Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
70 Reviews
1234.928575
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
October 29, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2013

I've worked with Creative aging to mail advertisements to different sources to thoroughly promote the activities/services provided. The flyers are always very informative. Also, I am a member of a Se... more

October 29, 2014

I am a member of a Senior Center where artists from Creative Aging often entertain. They provide well known talented local artists for the entertainment of our members, many of whom are limited in their social activities.
April 12, 2013

I've worked with Creative aging to mail advertisements to different sources to thoroughly promote the activities/services provided. The flyers are always very informative. Also, I am a member of a Senior Center that is fortunately connected with Creative Aging and is often entertained by the many artists provided through them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Creative Aging is a non-profit organization that accomplishes two worthy goals. First of all, it provides a wide variety of artistic programs and on-hands craft activities to a diverse population of seniors citizens. The performances are given in senior communities throughout Shelby County. Secondly, Creative Aging employs local artists who give hundreds of performances each year to thousands of senior citizens. Thus, both local artists and senior citizens benefit from this unique organization.
October 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I work in an Assisted Living for people with dementia and Alzheimer's. My first encounter with Creative Aging was there - we had gathered all the residents together to enjoy the performance of one of... more

October 27, 2014

At our community, our goal is for all activities to be meaningful and purposeful. Creative Aging helps us achieve that goal by offering wonderful performances that engage our seniors and fantastic workshops that bring out the creativity in each of our residents. Never disappointed, the talent that Creative Aging brings to our residents is always professional while delighting our residents and engaging them in meaningful activities. Other communities may say "we can hire performers ourselves" but Creative Aging is much, much more than performances. They bring access to the arts that our residents would no have the opportunity to engage in otherwise.
October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I work in an Assisted Living for people with dementia and Alzheimer's. My first encounter with Creative Aging was there - we had gathered all the residents together to enjoy the performance of one of the Creative Aging musicians. I was suprised to see Ms. Mary there - I had never heard her speak a word, but her daughter was visiting and decided to bring her mom to enjoy the music. The performer that Creative Aging had sent instantly connected with our residents. He sang lots of old songs that our residents were familiar with. He began singing an Elvis tune and walked right up to Ms. Mary and put the microphone to her mouth. I thought, oh no, she can't even speak - this will not go so well. Boy was I surprised when she grab the mic and starting singing along - she knew all the words! I was in tears - happy tears to see her enjoying this so much. You see, sometimes, we may think that the older generation isn't all there - but they are! You just have to find the right way to connect. Creative Aging does this so well - they connect through music, art, spoken word and more. Creative Aging brings joy and smiles to thousands of elder citizens in our community and I highly commend them for the work they do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

We have utilized Creative Aging as an entertainment source for our seniors, for many years...upwards of 8.
They are easy to work with in every single way, whether it be the staff, the entertainers, or even their happy volunteers.
I'm sure we will continue a great working relationship for
many years to come!
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 17, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather The experiences offered by ... more

October 27, 2014

Performing and visual arts groups continually talk about the importance of audience participation or audience engagement. If you were to visit a senior community where a performance or workshop by the Memphis-based Creative Aging was under way, you’d experience the quintessential audience engagement. Here, in a non-traditional setting, artists are up-close and personal – whether musicians, storytellers, painters or weavers. Their work evokes memories, feelings, movement and expressions of joy. Such engagement of seniors offers a sense of pleasure and decreases stress, isolation, loneliness and promotes memory health. You couldn’t find a more appreciative audience not to mention the dedication of the artists.
April 17, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather
The experiences offered by Creative Aging are powerful ways to engage elders in a creative and healing process regardless
of age and level of physical, emotional or cognitive functioning. The organization not only offers up-close, virtuosic performances, but the presenting artists always take time to interact with audience members. The arts have always had the capacity to enrich lives and unlock the human spirit, but Creative Aging offers true essence of the live arts experience. Creative Aging is a distinguished member of both the nonprofit social service and arts communities. Not only does the group offer a needed service to elderly audiences, but it compensates local professional artists.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creative Aging Mid-South is the only nonprofit organization in the greater Memphis area offering quality arts experiences exclusively for seniors where they live and gather. If you were to observe a Creative Aging presentation at a nursing home, assisted living facility or senior community center, you’d see first-hand the power of performance. Participants normally in an unresponsive condition become outwardly exhilarated, energized and joyful. The arts have always had the capacity to enrich lives and unlock the human spirit, but Creative Aging offers true essence of the live arts experience. Creative Aging is a distinguished member of both the nonprofit social service and arts communities. Not only does the group offer a needed service to elderly audiences, but it compensates local professional artists.


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Creative Aging brings smiles to faces; employs young and old talent throughout the city; reunites the elderly with fond memories through music, painting, dramatic readings and the arts in general. Creative Aging is an organization that I am proud to serve.
October 27, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
April 6, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South BRINGS arts to elders in the mid-south. Many of these folks are generally disenfranchised, fragile and underserved as they live in nursing homes. Other seniors who benefit fro... more

October 27, 2014

Creative Aging continues to grow providing more services to seniors in the Greater Memphis area. Creative Aging is unique in that it is the only organization that partners with professional artists and educators to present arts through live productions and hands-on workshops in senior communities.
April 6, 2013

Creative Aging Mid-South BRINGS arts to elders in the mid-south. Many of these folks are generally disenfranchised, fragile and underserved as they live in nursing homes. Other seniors who benefit from over 600 arts performances and workshops a year are in day care centers, assisted living or attend senior centers. The most recent performance I attended was a storytelling performance by a professional storyteller. The audience responded by remembering their own most cherished stories and sharing them with each other. Is there a better way to enhance cognitive and social health? Go online to www.creativeagingmidsouth.org to see how you can support this great nonprofit.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 22, 2011

Just moving to Memphis in June, I was seeking a not-for-profit board opportunity where my time would add value to the lives of the fragile and frail in society. Creative Aging of the MidSouth (CAM) does just that!

CAM provides live art performances to about 40 different older adult
facilities/centers including nursing homes, retirement communities, assisted living and daycare facilities in the Memphis area. Having attending one of these programs, I was amazed at how the performer was able to engage his elderly audience-- seeming to bring them alive as if they were teens again at a blues concerts!

I knew this organization (CAM) was doing the right thing! And I wanted to help.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This organization needs to build name recognition and expand their fundraising opportunities. They recently completed a strategic plan that outlines how best to proceed.

April 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
May 22, 2012

I love Memphis. The things we do in Memphis, change the world. Look at self-serve grocery stores, FedEx, Auto Zone, rock n roll, STAX, College of Art...the list goes on and on. Now you can add Creat... more

April 18, 2013

I am very involved with Memphis-area non-profits, so when I met the folks from Creative Aging a couple of years ago I asked, "What can I do?" That's how I became a board member. And I've done a lot since then, not because I am particularly wonderful, but because they are. The concept of fostering creativity in our senior friends and neighbors is a must. Staying vital, interested, informed and entertained is something we work for our entire lives...not just at 20-something. Add to that the fact that by offering the arts to seniors, Creative Aging also supports the artistic community and you have a win-win. I am humbled by the chance to do something meaningful and lasting...and fun! My dream is for everyone to get to be a senior served by Creative Aging.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2012

I love Memphis. The things we do in Memphis, change the world. Look at self-serve grocery stores, FedEx, Auto Zone, rock n roll, STAX, College of Art...the list goes on and on. Now you can add Creative Aging to the list. Music and art know no boundaries, no 'isms,' no age limits. We have the talent, we have the need and with Creative Aging, we have a way to put them together, singing and dancing and living all the way!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013

more

April 12, 2013

This non-profit is a great vehicle for allowing the Memphis area's many talented seniors an opportunity to perform and offers those looking for entertainers a large and diverse resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

Hello, my name is Lisa Shurden. I am the Civic Affairs Senior Associate for HealthSpring, a Cigna company. HealthSpring cares about its community and seniors. We are proud to be the Premier Sponsor of Creative Aging where they are making a difference in the lives of thousands of seniors through the arts. I am proud to be afflilated with Creative Aging in making a difference in the Memphis community.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Be a host for a performance at one of our member communities. Volunteer