Over 1.8 million nonprofits and charities for donors, volunteers and funders

Claim This Nonprofit

More Info

Add to Favorites

Share this Nonprofit

Donate

Volunteering Oportunities

Nonprofit Overview

Causes: Arts & Culture, Arts Education, Children & Youth, Education, Youth Development

Mission: Create Now is a 501 (c)(3) nonprofit organization that helps youth find their voices through arts mentoring and education.

Results: Create Now has reached over 36,000 of the most troubled youth in Southern California during the last 20 years.

Target demographics: We serve vulnerable kids ages 2-21 who have been abused, neglected, abandoned, orphaned, are left homeless, runaways, teen parents, substance abusers, victims of domestic violence, children of prisoners, gang members or incarcerated. These forgotten children have fallen through the cracks of the system. They live in emergency shelters, rehab centers, detention camps and foster group homes, under the radar of the public eye. In addition, Create Now teaches arts education to disadvantaged at-risk youth in Title 1 schools.

Direct beneficiaries per year: Over 3,000 of the neediest youth in the region

Geographic areas served: All of Southern California - Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside, San Bernadino, San Diego, Santa Barbara

Programs: Music, Visual Arts, Writing, Fashion, Digital Media, Performing Arts, Cultural Journeys

Community Stories

62 Stories from Volunteers, Donors & Supporters

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Not only does Create Now provide amazing creative arts mentorship programs for the youth who need them most - foster kids, homeless kids, abused kids, and more - but they send thousands of children to concerts, plays, and other performances that they would NEVER have had the opportunity to attend. I have attended several events with the youth and the response from the kids was overwhelming! These are really life-transforming opportunities.

Previous Stories

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I am an Americorps/VISTA. I was lucky enough to be assigned to Create Now for my year of service to end poverty in the US.

Create Now is a superb organization that provides arts mentoring and services to the most vulnerable youth population in Southern California. Create Now touches thousands of children every year.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 01/20/2011

Thanks for all of your tremendous help Laura! You're doing a great job of helping Create Now to raise essential funds to keep our programs going and we're so grateful to have you on our team!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

working with Create Now has been a very rewarding experience for me. With their assistance I have been able to bring my field of expertise [mythology] to high school youth in LA and in Afghanistan. The young media-makers absorbed and have creatively used the Themes, Symbols, and Archetypes I presented to them in quite impressive ways. It is great to see the before-and-after in person; Create Now helps every participant get real results.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 06/27/2012

Thank you for being such an amazing teacher and mentor!

Debra20

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Young people are at the top of the list as precious, natural resources and it's time we leave the planet to them in ways that they can heal it to the best of their capabilities. The foundation in doing so, is to support their healing to the best of OUR capabilities. This is why CREATE NOW is so vital at this time. So many of our youths are caught in a downward spiral of hopelessness and despair. This non-profit organization supports every artistic and creative alternative to street life, gangs, jail or worse. Every mentor volunteers their time because they care, not because they're getting paid. These young adults have the full opportunity to recognize this special chance in life, for a change. And many of them do. A difference is being made. CREATE NOW and its staff & volunteers, are turning possibility into potential, everyday.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 06/27/2012

Thanks for being such an extraordinary mentor and supporter Debra!

Volunteer

Rating: 4

I volunteered with Hip-Hop Jam and interacted with youth in the foster care system. It was a really amazing experience getting to see Cliff, the hip-hop dancer from Culture Shock, teach everyone the history and basics of bboying. It helped give me ideas about how I might run my own hip-hop class. Overall, I feel that the mentors were really great at showing the kids the positive aspects of hip-hop, and I think the kids involved had a fun time participating in the activities.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 06/27/2012

Thanks Patrick. We're so grateful to have your support this summer.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now is an organization that connects high risk and at risk youth with an outlet to express themselves artistically. They also provide them tickets to plays, concerts and other cultural events that they would otherwise never experience. I have volunteered for them and seen first hand the passion and dedication of their staff. Overall a great non profit!

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 04/01/2012

Thanks for all your support. We need great volunteers like you to serve troubled kids!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now is a fantastic organization that creates innovative art programs for the communities that need them the most! I volunteered to lead a drum circle for an at-risk community in Long Beach and felt so honored to watch youth shine and receive therapy from the artform I love. The staff is friendly and the volunteer projects I do are really wonderful. Plus, I get creative freedom to teach what I love. No other nonprofit give me that opportunity.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/31/2012

Thanks for being such a great volunteer!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now, from my viewpoint, is an amazing organization. The staff’s passionate understanding of at risk kids has built a fantastic arts organization. Working with the kids on the "Mythic Challenges" video projects, along with the teachers in the schools who are using the program, has been a seamless, elegant experience. It is heartening to see how Create Now is picking up the slack when our schools are cutting arts programs. It has been great to roll up my sleeves with them and be guided by such knowledgeable people on the ins and outs of delivering arts to the kids.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/31/2012

Thanks! We love collaborating with you on this amazing program.

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have been volunteering with Create Now since January, and I can say from experience that Create Now goes the extra mile to support their volunteers and others who invest in their cause. As a small nonprofit with limited resources, they still take the time to provide a personal touch and help you understand the impact you are making and the need for that impact in the Los Angeles community. I personally have received extensive training in Salesforce as a part of my volunteer opportunity which not only allowed me to volunteer for the organization, but also provided me personally with important skills development that I'll be able to use in the future. Create Now is one of the best organizations I've ever volunteered for, and if you are here researching organizations you're considering volunteering for, I can tell you that Create Now is the perfect opportunity for making an impact while receiving professional development.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/30/2012

Our Salesforce database is so essential for Create Now's work and we greatly appreciate your support!

1

Volunteer

Rating: 5

Create Now has a really cool program called Artistic Journeys. They provide thousands of kids the opportunity to attend musicals, plays and concerts so that they have the chance to experience live cultural event at premier places like Hollywood Bowl, Disney Concert etc. I've been able to attend these events as a chaperon and the kids are so excited to experience the Ballet or Circus for the first time! Many of us take these opportunities for granted but for these children these events serve as an escape from their lives at shelters and groups homes. The team at Create Now is very dedicated and has a lot of passion for their work.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/30/2012

Thanks for your support. We love our volunteers because without you Create Now wouldn't exist!

Volunteer

Rating: 5

I have seen create now work and the dedicated staff the organization has . I think they do a fantastic work and I congratulate all the persons involved for what they have accomplished.

Comments ( 1 )

profile

create-now 03/29/2012

Thanks Juan. You're a great neighbor and an inspiration for the kids we serve!