Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
1234.350655
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I worked at Las Martinitas to take care of the elderly. I felt it was a good experience, but did find it challenging at times to understand how to help. I use to cook in restaurants, so I naturally gravitated to the kitchen and helped prep food for their meals. Once I got into rhythm, I felt useful and enjoyed being a part of contributing to a good, home cooked meal for those in need.

I also did some home visits and quickly realized how important this organization is. I often wondered how and when they would have their next meal and what they were doing to be a part of society. I felt that CCS offered them actives, food, and a clear understanding that they are not forgotten.

On a more positive note, I went to the market to buy food. Great time! Very different from United States grocery stores.

Lastly, the staff was great and hospitable. I miss the food that was provided and always had seconds. The accommodations were comfortable and to expect anything more would take away from the purpose of volunteering to those who need it.

One other point I want to make. I enjoy being very busy and am able to handle a lot. I wanted to walk away feeling like a made a lasting impact, and maybe I did…..but I know that I could have done more to help. Determining the balance between creative work and structured work with an actual "to do" list needs to be thought through. I suppose you get back what you put into it….right? Anyway, just a thought, not necessarily a criticism.

I would rejoin CCS for another trip in the future. Thanks!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have not actually conducted business with Cross-Cultural Solutions but judging by some of the comments here about CCS, it doesn't look like I EVER will conduct business with them.
I personally have done calculations and the fees they are charging are INSANE!! This is India were talking
about folks, not HAWAII! $9395 for 12 weeks? They're smoking something funny! That's just INSANE!! Are people actually paying that to go volunteer??
What ever happened to the NGO picking up the tab for everything and in return you volunteer with no salary? I find most of the NGOs's to be a bit of scam. They are just making WAY TOO MUCH money in fees for what is supposed to be a truly non-profit organization.

I'm glad I found out before I laid my money down!

Not a sucker this time around.....

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would fire the EX Director who is making almost $300K a year, clean house and replace all the corrupt ones and charge a feel that is more in line with the rest of them.!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 4, 2013

more

December 4, 2013

I will never forget my experience working at a nursery school in Tanzania. The children were eager to learn and so loving. Everyone was so helpful and willing to help you in any way they could. The other volunteers are very friendly and I learned much from them. This was a once in a lifetime experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 19, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I was in Cartago, Costa Rica from October 6 - October 19, 2013. I was placed in a mini day care center with average age of the children from 2 to 8 years old. We probably averaged about 8-10 children a day. Some were just learning how to communicate and others were well passes that. My Spanish was not very good so I tried my best to figure out how to communicate with not only the children but also the "Tia" or house mother. It was an experience that far exceeded any expectations that I had prior to going there. The children were so special and came from broken homes with not much. The inspiration for me was how these children showed up everyday with a smile on their adorable little faces. The CCS staff was truly amazing! They are so professional and love what they do. What an unbelievable experience that will bring a smile to my face every single time I think of those children and my experience with CCS!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I loved the people at cross cultural solutions and my assignment! Everyone was so helpful and kind, and I was so impressed with the organization and how it was run. Every detail from security to cleanliness was top notch! I did not have a single bad experience during my two week stay in Guatemala City..all exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend CCS to all my friends who want to volunteer internationally.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change anything!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was placed at the Karanga Catholic Nursery in Moshi, Tanzania in October 2013. When I stepped off the van all the kids ran up to me and gave me hugs. There were two girls, each one of them came up and held my hand and wouldn't let go. They wouldn't let any of the other kids hold my hand either. I looked down at these girls and saw sparkles in their eyes and I knew, at that moment, that I loved them and loved being in Tanzania. The staff was absolutely wonderful. They are very supportive and helpful. It was the greatest experience of my life and one that I will never forget.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cartago, Costa Rica; October 2013. I was placed at San Rafael de Oreamuno Day Center for the elderly by the CCS staff. It was an incredible experience to be able to share time with these seniors. My last day at the center, tears were shed by some of the residents as well as by me. I will carry these memories with me the rest of my life.
Kudos to the CCS staff in Costa Rica as well as those in the US. They did an incredible job preparing us for the volunteer experience in Costa Rica. I plan to stay in touch with some of my new "Ticos" friends. I would highly recommend the adventure to anyone even slightly interested in international volunteer work.
CCS is making an impact within the communities where they operate and on the volunteers who participate in the program. As they would say in Costa Rica, PURA VIDA!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

October 2013 Wonderful experience in Cartago, Costa Rica. Both CCS staff and site personnel were welcoming, with open arms. CCS staff were accommodating and made every effort to immerse volunteers into the culture. The vounteer site I was assigned to was a day care, and the Tia or "house mother" wanted nothing more than for us to love the children. This touched me the deepest. A simple setting and wanting nothing more than for love to be shared. This experience has made an impression and will stay with me for a life time and I hope others will consider this opportunity. CCS is an awesome organization doing wonderful things for those in need. Would highly recommend the adventure.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 21, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

In July of 2013, I returned from the best volunteer experience of my life! I traveled to Cartago, Costa Rica with Cross Cultural Solutions. Upon my arrival, I was greeted by two CCS staff members who welcomed me with open arms. Not only did they spot me out of a crowd of people, they even helped me take my luggage to the van. Tired and hungry from traveling all day, when I arrived at the home-base, dinner was awaiting. I felt so grateful for the hospitality I received on my very first day, I knew from that point on that these next four weeks were going to be tremendous.

Indeed, the next four weeks turned out as I hoped. I received fantastic support from all the CCS Staff members. At my work placement, not only did I feel safe and secure, but I met so many wonderful people. The locals were so nice and caring. They took the time to remember my name and always greeted me when I saw them. The cultural activities were loads of fun. Every day, with the exception of Monday's and Tuesday's, we traveled around the surrounding towns with the CCS Staff members as our guides. They explained everything to us in such a patient manner. Workable, flexible, and simply caring, they took care of all our needs. By the end of the four weeks, I felt like I was with family. It was so hard for me to leave. I feel like I need to go back simply due to the fact that I know that I have a home to go to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

love to get the community involved with more projects. It would be wonderful to get high school or university students to work alongside us. We can learn from each other and build ideas off of each other. Imagine what can be done when multiple perspectives are involved!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 2 week volunteer experience with CCS in Hohoe Ghana. Had a wonderful time helping in the Hohoe community hopsital and learning about Ghana culture. CCS staff are very knowledgeable, resourceful and welcoming. The home base was exceptional and there was a good balance of volunteer work visiting places and speakers all geared towards increasing our awareness of the culture and understanding of the wonderful people in Ghana.
This experience definitely brought a different perspective for me and CCS did a great job at ensuring we got the most of it. Looking forward to do this again sometime in the near future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers