Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.936515
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

This non-profit is a great vehicle for allowing the Memphis area's many talented seniors an opportunity to perform and offers those looking for entertainers a large and diverse resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

Hello, my name is Lisa Shurden. I am the Civic Affairs Senior Associate for HealthSpring, a Cigna company. HealthSpring cares about its community and seniors. We are proud to be the Premier Sponsor of Creative Aging where they are making a difference in the lives of thousands of seniors through the arts. I am proud to be afflilated with Creative Aging in making a difference in the Memphis community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 10, 2013

more

April 10, 2013

I was blessed to witness a wheelchair bound nursing home resident enjoy the music from a Creative Aging performer. The lady had the most beautiful smile while tapping her fingers and moving her feet. Her joy brought tears to my eyes and warmed my heart.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I began to play piano for Creative Aging in 2005 or so. Some of my most fulfilling times have been entertaining the clients/senior that it serves. From retirement homes to alzheimer centers, and every venue in between, it is sheer joy and delight to entertain these folks with special needs, most of whom are homebound a great deal of the time. Creative Aging does marvelous things in providing different types of art experiences for older people. It brings stimulation, aesthetics, & vitality to lots of people that need it, and thrive because of it. I feel very blessed and thankful to be a part of this wonderful non-profit called Creative Aging. Diana Stein

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in an Assisted Living for people with dementia and Alzheimer's. My first encounter with Creative Aging was there - we had gathered all the residents together to enjoy the performance of one of the Creative Aging musicians. I was suprised to see Ms. Mary there - I had never heard her speak a word, but her daughter was visiting and decided to bring her mom to enjoy the music. The performer that Creative Aging had sent instantly connected with our residents. He sang lots of old songs that our residents were familiar with. He began singing an Elvis tune and walked right up to Ms. Mary and put the microphone to her mouth. I thought, oh no, she can't even speak - this will not go so well. Boy was I surprised when she grab the mic and starting singing along - she knew all the words! I was in tears - happy tears to see her enjoying this so much. You see, sometimes, we may think that the older generation isn't all there - but they are! You just have to find the right way to connect. Creative Aging does this so well - they connect through music, art, spoken word and more. Creative Aging brings joy and smiles to thousands of elder citizens in our community and I highly commend them for the work they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I work with Creative Aging MidSouth as a musician and it’s has been a blessing for me in a thousand ways. I see firsthand the great work of this organization. Many of the residents of these facilities don’t have a lot to look forward to in life so when I see a smile on a face with a mind so far from reality or a person with a physical disability move to the beat of a song…I see a miracle. Music, songs and interaction with someone so far away is universal. It is God’s light shining thru and I’m so humbled to be a small part of that. To bring a fond memory to a patient or resident of a Nursing home or retirement facility is worth more all the gold this world holds. I’ve learned that you’re working for something much bigger than yourself. It makes me so happy if I ever bring a smile to a person less fortunate than myself. To say it’s a privilege is an understatement. My simple words can never describe the joy it brings to my heart. I’m truly blessed to be a part of Creative Aging. Growing older is not an exclusive club, it’s a party to which we are all invited and we’ll attend someday. I’ll do my best to help them enjoy the journey.
Rick Nethery / Memphis Tn. 10/22/12

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Every year, Creative Aging brings joy to more than 4,000 older adults by bringing some of Memphis' favorite artists to perform for them where they live, ensuring even the frailest can benefit from the arts. It's a moving experience to watch people who usually are not responsive get up to dance, or dance in their wheelchairs, or sing. The artists are great about engaging audience members one-on-one.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I know first hand the awesomeness of Creative Aging and what they provideto the elderly community. The performances and workshops is a positive experience for the seniors and their families. Giving them access to the arts is invaluable. I have performed many times at most of the senior facilites in Memphis and the joy and feedback from the residents is priceless and it also enhances the work day for the staff as they watch their clients have a ball. It feels the heart to see smiles on those who have left their homes and making a new home at these facilites and the music and workshops gives them a good chance to settle in better and meet new friends. Thanks CAM

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more


1 previous review
February 1, 2011

Lewis Center for Senior Citizens loves Creative Aging. Top notch entertainers have tickled the ivories and helped us celebrate many holidays. The seniors feel special having such opportunities right... more

October 17, 2012

As the Director of the largest senior center in Memphis, I have first hand knowledge of this great organization since its inception. From musicians to ballet to weaving to telling your personal story with "hands of time", my seniors have enjoyed it all!!! The artists are so friendy and work very hard to engage the seniors.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 1, 2011

Lewis Center for Senior Citizens loves Creative Aging. Top notch entertainers have tickled the ivories and helped us celebrate many holidays. The seniors feel special having such opportunities right here in their "home away from home". We are grateful for the variety and the quality of entertainers!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

being a membership facility being an informed & active member of the aging network finally, by becoming a board member of Creative Aging

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more public recogniton

October 17, 2012

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 19, 2012

CAM provides an invaluable service to seniors in the midsouth by providing musical performances and creative workshops. It is well proven that engagement with the arts makes lives happier and better.... more

October 17, 2012

When well known musicians perform for older adults who feel isolated in residential facilities, everyone benefits. The older adults feel like they are still a part of the larger community, that their need to experience the arts is as important as anyone else's. And, the artists benefit both from the extra income and their interactions with their audiences. Creative Aging is good for Memphis seniors and artists!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 19, 2012

CAM provides an invaluable service to seniors in the midsouth by providing musical performances and creative workshops. It is well proven that engagement with the arts makes lives happier and better. It's a wonderful experience to attend a performance and see the interaction between the artist(s) and participants/audience.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 29, 2011

CAM is a wonderful organization that brings the arts to seniors at the places they live!!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

attending art presentations at assisted living facilities.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it one million dollars so that it would not have to spend so much time on fund raising and could spend more time on its mission.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer