Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.936515
| 1 2 | Next
Write A Review
July 30, 2012

more

July 30, 2012

We need so many things in life: food and shelter for the body, love and art for the soul. We need them when we are young and it doesn't stop when we are old. The wonderful thing is, no matter what the age, Creative Aging Memphis provides love and art for the soul and helps provide food and shelter for the body. Our musicians and artists come in all sizes and ages. Working for Creative Aging helps pay some of their bills. Working with Creative Aging exposes them to a world of love and gratitude. Then there are the seniors who get a chance to sing, dance, draw or just dream after a visit from these musicians and artists. Their world becomes a little bigger and a whole lot brighter. Creative Aging Memphis gives everyone, entertainers and seniors alike, a chance to live and live well, no matter what their age.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I am relatively new to the Health Care field and have become very passionate about helping the aging community through my new position of Marketing Director for Right at Home. My good friend, Bob Bernstein, suggested me for the Board of Creative Aging. At the time, I knew nothing about the organization but since my first Board meeting, which was an all day planning session, I was simply bowled over by the Power of the Organization. It is a worthy cause on all levels and brings a beautiful level of grace and charm to the Seniors who otherwise would have little or no experience with the Arts. I have played the violin since I was 6 and find that the spiritual nourishment that is provided through the arts is as important to the soul as food is to the body. I am very happy to be able to serve on a Board that is doing such important work.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

As a singer/artist, I can't think of a more precious gift than to provide musical entertainment for the residents served though Creative Aging. The ability to "reach out" and connect with the residents through songs and music is always the highlight of my day. I can't think of a better way to make a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

more

May 21, 2012

Creative Aging provides access to the arts for seniors. I have observed how the performers interact with the audience and watched in awe as the audience comes alive when an old favorite song is performed. I have enjoyed being a part of this organization and seeing the positive reactions from our seniors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I have the distinct privilege of being associated with Creative Aging Mid-South. This fabulous organization provides a key service to seniors in the communities where they live and gather. Through the arts, seniors find the pleasures in life, and often have the gift of remembering regenerated for a period of time, as they clap and sing and dance and sculpt and listen to storytelling. What a wonderful service to our aging population, and what a treasure this is to the Mid-South community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Creative Aging is the best kept secret in Memphis. The entertainment to the senior facilities is priceless. the opportunity to support our great artist is a perfect blend to enhance lives in all aspects of the arts. I am honored to serve on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 11, 2012

more

May 11, 2012

Creative Aging Mid South is a wonderful organization that not only serves our Seniors but employees seniors and so many of our city's great musicians and artists. Creative Aging doesn't just provide your typical musical performances to area Seniors, we have Queen of Beale Street Ruby Wilson, Memphis' own Jazz Queen Joyce Cobb and many other Memphis music legends on our roster. I'm not only a board member but I also work in an assisted living facility that is recipient of Creative Aging's services. The music and art therapy that CA provides is pricesless to our residents - they all light up whenever a CA artists arrives to entertain them!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 20, 2011

more

January 20, 2011

I became familiar with Creative Aging in the Spring of 2009. With my fondness of Elders, I quickly paid attention and discovered that Creative Aging was creating such a "need" in our Community.

I became a Member of the Board in June 2009. Quickly enough I learned even more about this
organization and was so touched and happy whenever I experienced performances. More importantly, watching the recipients was fabulous!

Interestingly enough, I became employed at at the Ave Nursing Home in Bartlett, TN in June 2010. I am the Activities Director of the Nursing Home.

Upon arrival, Creative Aging was already established with Ave Maria and acts were already booked. I saw even more excitement from the Residents than I had ever seen as just a Board Member. It was so much more "up close and personal" to my delight! In fact, the other day at our January Resident birthday party, one of the Residents said, "the best performers we have always come from Creative Aging". This Resident had no idea that I happened to be on the Board.

I guess the point is, it's not just me loving what I hear, see, experience. It is, if fact, the recipients. The ones that matter.

Peggy Lichterman

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

What I wrote above.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to recruit strong and committed board members.

January 19, 2011

more

January 19, 2011

I have worked for several years with Creative Aging as a Board Member and still am impressed with the work that we do. Creative Aging provides musical entertainment and visual art workshops at senior centers, assisted living facilities, and nursing homes. I have visited some of these facilities and observed the happiness, joy and memories that come from hearing the music and also how art has brought out creativity in our senior adults. Periodically, we have musicians join MIFA volunteers when they deliver Meals on Wheels . What a surprise the music along with theirdaily meal has brought to the homebound.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was Adult Services Director at one of the community centers that provided programs for senior adults. Creative Aging sponsored many of these and the seniors looked forward to the musical programs. Creative Aging pays the local musicians who are part of our group as well.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make sure that more individuals and groups are aware of the work that Creative Aging does in our community.

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer