Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
131 Reviews
1234.503825
Write A Review
March 28, 2015

more

March 28, 2015

Absolutely Amazing. I was able to serve in Cartago, Costa Rica over my Spring Break. CCS allows you to see the real culture, people and cuisine of the country you are in. There are many concerns about "Charity Tourism" and its problems. CCS; however, has a constant presence in their community and the work they do is badly needed. While the trip was a little more expensive than other volunteering trips, they amount of activities we did and the difference we made up for any and all expenses. My week with CCS Costa Rica has been the best day of my life.
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I had the privilege of volunteering through the CCS in India program in March 2015 and I cannot overemphasize what an incredible, transformative experience it was. The staff genuinely cared about our group's experiences there and did everything to ensure our comfort, safety and learning about Indian culture. The flats were very comfortable and the food was incredible. They were also very responsive to requests of all kinds as well as ensuring that we had fun in our off time. I loved it so much that I hope to go back.
March 26, 2015

more

March 26, 2015

I was a part of CCS India in March 2015 and it was one of the most meaningful experiences of my life. I felt safe and comfortable during my stay and the CCS staff was amazing. I would love to volunteer at other CCS locations in the future and encourage everyone to look into their programs.
March 24, 2015

more

March 24, 2015

CCS is an organization where the magic of the program happens "in-country"! The local staffs provide a great experience that combines volunteering in the mornings with cultural immersion programs in the afternoons. And of course there is time to explore on your own, which I would highly recommend doing. Traveling on the weekends is a highlight for any abroad trip. It's a great way to meet others.

While the program fee is a bit expensive, I think that overall the program meets expectations. You could go with someone else, but you definitely won't have the same level of support. Moreover, I encourage anyone to ask questions before signing up; what does an average day looks like, how much of my day is spent volunteering, where is my money going when I pay the program fee, review the financials of an organization, and most importantly to evaluate the impact that you will have (at the community level as a volunteer and you as an individual in what you will learn).

Good luck in your search and keep an open mind when it comes to learning about new cultures!
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I was fortunate enough to experience Lima, Peru for 3 weeks with Cross-Cultural Solutions. The team and the volunteers at the placement were so welcoming and frankly all amazing people. I worked at both the school and the senior center. Both experiences were amazing and left me with memories I will carry forever. I learned so much from the short time I was there from the people I met, the rich culture and the beautiful surroundings. Lima is now my new favorite place in this world and I plan on returning as soon as possible. Thanks CCS! I highly reccomend this company for anyone who is interested in international volunteering.
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I volunteered at CCS India Dharamsala this summer during the month of July. Every portion of the volunteer experience, from my placement to the cultural events planned were extremely well executed. As a special education teacher, although a position was not promised, the crew in Dharamsala worked hard to make sure that my volunteer experience would align with my training. I hope to be able to volunteer with CCS again, as many of the volunteers who I worked with this summer were on their second or third trip and it seems that all the locations are as well run as India.
February 23, 2015

more

February 23, 2015

I volunteered in New Delhi, India for 2 weeks and absolutely loved it. My placement was eye-opening and inspiring all at the same time. The social workers and teachers at the placement were supportive and so pleasant to work with. But most of all, it was the children that grabbed my heart and will remain unforgettable. I learned so much in such a short period of time , that no text-book or course can ever provide. Hands on experience, meeting and engaging with the people and the culture, is truly the greatest way of growing , learning, and expanding as a person. The change within you will only be felt and noticed once you return home to your routine life . It'll hit you and wow you simultaneously. No other travel experience has enriched me as the one I completed with cross-cultural solutions. I am still glowing from my adventure 3 weeks later...... !! :)
February 8, 2015

more

February 8, 2015

I volunteered in Lima, Peru for 2 weeks. I met some amazing people and sharing a house with them was always eventful! It was a great experience, the food was delicious every meal and we were allowed the independence I expected to wander off on our own during free time to explore. I was at Inabif working with the children, (I definitely recommend the older kids) they were so appreciative and excited to learn from us, especially listen to our English. The language barrier was difficult but I managed fine with my high school experience! Kique, our house manager was awesome. I'm definitely looking into other locations for the future. Thanks!!
February 2, 2015

more

February 2, 2015

My husband and I just completed a 2 week volunteer assignment with CCS at San Rafael Adult Day Care and Nursing Home. What an incredible opportunity. Sandra and Lorena provide an amazing opportunity for the people coming to the center.
The CCS crew at the CCS Home Base were amazing. They
provided us with help, activities, learning opportunities, etc. What an amazing, fun, caring staff. They made us feel so at home.
The adults that we got to work with at the Day Care were so appreciative as was the staff at the placement. It was so exciting to see their eyes light up every morning when we arrived. I will not forget these special people.
I plan to volunteer in Cartago again.
I would recommend this opportunity to everyone. It changed how I look at volunteering and being immersed in a different culture.
January 28, 2015

more

January 28, 2015

I WENT TO CAPE TOWN SOUTH AFRICA FOR 2 WEEKS IN AUGUST. THIS WAS MY FIRST EXPERIENCE OUT OF THE COUNTRY. AND LET ME SAY IT WAS ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. I'D DO IT AGAIN. EVERYONE WITHIN THE PROGRAM, FROM THE STAFF IN THE US TO THE STAFF IN COUNTRY. IT WAS AMAZING. THEY COMPLETELY MET ALL MY NEEDS. CCS IS NOT ONLY THERE TO HELP YOU VOLUNTEER, BUT TRULY GET TO KNOW THE COUNTRY YOUR VOLUNTEERING IN. THEY IMMERSE YOU IN THE CULTURE. THE LOVE I FELT FROM EACH AND EVERYONE OF THE STAFF MADE ME FEEL RIGHT AT HOME. THE OTHER VOLUNTEERS WERE THE BEST. IT WAS TRULY LIKE A FAMILY. I AM CURRENTLY TRYING TO BECOME AN AMBASSADOR FOR CCS. ALSO I AM PLANNING ANOTHER TRIP TO VOLUNTEER IN THAILAND!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers