel Club and every time I walk away feeling so good with what this organization is doing for young teenage girls! In days environment, it's so important that a young girl grows up to have proper manners in order to succeed in the workplace, in social setting and set good examples at home. The Crown Jewel Clubs teaches young ladies just this and I'm so proud to help and give my time when I can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

The Crown Jewel Club is a wonderful organization that makes you feel happy the minute you walk in. Not only are they building the young girls self-esteme and self confidence at such a young age, but they are truly making a community for the girls to feel part of for a lifetime. After only spending a little time with the organization, I could already tell that the love the organization had for the girls was genuine and the girls were truly empowered for life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

Crown Jewel Club is in so many ways such a simple program. A bunch of really neat caring people coming together to brighten and enhance the lives of 5th grade at-risk girls. Their methods seem so obvious to those of us who came from a more middle class background. Imagine a group of young girls getting so much out of a lesson on meeting new people, or how to set a table and use a knife & fork, or how to dream and make good choices not based on now, but on what you want for yourself in the future.

That is what Crown Jewel Club does and until you have experienced it for yourself, in the classroom, you can't imagine the difference it makes in their lives.

I'm so happy to say I have never regretted supporting this group financially or with my time, and believe me, when I was first told about CJC I didn't understand how at-risk girls could benefit from "a tea!" it is so much more than a tea!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

The Crown Jewel Club is an amazing organization that truly succeeds in their mission. They strive to give 5th grade girls the self esteem and self confidence they need to succeed in life. And that is exactly what they do. When you walk in the classroom on the first day these girls are shy and quiet. By the time the last session rolls around they are just dying to talk to you and show off everything they have learned. As a volunteer you are also encouraged to tell the girls how wonderful and special they are. When they leave the classroom the girls will often throw their arms around you and give you a big hug. Selfishly this is one of my favorite parts because everyone can use a hug. It is even more special because you are showing the girls how special they are and that the world is open to them if they are willing to try.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in the classroom, help prepare for the classroom, volunteer with the organization's marketing teams to help generate awareness. Volunteer