Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
108 Reviews
1234.444445
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
September 20, 2014

more

September 20, 2014

I was in Kilimanjaro, Tanzania for 4 weeks.
I have read a few one-star reviews who have been addressing where the money CCS makes is going (which admittedly I know nothing about) and about the "lack of" volunteer work. On this last point, I just have to say that I completely disagree.
I
was located at the Magereza Nursery School in Moshi, and that is what I will always remember most about my time is Tanzania. I fell in love with the children and with teaching. Yes, it is true that you spend only 4 hours a day teaching (that's also how long their school day is...it is unreasonable to expect to be volunteering 10 hours a day at a school that only runs for 4 hours). BUT in those 4 hours, at least at my placement, you are teaching and interacting with these kids. I don't know why or how some people are saying that they feel they are not helping at all; the teachers at the school told us that having volunteers spikes school attendance by a ton, because the kids like the volunteers. The teachers don't speak very much English, or at least aren't very confident in their abilities, so having actual English-speakers helps a ton. You are given your own class, and come up with your own lessons. Even if you feel you are not teaching the kids anything, or they aren't grasping it, it makes A WORLD of a difference for you to just make them feel special and play with them and gain confidence. You get out of it what you put into it. But when you are playing with those kids, and making them smile. I don't know how in the world you could think you are not helping.
The school was a little understaffed my last week there, so not only did I feel I was helping the children, I felt extremely useful in helping with the cooking and cleaning as well.
I LOVED my time in Tanzania, and would recommend it to anyone and everyone. At CCS, the staff, meals, accommodations, transportation, etc. are all wonderful, but you can read others reviews about that. What really stands out to me is where I worked, and all of the kids there.
August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

Our family of four just completed 2 weeks in New Delhi with CCS. What an amazing experience for us all. The staff is exceptional in all ways. The food at the home base is outstanding as well as the accommodations. My daughter & I volunteered at the Vidya Creches preschool, My husband & other daughter volunteered at Mother Teresa Nirmal Hriday. We all had a fabulous experience and are glad that we made the decision to come. We also enjoyed all the cultural programs that went along with being here. It was a great way to learn more about the country & people.
August 17, 2014

more

August 17, 2014

My CCS adventure was in Lima, Peru for 3 weeks. I spent my time helping at a program for the elderly, where we danced, prepared meals and served them, did arts and crafts, harvested vegetables from the garden, visited them at their homes, and in general just spent time with them. Bonds were quickly made, and their welcoming, positive attitudes were contagious! No matter their situation, they are such a grateful group and always expressed their appreciation. During our weekends we had visited Ica/Huacachina for sand-boarding, Cuzco and Puno for Machu Picchu, and Lake Titikaka and the floating islands. CCS is a fantastic program that provides safety, security, special volunteer opportunities, classes and tours, and free time to immerse yourself in the culture.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 16, 2014

more

August 16, 2014

Our family of four, including 13- and 17-year old daughters, just returned from 2 weeks in Hohoe, Ghana. We had a fantastic time. The staff made us feel completely welcome and safe. Mother and daughters spent mornings teaching at a local school, while the father (a physician) went on rounds at the municipal hospital. In the afternoon we climbed several mountains, swam in waterfalls, visited a witch doctor, and immersed ourselves in the thriving commerce of our neighborhood and surrounding areas. Though we were worried about tropical illnesses, all of us stayed entirely well. One of our daughters has celiac disease and the cook at our home base, with only one brief mention about the issue, always took care to provide gluten-free options at every meal.
We had many amazing experiences and we all hope to return again someday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered two weeks this year in Rabat, Morocco. It was an incrediable and amzing journey. This was my second time volunteering through CCS and it made me realize all the reasons why I chose them. You are together with all the volunteers in one house(great for making new friends, and having someone to go out with at night and to travel on weekends with. Eight of us went to the Sahara Dessert together. It was unbelievable. Food and dafe water is provided for as is transportation to volunteer sites and unlike all others you see your country contact every weekday, Mohamed was there if we had any problem and quickly helped resolved any concern. I never felt more safe or comfortable. He and the rest of the staff tried to make us feel at home while sharing their culture with us. We had cooking lessons, language and cultural. We felt at ease to be able to ask anything, Morocco was beautiful my only regret is that I did not stay longer so I could of seen more of that beautiful country. Volunteering at the hospital working with children was so rewarding. I highly recommend this program and this location.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I spent 5 weeks volunteering with CCS in Dharamsala and having nothing but good things to say about the program and country! CCS not only offers endless opportunities to volunteer and offer your efforts to a culture who needs your help, but also creates a well rounded experience with numerous cultural lectures and outings and plenty of free time to travel and adventure on your own. I would highly recommend this program regardless of where you're looking to travel, what your previous experiences and qualifications are, or your age. Our house was home to volunteers ranging in age from 15 to 82, each one finding a purpose and motivation while they were there.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more volunteer reviews on their website, I wasn't fully convinced until I got there- CCS really is fantastic!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

I just returned from 5 weeks in Dharamsala, India. CCS truly allowed for me to have the life changing experience that I had. My volunteer work was at a daycare for children roughly 2-7, and I feel my work was very impactful. The staff were so great, the food was absolutely incredible, and the activities they had planned for the volunteers were spectacular. We had free time to venture to other places on the weekends and do our own exploring, and having an understanding of the culture from the program really allowed us to immerse ourselves. Incredible experience, recommend CCS to anyone!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

I spent four weeks in Dharamsala, India- what a colorful and inspiring culture. I've never felt so in touch with the environment and the people surrounding me. From the high peaks of the Himalayas to the small family I became part of at home base, I was in awe of how happy and at peace I felt in India. A memory I will treasure will be of the beautiful drive to Manali passing back and forth across rivers and winding narrow roads high up above the valley. It was breathtaking and a truly spiritual experience. Mama Earth, how spectacular you are! My work was volunteering in a daycare for children ages 2-10. For my first time with kids, I learned much about our basic human nature watching them play together and doing arts and language activities together. Kids are kids! They ask only for your love and to do the Hokey Pokey.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 3, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just returned from spending two weeks in Rabat, Morocco. The experience was life changing! I volunteered at a Children's Hospital playing with sick kids mostly through arts and crafts. The hospital really depends on volunteers to help with entertaining the kids and to help them forget about being sick for a few hours. The house staff in Morocco were simply amazing and really tried to make sure each volunteer was comfortable. Mohamed, the CCS country director, is such a caring, warm person and really is concerned for the safety and well being of all volunteers. The home base is located in an extremely safe neighborhood of Rabat with cafes and parks all within walking distance. The cultural activities organized by the CCS staff were very informative and educational. If anyone is thinking about volunteering abroad and does not have the ability to commit over two years to the Peace Corps, I would wholeheartedly recommend giving back through CCS. It will certainly be an experience you will not forget!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2014

more

July 30, 2014

I was in Bangkok for three weeks. The CCS staff was local, well-informed, and totally awesome. They consistently went out of their way to make the experience for the volunteers as rich as possible. I still can't believe all the activities we participated in, and even better was the volunteering part. I loved teaching at the school (even though I am not a teacher), and I want to go back and do some more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers