Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
63 Reviews
1234.936515
| 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
April 7, 2013

more

April 7, 2013

At first I was skeptical about this program. I thought that I could do it on my own just like I had aways done without the assistance from Creative Aging Midsouth. But after working with Meryl and Barbara I have realized that I need this program. It helps with the cost especiallly with a small activity budget. It also has a long list of quality and diversed entertainners to choose from. But best of all, Creative Aging MidSouth has saved my life more than once when some of the entertainners had an emergency at the last minute and could not honor their committment. Barbara was very helpful in sending replacements. You can not get that kind of service any where else. Thank you so very much! Tony Sovian

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 22, 2011

Just moving to Memphis in June, I was seeking a not-for-profit board opportunity where my time would add value to the lives of the fragile and frail in society. Creative Aging of the MidSouth (CAM) do... more

April 6, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South BRINGS arts to elders in the mid-south. Many of these folks are generally disenfranchised, fragile and underserved as they live in nursing homes. Other seniors who benefit from over 600 arts performances and workshops a year are in day care centers, assisted living or attend senior centers. The most recent performance I attended was a storytelling performance by a professional storyteller. The audience responded by remembering their own most cherished stories and sharing them with each other. Is there a better way to enhance cognitive and social health? Go online to www.creativeagingmidsouth.org to see how you can support this great nonprofit.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2011

Just moving to Memphis in June, I was seeking a not-for-profit board opportunity where my time would add value to the lives of the fragile and frail in society. Creative Aging of the MidSouth (CAM) does just that!

CAM provides live art performances to about 40 different older adult
facilities/centers including nursing homes, retirement communities, assisted living and daycare facilities in the Memphis area. Having attending one of these programs, I was amazed at how the performer was able to engage his elderly audience-- seeming to bring them alive as if they were teens again at a blues concerts!

I knew this organization (CAM) was doing the right thing! And I wanted to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to build name recognition and expand their fundraising opportunities. They recently completed a strategic plan that outlines how best to proceed.

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

The most rewarding part of being a Board Member is to watch the performances at Nursing Faiclities and see the absolute joy in in the eyes of older adults who are engaged in the performance. Those with dementia whose remote memory is still intact seemd mezmorized. Hearing something familiar and recalling memories of times past is both exciting and healing. This transformation is truly amazing; at the last performance I had the honor of attending, one lady sang along with most every song. As I watched her sing and clap her hands to the music, I had to believe that no matter what she is facing in the future, today held treasures beyond belief.

Lynn Doyle

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I began to play piano for Creative Aging in 2005 or so. Some of my most fulfilling times have been entertaining the clients/senior that it serves. From retirement homes to alzheimer centers, and every venue in between, it is sheer joy and delight to entertain these folks with special needs, most of whom are homebound a great deal of the time. Creative Aging does marvelous things in providing different types of art experiences for older people. It brings stimulation, aesthetics, & vitality to lots of people that need it, and thrive because of it. I feel very blessed and thankful to be a part of this wonderful non-profit called Creative Aging. Diana Stein

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in an Assisted Living for people with dementia and Alzheimer's. My first encounter with Creative Aging was there - we had gathered all the residents together to enjoy the performance of one of the Creative Aging musicians. I was suprised to see Ms. Mary there - I had never heard her speak a word, but her daughter was visiting and decided to bring her mom to enjoy the music. The performer that Creative Aging had sent instantly connected with our residents. He sang lots of old songs that our residents were familiar with. He began singing an Elvis tune and walked right up to Ms. Mary and put the microphone to her mouth. I thought, oh no, she can't even speak - this will not go so well. Boy was I surprised when she grab the mic and starting singing along - she knew all the words! I was in tears - happy tears to see her enjoying this so much. You see, sometimes, we may think that the older generation isn't all there - but they are! You just have to find the right way to connect. Creative Aging does this so well - they connect through music, art, spoken word and more. Creative Aging brings joy and smiles to thousands of elder citizens in our community and I highly commend them for the work they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

I work with Creative Aging MidSouth as a musician and it’s has been a blessing for me in a thousand ways. I see firsthand the great work of this organization. Many of the residents of these facilities don’t have a lot to look forward to in life so when I see a smile on a face with a mind so far from reality or a person with a physical disability move to the beat of a song…I see a miracle. Music, songs and interaction with someone so far away is universal. It is God’s light shining thru and I’m so humbled to be a small part of that. To bring a fond memory to a patient or resident of a Nursing home or retirement facility is worth more all the gold this world holds. I’ve learned that you’re working for something much bigger than yourself. It makes me so happy if I ever bring a smile to a person less fortunate than myself. To say it’s a privilege is an understatement. My simple words can never describe the joy it brings to my heart. I’m truly blessed to be a part of Creative Aging. Growing older is not an exclusive club, it’s a party to which we are all invited and we’ll attend someday. I’ll do my best to help them enjoy the journey.
Rick Nethery / Memphis Tn. 10/22/12

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

Every year, Creative Aging brings joy to more than 4,000 older adults by bringing some of Memphis' favorite artists to perform for them where they live, ensuring even the frailest can benefit from the arts. It's a moving experience to watch people who usually are not responsive get up to dance, or dance in their wheelchairs, or sing. The artists are great about engaging audience members one-on-one.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creative Aging is truly a wonderful organization with the unique
opportunity to touch the lives of seniors in so many ways.  Through
innovative arts, they engage the senses of many of our seniors who are
unable to initiate interaction, but so deeply need to be stimulated
through
venues such as musical performers and other talented artists.
It is heart warming to watch their spirits lift when they are drawn
into an activity which engages their mind and spirit and to see the
expressions on their faces when they are touched by an uplifting
performance by a Creative Aging artist.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Creative Aging is a great organization. The availability of talented entertainers right at your fingertips is very nice! I have not had one bad experience with Creative Aging. Our residents love the performers. Everyone we have booked has been polite and professional.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Creative Aging is the most wonderful service for allowing easy and affordable access to the talented people in our area who are willing to share these talents with residents of senior residential communities: assisted living, independent living, and nursing homes. Bringing quality talent into these communities through the locally available artists is an integral part of offering dynamic activity programming. Creative Aging no only makes this more affordable, but streamlines the process in order to provide easy access. I would highly recommend Creative Aging to anyone providing programming for senior adults.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer