Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

This is one of the best non-profit organizations in the Mid-South! The impact these creative aging artists have on seniors in the community is absolutely priceless.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

Creative Aging is a conduit to provide access to the arts for the seniors in our communtiy. I am proud to support and be a part of this wonderful organization. From personal experiences, I can affir... more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Recently, I attended a performance by one of our artists and was once again excited to see the residents dance and clap in time with the music. What a joy to see the interaction between the performers and their elderly audience. The excitement and enthusiasm was incredible. We need to ensure that these performance not only continue but grow exponentially over the years to benefit our elderly friends and family members.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creative Aging is a conduit to provide access to the arts for the seniors in our communtiy. I am proud to support and be a part of this wonderful organization. From personal experiences, I can affirm that the performances and workshops provide a positive and enriching experience for our seniors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The most rewarding part of being a Board Member is to watch the performances at Nursing Faiclities and see the absolute joy in in the eyes of older adults who are engaged in the performance. Those with dementia whose remote memory is still intact seemd mezmorized. Hearing something familiar and recalling memories of times past is both exciting and healing. This transformation is truly amazing; at the last performance I had the honor of attending, one lady sang along with most every song. As I watched her sing and clap her hands to the music, I had to believe that no matter what she is facing in the future, today held treasures beyond belief.

Lynn Doyle

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creative Aging is truly a wonderful organization with the unique
opportunity to touch the lives of seniors in so many ways.  Through
innovative arts, they engage the senses of many of our seniors who are
unable to initiate interaction, but so deeply need to be stimulated
through
venues such as musical performers and other talented artists.
It is heart warming to watch their spirits lift when they are drawn
into an activity which engages their mind and spirit and to see the
expressions on their faces when they are touched by an uplifting
performance by a Creative Aging artist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

Experiencing the joy of seeing my grandmother "Gama" celebrate her birthday with a band playing for her, her family and friends in the nursing facility that she lived in was priceless. After seeing how much this meant to so many Seniors, I wanted to be part of such an organization that brought so much happiness. Shortly after my "Gama's" birthday, I was asked if I would be interested in being a Board Member of Creative Aging Memphis. I couldn't say "yes" fast enough and that was six years ago. In six years, I have seen Seniors move and grove to some of Memphis' most prominent musicians to reading stories written in creative writing workshops by Seniors who thought they would never be able to tell their story just to name a couple of ways the arts have not only touched but made the lives of Seniors. Creative Aging Memphis not only is providing arts to our Seniors, but Creative Aging Memphis also pays these artists for their performances and workshops putting dollars back in the arts. This wonderful organization is a win-win for everyone involved: Seniors, Artists and those of us privilaged to be part of this great non-profit...Creative Aging Memphis.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 30, 2012

We need so many things in life: food and shelter for the body, love and art for the soul. We need them when we are young and it doesn't stop when we are old. The wonderful thing is, no matter what ... more

October 31, 2014

I believe in non-profits. They do the work that everyone says needs to be done. Non-profits take the ideas, recruit the volunteers, roll-up sleeves and get down to business. Creative Aging Memphis is one of those non-profits. The unique thing is they actually serve two diverse communities: seniors and artists. In what I think is a brilliant idea, Creative Aging figured out how to educate, entertain and involve seniors by hiring artists, including musicians, dancers, singers, potters, story-tellers, painters and more. The two groups need each other in order to grow, thrive and maybe even survive. And Creative Aging puts them together. I am thrilled to work with, volunteer for, and support wholly, Creative Aging Memphis. I am proud that Memphis is a city full of seniors and artists, all of whom we need, and through Creative Aging, we also cherish.
July 30, 2012

We need so many things in life: food and shelter for the body, love and art for the soul. We need them when we are young and it doesn't stop when we are old. The wonderful thing is, no matter what the age, Creative Aging Memphis provides love and art for the soul and helps provide food and shelter for the body. Our musicians and artists come in all sizes and ages. Working for Creative Aging helps pay some of their bills. Working with Creative Aging exposes them to a world of love and gratitude. Then there are the seniors who get a chance to sing, dance, draw or just dream after a visit from these musicians and artists. Their world becomes a little bigger and a whole lot brighter. Creative Aging Memphis gives everyone, entertainers and seniors alike, a chance to live and live well, no matter what their age.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

I am relatively new to the Health Care field and have become very passionate about helping the aging community through my new position of Marketing Director for Right at Home. My good friend, Bob Bernstein, suggested me for the Board of Creative Aging. At the time, I knew nothing about the organization but since my first Board meeting, which was an all day planning session, I was simply bowled over by the Power of the Organization. It is a worthy cause on all levels and brings a beautiful level of grace and charm to the Seniors who otherwise would have little or no experience with the Arts. I have played the violin since I was 6 and find that the spiritual nourishment that is provided through the arts is as important to the soul as food is to the body. I am very happy to be able to serve on a Board that is doing such important work.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 23, 2012

more

May 23, 2012

As a singer/artist, I can't think of a more precious gift than to provide musical entertainment for the residents served though Creative Aging. The ability to "reach out" and connect with the residents through songs and music is always the highlight of my day. I can't think of a better way to make a difference in the lives of others.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 17, 2012

more

May 17, 2012

I have the distinct privilege of being associated with Creative Aging Mid-South. This fabulous organization provides a key service to seniors in the communities where they live and gather. Through the arts, seniors find the pleasures in life, and often have the gift of remembering regenerated for a period of time, as they clap and sing and dance and sculpt and listen to storytelling. What a wonderful service to our aging population, and what a treasure this is to the Mid-South community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2012

more

May 16, 2012

Creative Aging is the best kept secret in Memphis. The entertainment to the senior facilities is priceless. the opportunity to support our great artist is a perfect blend to enhance lives in all aspects of the arts. I am honored to serve on the board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer