Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 3 4...7 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

I volunteered with Hip-Hop Jam and interacted with youth in the foster care system. It was a really amazing experience getting to see Cliff, the hip-hop dancer from Culture Shock, teach everyone the history and basics of bboying. It helped give me ideas about how I might run my own hip-hop class. Overall, I feel that the mentors were really great at showing the kids the positive aspects of hip-hop, and I think the kids involved had a fun time participating in the activities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

Create Now is a top notch organization that serves some of the most troubled children, teens and young adults in Southern California. Create Now helps them through art therapy, giving them an opportunity to heal through art and also discover their own hidden talents. Their programs range from graphic arts to music, dance, writing, film making, photography and much more. The mentors who run the programs are talented professionals who volunteer their valuable time to help make an impact. This is a fantastic organization that deserves your support!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 31, 2012

more

March 31, 2012

Create Now is an organization that connects high risk and at risk youth with an outlet to express themselves artistically. They also provide them tickets to plays, concerts and other cultural events that they would otherwise never experience. I have volunteered for them and seen first hand the passion and dedication of their staff. Overall a great non profit!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Create Now is a fantastic organization that creates innovative art programs for the communities that need them the most! I volunteered to lead a drum circle for an at-risk community in Long Beach and felt so honored to watch youth shine and receive therapy from the artform I love. The staff is friendly and the volunteer projects I do are really wonderful. Plus, I get creative freedom to teach what I love. No other nonprofit give me that opportunity.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 30, 2012

more

March 30, 2012

Create Now, from my viewpoint, is an amazing organization. The staff’s passionate understanding of at risk kids has built a fantastic arts organization. Working with the kids on the "Mythic Challenges" video projects, along with the teachers in the schools who are using the program, has been a seamless, elegant experience. It is heartening to see how Create Now is picking up the slack when our schools are cutting arts programs. It has been great to roll up my sleeves with them and be guided by such knowledgeable people on the ins and outs of delivering arts to the kids.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

I have been volunteering with Create Now since January, and I can say from experience that Create Now goes the extra mile to support their volunteers and others who invest in their cause. As a small nonprofit with limited resources, they still take the time to provide a personal touch and help you understand the impact you are making and the need for that impact in the Los Angeles community. I personally have received extensive training in Salesforce as a part of my volunteer opportunity which not only allowed me to volunteer for the organization, but also provided me personally with important skills development that I'll be able to use in the future. Create Now is one of the best organizations I've ever volunteered for, and if you are here researching organizations you're considering volunteering for, I can tell you that Create Now is the perfect opportunity for making an impact while receiving professional development.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Create Now has a really cool program called Artistic Journeys. They provide thousands of kids the opportunity to attend musicals, plays and concerts so that they have the chance to experience live cultural event at premier places like Hollywood Bowl, Disney Concert etc. I've been able to attend these events as a chaperon and the kids are so excited to experience the Ballet or Circus for the first time! Many of us take these opportunities for granted but for these children these events serve as an escape from their lives at shelters and groups homes. The team at Create Now is very dedicated and has a lot of passion for their work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

As a former art teacher in an inner-city school district, I believe that the work that Create Now is doing is vital. Typically, kids in a public school will receive only 45 minutes of arts instruction a week, some receive none at all. Los Angeles is a city where it's under consideration to cut 300 arts educator positions from LAUSD, meaning that despite having one of the largest concentrations of artists, LA is a city where only those families who can afford private school will be exposed to the arts. Create Now fills an important role by providing not only arts instruction to an underserved, vulnerable population but also provides these children with guidance and support if they choose the arts as a career path. Create Now and organizations like it are supporting the next generation of artists in LA who will be diverse in their viewpoints rather than a homogenized group of upper-class citizens.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 29, 2012

more

March 29, 2012

Create Now serves vulnerable kids ages 2-25 who have been abused, neglected, abandoned, orphaned, are left homeless, runaways, teen parents, substance abusers, victims of domestic violence, children of prisoners, gang members or incarcerated. The youth they serve come from poverty-stricken families with histories of violence, substance abuse, or neglect. As a parent, the thought of any child having to deal with these types of difficulties so early in life is tough to think about. They are simply not fortunate enough to have the opportunities that many of us take for granted on a daily basis.

Through their efforts, they match these kids and youth with mentors across Southern California, and provide healing through the arts and a positive outlet to express themselves.
The work that Create Now and their founder Jill Gurr does on a daily basis is extraordinary.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 28, 2012

more

March 28, 2012

I have seen create now work and the dedicated staff the organization has . I think they do a fantastic work and I congratulate all the persons involved for what they have accomplished.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals.