Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
8 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 20, 2012

more

July 20, 2012

I have worked with Crossing Barriers on the issue of the achievement gap in our community. CB works very collaboratively to identify and then begin to address the obstacles for students. They are also very persistent in achieving their goal. If resistance is found in implementing the plan, they are able to seek difference solutions always with the goal in mind.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 20, 2011

more

November 20, 2011

I volunteered for Crossing Barriers teaching a class to high school aged kids about leadership and community involvement at a community center/park. Crossing Barriers gave me an opportunity to get involved in my community that I otherwise would not have had. I learned a lot about how to effectively work with youth and the problems that youth encounter in their day-to-day lives during my time teaching the class.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

empowering youth. The class that i taught gave the youth information about how to work constructively in their communities, who represents them in their local government and gave them an opportunity to practice public speaking.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase its presence on college campuses to get more volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 27, 2011

more

October 27, 2011

I have been too many programs but Crossing Barriers had the most impact on me. It really made me feel a leader and see things in many different ways. I have gained so much knowledge through this program such as speaking in public, speaking out my voice, most importantly outreaching students in need. We engage students face to face; our goal is to make difference in our community, schools and much more. I am very happy that I was involved. The Wonderful thing about this program is that they train you to become a leader, and the make you do the work with the students. The mission of CB is to develop the leadership skills of youth and community member to improve education. So lets all please support and encourage them by given what you got, money, skills and knowledge.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I used to be very shy when I spoke in public and I never had meetings with St.Paul School board and other board in our community.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would love to bring in more issues and get as much students and community member involved. I would keep standing up for what is right just do my best to fix things.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

Outreach more and more and bring in more and more students.

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

Yes I have learned so many things, such us speaking in public, standing up for others and my self. Started to be more involved in school organization and other things in the community that was going on.

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

I felt very wonderful the fact that I was involved to make bring changes in my community and within schools.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 20, 2011

more

October 20, 2011

I am Student Leader At CrossingBarriers (CB). The reason I am involve with CB for 3 years is because i have never been a program like CB where they train the students to be the leaders in their community and work on any issues you want and actually see some result. I am usually use to sitting in a program while the elders preach the whole time. At CB I got to work on Bullying project that most Students in St. Paul school are facing today and they gave me a chance to lead the Youth Leadership Workshop. CB is one of great small Program that makes differences in youth life.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Trying to close the achievement gap in Eden Priory, train Students to be the leaders in their community and work on the issues they are facing and take some actions to get a result we are looking for.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make sure CrossingBarriers is a program that is located in every communities/ citied/states because it makes difference in youth life and it is really good program. But it is missing the support financially so once they get that i know it would happen.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

A volunteers for 3 hours can conduct outreach through our social media. Volunteer