Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.853665
| 1 2 3 4...8 |
Write A Review
May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

I learned about Create Now as I was researching arts and education-related nonprofits that served youth in need within Los Angeles. After perusing through the Create Now website and learning more about the organization’s mission, vision, and set of programs, I was impressed by everything the organization had accomplished thus far and the impact it has had on so many children. I knew immediately that I wanted to become deeply involved with Create Now in a very active capacity. Given that the arts and music were such an integral part of my upbringing, I wanted to serve the community via these channels and ensure that all at-risk youth had access and exposure to these creative outlets. I started volunteering as a Marketing Committee member and now serve on the Board of Directors. I am honored to be involved with such a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 22, 2013

more

May 22, 2013

I volunteered with this organization for 5 months, and worked closely with several of its core members. It was a delight to serve with them, a team which had a good sense of humor and which put in hard work to keep the nonprofit running smoothly. I also had the chance to go to a couple of the workshops Create Now put on for their youth - one was a mural project, which I enjoyed participating in. I appreciate the fact that they work with kids that don't get enough of society's attention.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 10, 2012

more

July 10, 2012

Create Now has been a partner with us for over a year. Through their collaboration and dedication, we have been able to provide art programs in our community; art programs that include singing, dancing, theater, mural workshops, and hip hop to name a few.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When they come to our childcare center and provide arts programs!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them secure more funder to expand their outreach.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

They have a variety of programs they offer. They also have a wide range of talented volunteers who are equally dedicated when working with community agenices.

June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was very impressed with the speed in which my volunteer application was processed and my assignment was given. Create Now is very well organized. It is a wonderful non-profit that makes a huge difference in the lives of at risk youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

this organization helped connect me with a local volunteer opportunity. I was trained, introduced and helped with obtainging supplies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

This nonprofit has impressed me more than any other I've run across in the last decade. They do so much, for so many at-risk kids, with so little! They are well run, well organized and have a great vision for the future. I have been so impressed with how they reach out to the community, and involve kids in programs around the world. They are really giving young people the chance to envision different lives with more hope and possibility. A+

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have worked with Create Now in a couple different capacities but first got involved in 2009. It is an amazing organization that provides arts mentoring and many other services to at-risk kids throughout Southern California, many of whom are overlooked. I first learned about Create Now in 2009 and immediately wanted to get involved. I have a background in visual arts, so wanted to work with a group on a series of art-making activities. They referred me to a facility in Torrance where I worked with a group of girls to ultimately create a beautiful mural in their group therapy room. The girls worked together seamlessly, enjoyed the process, and felt empowered by the amazing work they did. The work of Create Now has a great impact on everyone involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

When I visited Create Now's Open House, I saw may young people from foster homes actively engaged in many activities from painting to guitar playing. Create Now is an organization which helps young people feel a sense of belonging by offering them classes and other opportunities that make their lives more fulfilling. The key word is "create."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I've helped with a few Create Now events, and there's few non profits I've worked with that are this dedicated to their cause. I would recommend working with them to anyone looking for a cause to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Create Now is a unique and remarkable nonprofit making a tangible difference in the lives of the at-risk youth it serves. It is innovative and flexible, constantly responding to the needs of its communities with new programs in spite of challenging economic times. Create Now has helped thousands of troubled youth find a new, productive path for themselves through writing, painting, music and other performance arts. Founder Jill Gurr's passion, experience and thought leadership on the power of transforming young lives through mentoring has positioned Create Now as one of LA's leading nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals. Volunteer