Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
80 Reviews
1234.93755
Write A Review
October 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 21, 2012

Creative Aging provides access to the arts for seniors. I have observed how the performers interact with the audience and watched in awe as the audience comes alive when an old favorite song is perfo... more

October 31, 2014

Bringing access to the arts to our seniors is a great mission. I love being a part of this great organization.
May 21, 2012

Creative Aging provides access to the arts for seniors. I have observed how the performers interact with the audience and watched in awe as the audience comes alive when an old favorite song is performed. I have enjoyed being a part of this organization and seeing the positive reactions from our seniors.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

Creative Aging fills a unique role in the community and they do it well. They brighten and enrich the lives of seniors by bringing arts performances and arts participation experiences to assisted living communities and other locations where seniors gather. I've seen firsthand how this makes a difference in the lives of people they serve. It also supports the artist community in the Memphis area. As Joe Birch would say about Creative Aging, it's a win/win for all involved.
October 31, 2014

more

October 31, 2014

It is proven that stimulation through the arts including music, dance, written word, crafts and other arts provide seniors with cognitive stimulation and growth. Creative Aging benefits both area artist and seniors by paying professional performers and educators to provide arts programs in confined elder communities. Everyone in the mix benefits as artist reach a new audience that might not otherwise be able to enjoy these performances. The reaction of both the seniors and the artist are amazing to see. Creative Aging is people helping people to enjoy an more healthy and invigorating life.
October 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
October 16, 2012

We never ever, no matter what age, lose the need for connecting with others. When we struggle cognitively, this becomes more difficult. To watch an older adult connect with others through music and ... more

October 30, 2014

Looking into the eyes of a senior adult who is mesmerized by music is a small taste of heaven. Bringing the arts to those who can no longer access those once enjoyed activities is what Creative Aging does best. Blending the right mix of caring and compassion and orchestrating an event that transports senior adults back to a time that was perhaps more gracious to them brings joy to thousands every year. Whether music artisans or storytellers, senior adults love to reconnect with memories. And watching them make this incredible connection, watching them come alive when they hear an old familiar tune or hear a story that they knew as a child, this wonderment is contagious. I have seen this in action and I am always amazed!
October 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We never ever, no matter what age, lose the need for connecting with others. When we struggle cognitively, this becomes more difficult. To watch an older adult connect with others through music and art is unbelievably moving. It is nothing short of a miracle for someone suffering with dementia. When I watch a performance sponsored by Creative Aging and I see this kind of miracle, I am so proud. This is when I know that our mission is being carried out every day!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2012

We never stop loving the arts..no matter what age. The great feeling that music, story telling, visual arts and other art mediums give us is priceless. Many Senior adults are limited with mobility issues, financial restraints and other issues that keep them from enjoying the above. That is where Creative Aging MidSouth steps in. CAM bridges the gap by providing quality performances and demonstrations to Senior adults. They never have to pay, make reservations or even leave their residence. CAM comes to them. If you could only see their faces, the sparkle in their eyes, the humming along; then you would see why CAM exists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Creative Aging is a non-profit organization that accomplishes two worthy goals. First of all, it provides a wide variety of artistic programs and on-hands craft activities to a diverse population of seniors citizens. The performances are given in senior communities throughout Shelby County. Secondly, Creative Aging employs local artists who give hundreds of performances each year to thousands of senior citizens. Thus, both local artists and senior citizens benefit from this unique organization.
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather The experiences offered by ... more

October 27, 2014

Performing and visual arts groups continually talk about the importance of audience participation or audience engagement. If you were to visit a senior community where a performance or workshop by the Memphis-based Creative Aging was under way, you’d experience the quintessential audience engagement. Here, in a non-traditional setting, artists are up-close and personal – whether musicians, storytellers, painters or weavers. Their work evokes memories, feelings, movement and expressions of joy. Such engagement of seniors offers a sense of pleasure and decreases stress, isolation, loneliness and promotes memory health. You couldn’t find a more appreciative audience not to mention the dedication of the artists.
April 17, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather
The experiences offered by Creative Aging are powerful ways to engage elders in a creative and healing process regardless
of age and level of physical, emotional or cognitive functioning. The organization not only offers up-close, virtuosic performances, but the presenting artists always take time to interact with audience members. The arts have always had the capacity to enrich lives and unlock the human spirit, but Creative Aging offers true essence of the live arts experience. Creative Aging is a distinguished member of both the nonprofit social service and arts communities. Not only does the group offer a needed service to elderly audiences, but it compensates local professional artists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather. If you were to observe a Creative Aging presentation at a nursing home, assisted living facility or senior community center, you’d see first-hand the power of performance. Participants normally in an unresponsive condition become outwardly exhilarated, energized and joyful. The arts have always had the capacity to enrich lives and unlock the human spirit, but Creative Aging offers true essence of the live arts experience. Creative Aging is a distinguished member of both the nonprofit social service and arts communities. Not only does the group offer a needed service to elderly audiences, but it compensates local professional artists.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Creative Aging brings smiles to faces; employs young and old talent throughout the city; reunites the elderly with fond memories through music, painting, dramatic readings and the arts in general. Creative Aging is an organization that I am proud to serve.
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South BRINGS arts to elders in the mid-south. Many of these folks are generally disenfranchised, fragile and underserved as they live in nursing homes. Other seniors who benefit fro... more

October 27, 2014

Creative Aging continues to grow providing more services to seniors in the Greater Memphis area. Creative Aging is unique in that it is the only organization that partners with professional artists and educators to present arts through live productions and hands-on workshops in senior communities.
April 6, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South BRINGS arts to elders in the mid-south. Many of these folks are generally disenfranchised, fragile and underserved as they live in nursing homes. Other seniors who benefit from over 600 arts performances and workshops a year are in day care centers, assisted living or attend senior centers. The most recent performance I attended was a storytelling performance by a professional storyteller. The audience responded by remembering their own most cherished stories and sharing them with each other. Is there a better way to enhance cognitive and social health? Go online to www.creativeagingmidsouth.org to see how you can support this great nonprofit.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2011

Just moving to Memphis in June, I was seeking a not-for-profit board opportunity where my time would add value to the lives of the fragile and frail in society. Creative Aging of the MidSouth (CAM) does just that!

CAM provides live art performances to about 40 different older adult
facilities/centers including nursing homes, retirement communities, assisted living and daycare facilities in the Memphis area. Having attending one of these programs, I was amazed at how the performer was able to engage his elderly audience-- seeming to bring them alive as if they were teens again at a blues concerts!

I knew this organization (CAM) was doing the right thing! And I wanted to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to build name recognition and expand their fundraising opportunities. They recently completed a strategic plan that outlines how best to proceed.

April 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

I love Memphis. The things we do in Memphis, change the world. Look at self-serve grocery stores, FedEx, Auto Zone, rock n roll, STAX, College of Art...the list goes on and on. Now you can add Creat... more

April 18, 2013

I am very involved with Memphis-area non-profits, so when I met the folks from Creative Aging a couple of years ago I asked, "What can I do?" That's how I became a board member. And I've done a lot since then, not because I am particularly wonderful, but because they are. The concept of fostering creativity in our senior friends and neighbors is a must. Staying vital, interested, informed and entertained is something we work for our entire lives...not just at 20-something. Add to that the fact that by offering the arts to seniors, Creative Aging also supports the artistic community and you have a win-win. I am humbled by the chance to do something meaningful and lasting...and fun! My dream is for everyone to get to be a senior served by Creative Aging.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012

I love Memphis. The things we do in Memphis, change the world. Look at self-serve grocery stores, FedEx, Auto Zone, rock n roll, STAX, College of Art...the list goes on and on. Now you can add Creative Aging to the list. Music and art know no boundaries, no 'isms,' no age limits. We have the talent, we have the need and with Creative Aging, we have a way to put them together, singing and dancing and living all the way!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 8, 2013

more

April 8, 2013

I have been associated with Creativie Aging for several years now. The group is so dedicated to improving the lives of Seniors in the Mid-south. It is a pleasure to be a part of this great organization. The programs bring a lot of joy to the residents and it add tremendously to their lives. I had the opportunity to play at an independent living facility and one woman told me that live music gives them so much to look forward to. I always have a warm feeling when I leave a performance, whether I am the performer or a spectator because it is easy to see the difference in the residents when they have a great "Arts" experience. It's definitely food for their souls.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer