Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
82 Reviews
1234.853665
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

The decision to join the board of Create Now was not made over night. I researched many nonprofits and paid close attention to their leadership team, their mission and vision, their operations, and the impact they have had on their communities. Create Now won my heart. I am proud to help such a great organization reach out to the needy youth and offer them something that is often neglected by everyone who tries to help a needy person; art!.

Create Now has recently donated a very large number of books to children in a lovely event at the park in Los Angeles. Create Now also runs the Promise Neighborhood program where it provides art classes and workshops.

I am very glad I invested my money and time in such a great organization and I encourage everyone to take a closer look at what Create Now does and help in any way possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2014

more

June 14, 2014

Create Now understands the at-risk youth population and knows how to make a positive impact on their lives. With so many children served each year by their thoughtful programming, it's truly worth investing your time and money into this organization. I confidently place many of Create Now's artist mentors in the programs at Vista Del Mar Child and Family Services. The youth we serve are some of the most challenged youth in Southern California. The Create Now artists work patiently with our youth and meet their individual needs on a consistent basis. The artists are truly skilled professional teaching artists and they bring so much passion and excitement every time they are here. We are so grateful for Create Now's continued partnership!!!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

Create Now fills a massively important role needed in our community to help kids, teenagers, and young adults find doorways and pathways to an expressive and healing life through the arts. It's really wonderful to see these young people find an avenue of support for enjoyment, inspiration, and stimulation to their minds and hearts!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2013

more


1 previous review
September 24, 2010

Create now is a wonderful organization that helps and has helped at-risk youth become inspired to do things they never thought possible. It quite literally has saved the lives of kids that have come t... more

June 27, 2013

I've been involved with Create Now! since 2005. I'm proof that this organization is of great benefit to those who seek the help of the folks who work here. As a former at-risk youth, I was offered the chance to change my life via music. I was introduced to a couple of mentors' and was given my very own Alto Saxophone. Recently, Create Now's founder got word that my horn was currently out of commission, and she was kind enough to present me with a brad new one so I can continue to practice toward my goal: to be come an international Jazz musician. Thanks Create Now! for being there every step of the way and supporting me in every way possible!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't make any changes. Create Now runs as any well- organized organization should.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2010

Create now is a wonderful organization that helps and has helped at-risk youth become inspired to do things they never thought possible. It quite literally has saved the lives of kids that have come to the organization's offices with something as simple as a one-hour lesson with someone who wants to make a difference in people's lives. This wonderful organization needs all the help it can get in order to keep creating life experiences that will last a lifetime.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was mentored by Smooth Jazz alto saxophonist Michael Lington for an hour, and it changed my life. I never thought that something as simple a one music lesson could change a person so dramatically.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could make changes in this organization, I would get as many people as possible involved in making a difference in people's lives by taking the time to mentor a teen who wants and needs an outlet to express themselves.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

The chance to make a complete turnaround in my life, and motivate others to the same.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Some of the greatest people I have ever met. Their giving attitudes are what have motivated me to also give back.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

move into a bigger office in order to have more space to conduct things like workshops, music lessons, motivational workshops and painting for kids and teens who want to find a way to express themselves.

Ways to make it better...

My experience would've been better if this organization could motivate other musicians to give their time to a great cause.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

It's economic state, the lack of publicity, the lack of mentors.

One thing I'd also say is that...

If everyone could at least give one dollar to help out this organization, it would make a huge difference in the lives of so many kids who need it. It would also be great if people with any kind of skill could lend their time to mentor one of these kids.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

I had the pleasure of volunteering at a Create Now event while on vacation and can honestly say it was one of the highlights of my entire trip. While not professionally involved in the arts myself, the staff and other volunteers were easily able to identify my skill sets that would be the most beneficial to them and I had the opportunity to help run the donation table at an art exhibition fundraiser. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and most importantly passionate about their cause and that enthusiasm was clearly reflected in the exhibition attendees. Beyond the personal gratification of participating in a successful fundraiser, I also got the pleasure of meeting and interacting with groups of people I would otherwise never have met, all while helping a wonderful cause. I hope to be able to continue providing assistance remotely if possible and will definitely check in with them again the next time I'm in the LA area.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 25, 2013

more

June 25, 2013

Through a friend, I'd heard that Create Now was allocating some space to be used for recording purposes. As an audio professional I'd offered my experience and knowledge to advise on the best set up, usage, and recording practices of the space and equipment. They valued my expertise and appreciated every moment I was able to give to helping them get the most out of their set up. I am always happy to help this nonprofit whenever they happen to have questions I am able to answer, and feel that their efforts are nothing but positive to the community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

I found out what Create Now great work and immediately contacted them. I wanted to get involved, I already worked with youth in different areas and I see how much art can affect them, no matter the medium. When I met with them, I saw a studio they were building to give youth a chance to record their dreams, with equipment they could not afford otherwise and it was good audio tech. I can not wait to work with them more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would just keep funding them, they have alot of great ideas and goals. Why stop them, I would only enable them more so.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 29, 2013

more

May 29, 2013

Create Now is a wonderful organization that helps kids learn and grow through artistic experiences. I could not be more thrilled with my experience so far, I can't wait to continue my future volunteering with them. I am getting ready to become an art mentor in a 12 week program at a homeless shelter. I can't wait! If there is any non-profit you should volunteer with in LA, it is Create Now.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

I was approached by a former graduate school classmate of mine about getting involved with Create Now. I was always interested in serving and giving back in a meaningful way but never found quite the right organization. Create Now seems to be just the right fit. It serves such a worthy and necessary cause, and it reaches so many young people who can benefit so much from its services that I had to be involved one way or another. Create Now has done a great job reaching the at-risk youth in the community which is why I've volunteered my time to help it grow and become even greater in accomplishing its mission and vision.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

introduce a more structured approach to providing program services that allows for a narrower and more in depth focus on what the the organization considers to be its differentiating and distinctive strength.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 24, 2013

more

May 24, 2013

I have had the opportunity to be invloved with Create Now for the last year. It has been a pleasure getting to know Jill, the staff, and others involved with supporting Create Now and their mission. Seeing their hearts and love for serving these kids in our cities and realizing that passion is truly authentic has been very encouraging. Not only have I been able to exeperience this authenticity for serving, I have also witnessed all the hard work and effort the staff puts into making every available opportunity and experience for the children a lasting, positive, and memorable one.



More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals. Volunteer