Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a parent, I have seen how Creating Communities bridges the gaps between generations, communities, and the children who live there. Although my children have attended the mentorship academy, I am aware that Creating Communities does more for the community at-large, than simply provide scholarships for students. Services they provide to local shelters and other organizations throughout the county are phenomenal. I am especially fond of the Thanksgiving Dinner they provide, with the help of its many sponsors, annually. What a great organization to be part of!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered at the Summer of Arts & Music Camp Creating Communities offers every year to our local underserved children (Elementary thru High School). Rob Levit pulls together a team of experts in arts & music to lead creative and exciting classes to help these kids express their thoughts, feelings, and aspirations in a new and fun manner. They get physical, mental, and emotional rejuvenation as they participate in this weeklong event. Families & Friends attend a "show" at the end of the week and witness the amazing projects and results of their children's time at this camp. The talent and passion demonstrated by these children and their leaders takes them by surprise. These kids walk taller, with a smile on their face, knowing how much talent they have and cherished they are by this group of local "fans". I have loved attending this closing ceremony for the past 3 years and I'm glad I have had a small part in supporting this effective organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 28, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As Development Director at an addictions treatment center, I was privileged to work with Rob Levit and Creating Communities as part of their music and arts therapy. The program offered to the patients in recovery was nothing less than amazing. Through the use of music, meditation techniques, poetry, painting, and even rap, Rob and the CC volunteers encouraged the patients to use the arts as a healthy expression of emotions and to explore long forgotten dreams and talents. During each weekly 90 minute session, the transformation of the participants was nothing short of miraculous. Even those patients who initially were reluctant to participate were drawn to Rob's enthusiastic, congenial and self-effacing manner. I witnessed many instances of the most hardened, withdrawn patients, many fighting years of addiction find joy in picking up a guitar, a paintbrush, or even putting pen to paper. At the end of each session the overwhelming majority of patients expressed that they would continue to use what they had learned, and that it would help them in their journey to recovery and sobriety. Creating Communities has truly had a life-changing impact on the community they serve.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A very wonderful non-profit!! My wife and I were so moved to work with your students this past summer. You are doing wonders bringing artists into the lives of deserving students. Bravo!! N. Scott Robinson & K.S. Resmi

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Creating Communities is an inspiration! I had the pleasure to volunteer and teach with this awesome organization and always feel so uplifted by every aspect. From the wonderful and very enthusiastic students, amazing and dedicated staff of volunteers, teachers, visiting artists, board members and Rob Levit, there is now doubt Anne Arundel County is a better county because Creating Communities exists.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

As a Professor and Community activist, Creating Communities Corporation was one of the most amazing experiences I had in working with children and teens in sharing my passion but also promoting creativity and the performing arts. The Corporation is well organized and benefits important communities that need the support in gaining access to all of the art forms!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have worked in Anne Arundel County for the past 23 years. I have run programs, worked within programs, and volunteered for programs. From my perspective, Creating Communities is well worth the time and money to help support, or in seeking their programming! I have seen the director, Rob Levit, in action. He is personable, caring, passionate about his work, and provides wonderful opportunities within the community he serves, through Creating Communities. His talent is fantastic and his ability to share his passion for music and the arts is awesome. I also know from personal experience that Creating Communities helps other organizations with their outreach, thereby expanding even further, Creating Communities impact and community outreach. The programs that are run, spare no expense, and if you read the mission, vision, and quick facts, I believe Creating Communities meets and exceeds what is written on paper.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We are a few of the grateful recipients of Creating Communities. As a small local organization, hosting "Sensory Friendly Concerts" in the Annapolis, Maryland region, we are more than happy to shout from the rooftops that our work would not be possible without Creating Communities! And specifically, Rob Levit's belief in us and what we are capable of, as a minority and under-served group in our local community. It would be impossible to for us to continue doing our innovative work in constructing the framework for "equal rights to the fine arts" and celebrating the Neurodiversity Movement within the context of a formal concert venue, unless we had Creating Communities backing us up! Thank you for believing us in!!!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When you see how many people Creating Communities touches in so many ways - it's amazing. Rob is tireless in his efforts and so committed. I aspire to be like him when I grow up.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 26, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am music therapist and huge fan of Creating Communities. The work that Rob Levit does truly falls within the scope and practice of the field of music therapy, though he does not have this credential. I highly suggest to anyone that if they are looking for a professional artist who will "meet them" musically, Rob Levit can do this type of work, in any setting, with any population. He has the heart and passion of true empathetic musician, and a true visionary for a greater local community and a greater world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

1. Volunteer at the Arts Mentorship Academy
2. Serve meals at our Thanksgiving Jam
3. Visit facilities where we provide programs - Light House, Hope House, YWCA Volunteer