Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
127 Reviews
1234.503945
Write A Review
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I was fortunate enough to experience Lima, Peru for 3 weeks with Cross-Cultural Solutions. The team and the volunteers at the placement were so welcoming and frankly all amazing people. I worked at both the school and the senior center. Both experiences were amazing and left me with memories I will carry forever. I learned so much from the short time I was there from the people I met, the rich culture and the beautiful surroundings. Lima is now my new favorite place in this world and I plan on returning as soon as possible. Thanks CCS! I highly reccomend this company for anyone who is interested in international volunteering.
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I volunteered at CCS India Dharamsala this summer during the month of July. Every portion of the volunteer experience, from my placement to the cultural events planned were extremely well executed. As a special education teacher, although a position was not promised, the crew in Dharamsala worked hard to make sure that my volunteer experience would align with my training. I hope to be able to volunteer with CCS again, as many of the volunteers who I worked with this summer were on their second or third trip and it seems that all the locations are as well run as India.
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I volunteered in New Delhi, India for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it. My placement was eye-opening and inspiring all at the same time. The social workers and teachers at the placement were supportive and so pleasant to work with. But most of all, it was the children that grabbed my heart and will remain unforgettable. I learned so much in such a short period of time , that no text-book or course can ever provide. Hands on experience, meeting and engaging with the people and the culture, is truly the greatest way of growing , learning, and expanding as a person. The change within you will only be felt and noticed once you return home to your routine life . It'll hit you and wow you simultaneously. No other travel experience has enriched me as the one I completed with cross-cultural solutions. I am still glowing from my adventure 3 weeks later...... !! :)
February 8, 2015

more

February 8, 2015

I volunteered in Lima, Peru for 2 weeks. I met some amazing people and sharing a house with them was always eventful! It was a great experience, the food was delicious every meal and we were allowed the independence I expected to wander off on our own during free time to explore. I was at Inabif working with the children, (I definitely recommend the older kids) they were so appreciative and excited to learn from us, especially listen to our English. The language barrier was difficult but I managed fine with my high school experience! Kique, our house manager was awesome. I'm definitely looking into other locations for the future. Thanks!!
February 2, 2015

more

February 2, 2015

My husband and I just completed a 2 week volunteer assignment with CCS at San Rafael Adult Day Care and Nursing Home. What an incredible opportunity. Sandra and Lorena provide an amazing opportunity for the people coming to the center.
The CCS crew at the CCS Home Base were amazing. They
provided us with help, activities, learning opportunities, etc. What an amazing, fun, caring staff. They made us feel so at home.
The adults that we got to work with at the Day Care were so appreciative as was the staff at the placement. It was so exciting to see their eyes light up every morning when we arrived. I will not forget these special people.
I plan to volunteer in Cartago again.
I would recommend this opportunity to everyone. It changed how I look at volunteering and being immersed in a different culture.
January 28, 2015

more

January 28, 2015

I WENT TO CAPE TOWN SOUTH AFRICA FOR 2 WEEKS IN AUGUST. THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE OUT OF THE COUNTRY. AND LET ME SAY IT WAS ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. I'D DO IT AGAIN. EVERYONE WITHIN THE PROGRAM, FROM THE STAFF IN THE US TO THE STAFF IN COUNTRY. IT WAS AMAZING. THEY COMPLETELY MET ALL MY NEEDS. CCS IS NOT ONLY THERE TO HELP YOU VOLUNTEER, BUT TRULY GET TO KNOW THE COUNTRY YOUR VOLUNTEERING IN. THEY IMMERSE YOU IN THE CULTURE. THE LOVE I FELT FROM EACH AND EVERYONE OF THE STAFF MADE ME FEEL RIGHT AT HOME. THE OTHER VOLUNTEERS WERE THE BEST. IT WAS TRULY LIKE A FAMILY. I AM CURRENTLY TRYING TO BECOME AN AMBASSADOR FOR CCS. ALSO I AM PLANNING ANOTHER TRIP TO VOLUNTEER IN THAILAND!!
January 24, 2015

more

January 24, 2015

I volunteered in Lima, Peru for three weeks and I have to say it was the best three weeks Ive ever experienced. The signing up through CCS was sketchy at first, BUT my coordinator kept me updated with all of my paperwork and payments. This program is perfect for a first time traveler. I 100% reccommend this to anyone who wants a great volunteer experience and a taste of a new country. CCS is worth every penny and the memories will last a lifetime.
January 18, 2015

more

January 18, 2015

I volunteered in Costa Rica with Cross Cultural Solutions and it changed my life. When I signed up, I was nervous because I had never gone on a service trip before, or had been to Central America. I signed up not knowing really what to expect but when I got there, it immediately felt like home. Cartago was so amazing and the people were so friendly, especially the CCS crew! I will never forget my volunteer placement. The children that I got to work with will forever hold a place in my heart. It was one of the most amazing experiences of my life and I never expected it would have such an affect on me. I would recommend volunteering in Cartago with CCS to ANYONE! It was incredible and I plan to go back someday.
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

I just returned from 3 weeks in Lima Peru. My trip was incredible and so rewarding. The CCS Lima staff was amazing and they all took such good care of me. I volunteered in a daycare program for underprivileged children called INIBIF and I could not have asked for a better placement. I also spent a day at Los Martincitos, a similar program for the elderly, and It was a wonderful experience as well. The people in Peru are so welcoming and thankful and all of the placements desperately need more volunteers. I would recommend CCS Lima to anybody and they really need your help! I hope to go back soon!
December 1, 2014

more

December 1, 2014

I went for 2 weeks to Tanzania to volunteer and now I wish I had gone for longer. I had the most experience ever! In the 2 weeks I was there working at Best Hope Learning Centre, I was able to get my own class of 45 teenagers in the morning and teach them math. During the break, I would play with the kids and teach them new games like Red Rover or Duck Duck Goose. After break, I had a class of 30 kiddies (ages 3 to 6) and taught them English, Math, Art and how to read Swahili. Those kids were so kind, happy and it was truly a humbling experience. The program was great because the staff were so helpful and were always around if you needed something. The program was also set up so that every day there was an education experience of some sort to help you acclimate to the culture. The list included Swahili Classes, a doctor giving a health talk, batiking lessons, non-profit educating us on Female Genital Mutilation, making our own coffee, learning about the Chagga caves and the history behind it, visiting a local dance and acrobatic school, and visiting an orphanage. Keep in mind that even though school ends at 1 in Tanzania, your days are still long. I woke up around 5:30, got ready, ate breakfast, walked to work and then taught from 8 to 1. Then I walked back, ate lunch and did the cultural activities until 6, ate dinner and then graded homework, prepared assignments and worked on ARTS and Crafts for the kids to do the next day. Before you know it, its 10PM at night. The real scoring I would give is 4.5 but since I couldn't give half a start I did 4. My only recommendation would be to have more snacks or less time apart from meals. 6 hours apart for each meal was the hardest part for me but again, 1st world problem that you can get past. I hope this review helps. I would definitely go back because it was definitely a two way learning environment. I am forever grateful for my experience.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers