Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.853665
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2011

I am an Americorps/VISTA. I was lucky enough to be assigned to Create Now for my year of service to end poverty in the US. Create Now is a superb organization that provides arts mentoring and service... more

June 26, 2012

Not only does Create Now provide amazing creative arts mentorship programs for the youth who need them most - foster kids, homeless kids, abused kids, and more - but they send thousands of children to concerts, plays, and other performances that they would NEVER have had the opportunity to attend. I have attended several events with the youth and the response from the kids was overwhelming! These are really life-transforming opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2011

I am an Americorps/VISTA. I was lucky enough to be assigned to Create Now for my year of service to end poverty in the US.

Create Now is a superb organization that provides arts mentoring and services to the most vulnerable youth population in Southern California. Create Now touches
thousands of children every year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Just this weekend I witnessed foster youth and teen moms delighted by guitar workshops, print making, and crafts. They didn't want to leave.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise the much needed funds to advance the mission of the organization

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

working with Create Now has been a very rewarding experience for me. With their assistance I have been able to bring my field of expertise [mythology] to high school youth in LA and in Afghanistan. The young media-makers absorbed and have creatively used the Themes, Symbols, and Archetypes I presented to them in quite impressive ways. It is great to see the before-and-after in person; Create Now helps every participant get real results.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Young people are at the top of the list as precious, natural resources and it's time we leave the planet to them in ways that they can heal it to the best of their capabilities. The foundation in doing so, is to support their healing to the best of OUR capabilities. This is why CREATE NOW is so vital at this time. So many of our youths are caught in a downward spiral of hopelessness and despair. This non-profit organization supports every artistic and creative alternative to street life, gangs, jail or worse. Every mentor volunteers their time because they care, not because they're getting paid. These young adults have the full opportunity to recognize this special chance in life, for a change. And many of them do. A difference is being made. CREATE NOW and its staff & volunteers, are turning possibility into potential, everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I volunteered with Hip-Hop Jam and interacted with youth in the foster care system. It was a really amazing experience getting to see Cliff, the hip-hop dancer from Culture Shock, teach everyone the history and basics of bboying. It helped give me ideas about how I might run my own hip-hop class. Overall, I feel that the mentors were really great at showing the kids the positive aspects of hip-hop, and I think the kids involved had a fun time participating in the activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

Create Now is a top notch organization that serves some of the most troubled children, teens and young adults in Southern California. Create Now helps them through art therapy, giving them an opportunity to heal through art and also discover their own hidden talents. Their programs range from graphic arts to music, dance, writing, film making, photography and much more. The mentors who run the programs are talented professionals who volunteer their valuable time to help make an impact. This is a fantastic organization that deserves your support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

Create Now is an organization that connects high risk and at risk youth with an outlet to express themselves artistically. They also provide them tickets to plays, concerts and other cultural events that they would otherwise never experience. I have volunteered for them and seen first hand the passion and dedication of their staff. Overall a great non profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Create Now is a fantastic organization that creates innovative art programs for the communities that need them the most! I volunteered to lead a drum circle for an at-risk community in Long Beach and felt so honored to watch youth shine and receive therapy from the artform I love. The staff is friendly and the volunteer projects I do are really wonderful. Plus, I get creative freedom to teach what I love. No other nonprofit give me that opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Create Now, from my viewpoint, is an amazing organization. The staff’s passionate understanding of at risk kids has built a fantastic arts organization. Working with the kids on the "Mythic Challenges" video projects, along with the teachers in the schools who are using the program, has been a seamless, elegant experience. It is heartening to see how Create Now is picking up the slack when our schools are cutting arts programs. It has been great to roll up my sleeves with them and be guided by such knowledgeable people on the ins and outs of delivering arts to the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have been volunteering with Create Now since January, and I can say from experience that Create Now goes the extra mile to support their volunteers and others who invest in their cause. As a small nonprofit with limited resources, they still take the time to provide a personal touch and help you understand the impact you are making and the need for that impact in the Los Angeles community. I personally have received extensive training in Salesforce as a part of my volunteer opportunity which not only allowed me to volunteer for the organization, but also provided me personally with important skills development that I'll be able to use in the future. Create Now is one of the best organizations I've ever volunteered for, and if you are here researching organizations you're considering volunteering for, I can tell you that Create Now is the perfect opportunity for making an impact while receiving professional development.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Create Now has a really cool program called Artistic Journeys. They provide thousands of kids the opportunity to attend musicals, plays and concerts so that they have the chance to experience live cultural event at premier places like Hollywood Bowl, Disney Concert etc. I've been able to attend these events as a chaperon and the kids are so excited to experience the Ballet or Circus for the first time! Many of us take these opportunities for granted but for these children these events serve as an escape from their lives at shelters and groups homes. The team at Create Now is very dedicated and has a lot of passion for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals. Volunteer