Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.464295
| 1 2 3 4...12 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2014

more

July 20, 2014

I have volunteered with CCS in Cartago, Costa Rica twice now and absolutely loved it!! My first time I volunteered for four weeks and the second time for three weeks. The staff is so kind and when I came back for three weeks they made me feel just as welcome as the first time. The people in Costa Rica are so welcoming and happy, and I was glad to be there again. The activities they plan for us are so much fun and being there twice has really helped me learn more about the culture in Costa Rica. The staff is very hardworking and makes sure we are safe and comfortable at the HomeBase and at our site. I love volunteering with CCS and cannot wait to do it again! Thank you for another incredible learning experience, and for the ability to volunteer and help in a new situation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I volunteered through Cross Cultural Solutions, in Ghana for two weeks. I would highly suggest this program to anyone. CCS went above and beyond to make sure our safety and concerns were taken care of. The entire staff was extremely welcoming and hard workers. It felt like home :)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would usually be honest and tell what changes need to be made, but I couldn't think of any. I was that satisfied with this organization!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 19, 2014

more

July 19, 2014

I spent three weeks in India with CCS. India itself was so amazing, and the people are so compassionate. The CCS staff had far better service than my expectations. They do a great job of making sure that volunteers respect the local community. Also they really do make sure you need for nothing while you are there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more

July 16, 2014

I traveled to Lima, Peru with CCS for two weeks. It was the most amazing and eye-opening experience of my life. As a sixteen year old girl, getting onto a plane and traveling eight hours away from home can seem very daunting. Once I arrived in Peru, I felt welcome and safe. The in country staff were so welcoming and responsive. Our group of nine volunteers quickly became good friends and we all got fully immersed into the new culture. The school we volunteered with was for children five years old and younger. It was easy to communicate with the children even with a language barrier. My favorite part of every day was definitely attending the school and working with the children! After we volunteered, we had cultural learning activities. I loved hearing about Peru's history and learning about the devastating Shining Path. Spanish lessons were my favorite activity, but dance lessons were a big hit. Also, we went to a huge Incan market where you could find alpaca blankets, hats, socks, jackets, teddy bears, and everything else alpaca. We toured downtown Lima and visited exciting attractions like the Palacio de Gobierno. I've never learned so much about one country! The two weeks flew by too fast and it was very hard to say goodbye. I would go back in a heart beat and I definitely plan to volunteer with CCS in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have nothing to change!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 16, 2014

more


1 previous review
August 28, 2013

I had never travelled outside of the US and decided I wanted to before graduating college. CCS allowed me to make the journey safely and with plenty of help. The experience was beyond amazing and the ... more

July 16, 2014

I spent three weeks in Morocco with the CCS program and it was an amazing experience. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful making staying at the home base very comfortable. The home base is beautiful and in an excellent location in Rabat. Morocco is definitely a country with loads to see on weekend excursions and is absolutely gorgeous!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really like the way the program is set up so I don't have anything that I would want to change.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2013

I had never travelled outside of the US and decided I wanted to before graduating college. CCS allowed me to make the journey safely and with plenty of help. The experience was beyond amazing and the people working at the home base are all very friendly.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I spent 5 weeks in Bangkok, Thailand with CCS and it was an unbelievable experience. I loved every minute of being there. Right when I arrived to the home base, I immediately felt at home. My volunteer placement was exceptional and everyone was so welcoming and nice. The environment in Thailand and with the CCS organization was amazing. My experience was above and beyond my expectations. Would I do it again? In a heartbeat.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 14, 2014

more

July 14, 2014

I spent 4 weeks in Cartago, Costa Rica. It was probably the coolest and most rewarding thing I have ever done. The staff in Cartago were very helpful and very friendly--they always made sure I was comfortable at my placements and at the home base. I felt very safe at the home base and they could not have paired me with better placements. I feel it was the perfect way to be able to volunteer and experience the culture that Costa Rica has to offer.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 12, 2014

more

July 12, 2014

Had a very rewarding week in Guatemala with two of my young-adult grandchildren. Serving with them in a residence for handicapped orphans (many now in their teens and early 20s) taught me a lot about them and myself.

The CCS folks in Guatemala were warm and welcoming, home-base was
very comfortable, the food was really good and the cultural outings and discussions with the Country Director were informative and enjoyable. I would recommend a week or two there to anyone.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Extend the 'work-day' (i.e., time spent each day doing service).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

The Experience of a Lifetime (for the BUCKET LIST)!
Upon arriving in Rabat, Morocco, my experience of a lifetime began. We received a warm greeting from the Cross-Cultural Solutions (CCS) Moroccan Team as soon as we walked into the Rabat Airport. They knew exactly who we were and we knew
exactly who to look for because of all of the great pre-planning and communication that CCS facilitates prior to departure. I felt safe and secure from the moment I arrived and throughout my stay in Morocco.
When we arrived at the Home Base, we met all of the other volunteers. They included families, single professionals, seniors, teenagers and college students – wow what a diverse group of volunteers to get to know and work with over the next two weeks!
The CCS Country Director and his team provided a very comprehensive orientation session, covering topics ranging from how to hail a taxi to sharing insight into the history of the Moroccan people and culture. After a great discussion about our volunteer assignments, we were off to explore – wow the people are so friendly and patient as I practice my French and Arabic!
I volunteered at both the Women’s Center where I taught English as well as the Children’s Hospital where I was privileged to interact with Moms, Dads and of course the beautiful children – what an amazing and fulfilling experience!
The volunteer program is serious. The staff and children are dependent upon your being there every day. I truly felt like I was making a difference each and every day.
In addition to volunteering, each day we experienced a new and different part of Moroccan culture – cooking lessons, dance, the Medina, the Mausoleum of Mohammed V, Chellah, and the Royal Palace. Such a rich history to learn about – lots to see and learn about in Rabat! Every day we also had free, vacation time and there was a great deal to explore in Rabat. I went to the Riad and experienced a Moroccan Hammam, which is similar to a Turkish bath – what a treat!
We also had the opportunity to travel on the weekends to other cities and places throughout the country of Morocco. Marrakesh, Casablanca, Fez and my favorite, Merzouga where we rode camels and slept in Berber tents in the middle of the desert.
The CCS team was highly professional and knowledgeable. They taught us so much about their country, created an environment of fun and teamwork, and ensured that our needs were met. The food was simply delicious. We had amazing cooks for breakfast, lunch and dinner each and every day!
The CCS experience provides you with a unique opportunity to volunteer and make a real difference. It creates a unique opportunity for you to grow as a person and discover new talents! The CCS model provides you with an amazing opportunity to also vacation, learn and see so much of the country.
It was truly an experience of a lifetime and should be on everyone's "bucket" list!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

Going to Peru this summer with CCS was definitely one of the best decisions I've made. Preparing for the trip was made easy witht the help of staff who are very involved. Flying to a different country is a big deal but CCS helped and made it simple. I packed all the right things and the airport was seamless. The kindergarten we worked in was filled with happy kids who we fell in love with immediately. Helping them learn and grow is an experience I'll never forget. I learned a lot from them as well. This was a trip of a lifetime that I will never forget. I learned so much about the culture of Peru and the country's history. Everyday was a new exciting experience. I am so glad I spent 2 weeks of my summer working with these kids. This is a trip that everyone should experience!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers