Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
119 Reviews
1234.478995
Write A Review
December 2, 2014

more

December 2, 2014

I just returned from 3 weeks in Lima Peru. My trip was incredible and so rewarding. The CCS Lima staff was amazing and they all took such good care of me. I volunteered in a daycare program for underprivileged children called INIBIF and I could not have asked for a better placement. I also spent a day at Los Martincitos, a similar program for the elderly, and It was a wonderful experience as well. The people in Peru are so welcoming and thankful and all of the placements desperately need more volunteers. I would recommend CCS Lima to anybody and they really need your help! I hope to go back soon!
December 1, 2014

more

December 1, 2014

I went for 2 weeks to Tanzania to volunteer and now I wish I had gone for longer. I had the most experience ever! In the 2 weeks I was there working at Best Hope Learning Centre, I was able to get my own class of 45 teenagers in the morning and teach them math. During the break, I would play with the kids and teach them new games like Red Rover or Duck Duck Goose. After break, I had a class of 30 kiddies (ages 3 to 6) and taught them English, Math, Art and how to read Swahili. Those kids were so kind, happy and it was truly a humbling experience. The program was great because the staff were so helpful and were always around if you needed something. The program was also set up so that every day there was an education experience of some sort to help you acclimate to the culture. The list included Swahili Classes, a doctor giving a health talk, batiking lessons, non-profit educating us on Female Genital Mutilation, making our own coffee, learning about the Chagga caves and the history behind it, visiting a local dance and acrobatic school, and visiting an orphanage. Keep in mind that even though school ends at 1 in Tanzania, your days are still long. I woke up around 5:30, got ready, ate breakfast, walked to work and then taught from 8 to 1. Then I walked back, ate lunch and did the cultural activities until 6, ate dinner and then graded homework, prepared assignments and worked on ARTS and Crafts for the kids to do the next day. Before you know it, its 10PM at night. The real scoring I would give is 4.5 but since I couldn't give half a start I did 4. My only recommendation would be to have more snacks or less time apart from meals. 6 hours apart for each meal was the hardest part for me but again, 1st world problem that you can get past. I hope this review helps. I would definitely go back because it was definitely a two way learning environment. I am forever grateful for my experience.
November 11, 2014

more

November 11, 2014

I spent 2 weeks in Peru with my daughter . We both had an amazing time. The staff was very helpful and courteous and the food was delicious. We felt safe and It was fun to learn the culture and meet new people. We worked with small children at INABIF, they were always so happy too see us. I miss them.
November 10, 2014

more

November 10, 2014

The week spent in Costa Rica was completely rewarding. The CCS team made the week efficient and impactful. They took care of everything which allowed us to maximize our time with the kids and helping with repairs.
The attention the kids received by our group at the Pueblito orphanage was
appreciated by them. You could see the excitement of our arrival and the hardest part was saying goodbye. The CCS staff helped us understand the local culture and history and they are truly an incredible staff.
November 9, 2014

more

November 9, 2014

I just returned from volunteering 3 weeks with CCS in Morocco. I am a very well-traveled individual with more than 80 countries that have been checked off of my list that I have been fortunate enough to visit. I do not put much faith in the media, and their ability to report fairly and accurately the situations that are happening abroad in each individual country, as I find them always to be extremely embellished and happening in a very localized area and not in the countries as a whole. But even I was hesitant to travel to Morocco with the bombardment of information from the media and internet regarding Africa and in particular, Northern Africa. As always, I am so thankful and happy I dismissed all information and wanted to rely more on my personal experience and gathering of information from Morocco itself! Morocco was nothing like I expected, I must say. The people of Morocco are very giving, loving and most of all, appreciative! The country itself is beautiful in every way and the Sahara, it is absolutely breathtaking and a trip that should be on everyone's bucket list. Honestly, 3 weeks was not enough to see and experience everything Morocco has to offer. And safety, well, I can honestly say I never felt safer in a foreign country. Mohamed and the staff are completely dedicated to your security and ensuring that you get the most out of your experience in Morocco with CCS in every way. The home base is in Rabat, the capital; however, it is so quiet, you would never know you are in a capital city and the neighborhood in particular is a part of the diplomatic area. You can walk to practically any kind of business you can imagine that would be catering to every foreign diplomat and their families. Definitely not Third World. Most importantly, the placements are incredibly rewarding and are so much more than I expected. I even had a request while I was there to be able to experience a couple of placements and Mohamed made sure that happened. The people of Morocco are so appreciative for the work you are doing. I definitely came away feeling that what I gained from my placement was far greater than what I felt I contributed. Morocco and the CCS staff far exceeded my expectations! Mohamed and his staff at the CCS home base in Morocco supply all the tools for you to gain knowledge about the language, people and culture of Morocco; however, it is like anything, it is up to you to do something with those tools! You may visit my blog at: www.myquestforimperfection.com to see a picturesque documentary of my time in Morocco and also a little short side trip to Cairo, Egypt, on my journey back to the United States.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 5, 2014

more

November 5, 2014

I spent a week this October volunteering at the El Pueblito Orphanage in Costa Rica. What an amazing journey it was! The staff were particularly accommodating and warm, not to mention a wealth of in depth knowledge about their country, it's politics, religion, attitudes, and so much more. At the orphanage we were again met with sincere welcomes by the lovely and dedicated 'Mama's' that ran each house on the premises that housed 8-12 children per house. It was clean, organized and most of all showed a common sense of respect throughout their community. The children were especially endearing as even though life had not handed them a good hand, they could smile, laugh, play, show love and accept love with us foreigners even though our Spanish was generally poor or virtually non-existent. It's amazing what body language and gestures can communicate. We also were able to paint the outside of two of the houses that needed a bit of a face lift. Some of the children came and helped us with the it and you could see their sense of accomplishment and more pride they could take in their home. One boy was amazingly meticulous for his age and did not spill a drop as he painted carefully and evenly the whole front door with me. It was as if to say, "I can help make our home better - you don't have to do it all for me!" Yeah for him and the rest of the children we got to work and play with.

The quote we left with our hand prints on the ceiling at the CCS Homebase is, "Doing nothing for others is the undoing of ourselves." - Horace Mann I like to think of it more as, "Doing good for others is the true fulfillment of our souls."

It wasn't all about giving at the orphanage. The CCS staff also handed us a hefty dose of Costa Rica culture, food, language, coffee plantations and their beautiful natural sites. I could not fight back the tears as we all said goodbye, not knowing if or when I might see them or those kids again. It was a trip of a lifetime!
November 3, 2014

more

November 3, 2014

I spent one week volunteering in El Pueblito orphanage in Cartago, Costa Rica. This was a life changing experience for me. Volunteering at El Pueblito was very rewarding as the children there appreciated the time they had with the volunteers and loved the extra attention and activities that we provided. I learned a lot about the resiliency of children and that all they want is to be cared for and loved. Cross Cultural Solutions provided a safe and comfortable home base with incredible food. The staff at CCS was helpful and warm. The cultural activities and Spanish lessons provided were enriching. This experience was a wonderful combination of giving back to society and gaining a better understanding of the Costa Rican culture and people. This is something that my family is planning to do in the future as something that will shape how my children see the world and the impact one person can have with the right attitude and motivation.
September 30, 2014

more

September 30, 2014

I recently spent a week in Peru working with the elderly at Los Martincitos. It was an amazing experience. The seniors who came to the center were in great need and they certainly received lots of love and attention from the staff at Los Martincitos. I was also deeply moved by how much the seniors cared about and for each other. It was a great honor to be incredibly kind and helpful and very organized.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 29, 2014

more

September 29, 2014

My Bangkok Thailand volunteer experience was life-changing. The staff was great. It was the overall awesome experience. I love the way we did extracurricular things but also stay focused volunteering. The accommodations at the house were awesome. It was more like a neighborhood feel versus staying at a hotel. I would definitely do it again.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I recently completed a week in New Delhi, India. I abolutely loved it and I regret that I only had one week there. I assisted with teaching English in a small school in the slums and it was very eye-opening and very rewarding. The home base had everything I needed and the food was delicious. The staff was kind and took their time explaining the culture and any questions I had. I would definitely reccommend this experience, and I would love to go back one day.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers