Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.853665
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

When I moved to Los Angeles I started spending time learning about the local education system and the limited programs in creative arts within schools as well as the gap in the system for at-risk youth. In the large city of LA, at-risk includes 30,000 kids. Creative arts are an area of not just education but of self expression, helping with communication, critical thinking, empathy, positive association and confidence which are lacking in the lives of at-risk youth. Create Now aims to address this through several incredibly successful programs. The 12-week programs from creative writing to dancing to guitar lessons have proven very impactful and positive. Jill Gurr has countless stories of these youth coming back to thank Create Now for the long-term impact their experience had and how the programs had a ripple effect on their lives and making positive decisions in school, work, family and choosing to contribute to their communities as well. It has been a wonderful experience having involvement with Create Now and working with the other Board Members on expanding the reach of the programs and ensuring its future success!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2011

As a presenter who has done dozens of presentations for kids in detention camps all over the Los Angeles area, I can say that I have helped reshape many kids' lives. These events were all facilitated... more

June 27, 2014

I have been Chairman of the Board, on the board, organized benefits and performed in benefits- all for Create Now. But most importantly, I've worked one on one in my studio and at every detention camp in the LA area with the kids- those kids whose eyes light up when they get a glimpse of the possibility of their potential and who they can be because of artistic influence. I've watched the transformation first hand, mentoring kids whose lives change in a moment, affected by the love, motivation and impact of adults and role models who provide a vehicle of transcendence for them beyond what they have known into what they now know can exist for them. This is what the artistic mentoring and programs can continue to do, but only with your continued support of Create Now...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2011

As a presenter who has done dozens of presentations for kids in detention camps all over the Los Angeles area, I can say that I have helped reshape many kids' lives. These events were all facilitated by Create Now! Imagine what it feels like to see immediate attitude shifts in many of these incarcerated kids and then bring some of these kids into my recording studio and actualize their creative dreams. Feel free to contact me to have me play you some music that these kids have created. This is all because of Create Now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in a board member with seemingly unlimited resources of funding! We need to spend a great deal of time on fund-raising which of course detracts from the programs...

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

With major budget cuts to social services and education, art was the first to get cut. People need to understand how art and creative thinking empowers all youth and Create Now does an exceptional job with very limited resources to engage at-risk youth that have no outlets to feel empowered and to fully express themselves. Creative skills are a must in our competitive world and the programs at Create Now are addressing multiple needs and gaps, primarily with underrepresented youth.

Jill as the ED has been its driving force and it's a labor of love for her because she truly understands how this impacts our community and has experienced the transformation in our youth's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Working to create a succinct strategy to cultivate additional funding resources to increase the number of kids it reaches!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

When you hear about the transformational work that Create Now does with youth at need through creative arts, you want to help. It's amazing to hear all the stories from Jill Gurr about the lives they've transformed. In a time when we are losing our arts due to budget cuts, Create Now provides the most innovative and hands on workshop to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I am really impressed with the important work that Create Now is doing under the direction of Jill Gurr. One of the facilities that we visited had a closed ward - children who are essentially locked up. Jill had them collaborating on painting murals. These kids are the forgotten ones. A little well-placed attention could literally save their lives or steer them away from a lifetime of crime. Unfortunately there are very few programs like Create Now that are entering these facilities and doing this work on a regular basis. Jill knew all the kids and staff by name. She and her crew of staff and volunteers have devoted their lives to helping these children and deserve greater support. That is why I agreed to chair the Create Now Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on strategic planning to better communicate the value of Create Now to donors, sponsors and other stakeholders to expand the programs and reach of the organization into the greater Los Angeles community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

The decision to join the board of Create Now was not made over night. I researched many nonprofits and paid close attention to their leadership team, their mission and vision, their operations, and the impact they have had on their communities. Create Now won my heart. I am proud to help such a great organization reach out to the needy youth and offer them something that is often neglected by everyone who tries to help a needy person; art!.

Create Now has recently donated a very large number of books to children in a lovely event at the park in Los Angeles. Create Now also runs the Promise Neighborhood program where it provides art classes and workshops.

I am very glad I invested my money and time in such a great organization and I encourage everyone to take a closer look at what Create Now does and help in any way possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

I was approached by a former graduate school classmate of mine about getting involved with Create Now. I was always interested in serving and giving back in a meaningful way but never found quite the right organization. Create Now seems to be just the right fit. It serves such a worthy and necessary cause, and it reaches so many young people who can benefit so much from its services that I had to be involved one way or another. Create Now has done a great job reaching the at-risk youth in the community which is why I've volunteered my time to help it grow and become even greater in accomplishing its mission and vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

introduce a more structured approach to providing program services that allows for a narrower and more in depth focus on what the the organization considers to be its differentiating and distinctive strength.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

I learned about Create Now as I was researching arts and education-related nonprofits that served youth in need within Los Angeles. After perusing through the Create Now website and learning more about the organization’s mission, vision, and set of programs, I was impressed by everything the organization had accomplished thus far and the impact it has had on so many children. I knew immediately that I wanted to become deeply involved with Create Now in a very active capacity. Given that the arts and music were such an integral part of my upbringing, I wanted to serve the community via these channels and ensure that all at-risk youth had access and exposure to these creative outlets. I started volunteering as a Marketing Committee member and now serve on the Board of Directors. I am honored to be involved with such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have worked with Create Now in a couple different capacities but first got involved in 2009. It is an amazing organization that provides arts mentoring and many other services to at-risk kids throughout Southern California, many of whom are overlooked. I first learned about Create Now in 2009 and immediately wanted to get involved. I have a background in visual arts, so wanted to work with a group on a series of art-making activities. They referred me to a facility in Torrance where I worked with a group of girls to ultimately create a beautiful mural in their group therapy room. The girls worked together seamlessly, enjoyed the process, and felt empowered by the amazing work they did. The work of Create Now has a great impact on everyone involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 22, 2011

more

April 22, 2011

Create Now is a truly grassroots organization that efficiently manages volunteers and community partnerships to provide creative arts resources for kids most in need of them. The accomplishments Create Now has achieved are truly the result of a labor of love and community effort, led by the vision of a very passionate and caring founder.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally seen kids walk in to a room, arms folded, and upset with their life circumstance (in a homeless shelter or youth detention camp) and walk out proud of the art they have created with a smile on their face. Kids in institutions are forced to follow stringent rules and very strict schedules--the freedom of art--to do what they want with the materials in front of them without anyone telling them what they did was wrong, is so essential to humanity and so lacking in these kids' lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

As with any nonprofit, funding is a constant need. Create Now, with a solid history of accomplishments and very strong community partnerships, is an organization worthy of long-term community investment.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals. Volunteer