Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.826095
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 29, 2012

more

June 29, 2012

I was very impressed with the speed in which my volunteer application was processed and my assignment was given. Create Now is very well organized. It is a wonderful non-profit that makes a huge difference in the lives of at risk youth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 28, 2012

more

June 28, 2012

this organization helped connect me with a local volunteer opportunity. I was trained, introduced and helped with obtainging supplies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

This nonprofit has impressed me more than any other I've run across in the last decade. They do so much, for so many at-risk kids, with so little! They are well run, well organized and have a great vision for the future. I have been so impressed with how they reach out to the community, and involve kids in programs around the world. They are really giving young people the chance to envision different lives with more hope and possibility. A+

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I have worked with Create Now in a couple different capacities but first got involved in 2009. It is an amazing organization that provides arts mentoring and many other services to at-risk kids throughout Southern California, many of whom are overlooked. I first learned about Create Now in 2009 and immediately wanted to get involved. I have a background in visual arts, so wanted to work with a group on a series of art-making activities. They referred me to a facility in Torrance where I worked with a group of girls to ultimately create a beautiful mural in their group therapy room. The girls worked together seamlessly, enjoyed the process, and felt empowered by the amazing work they did. The work of Create Now has a great impact on everyone involved.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

When I visited Create Now's Open House, I saw may young people from foster homes actively engaged in many activities from painting to guitar playing. Create Now is an organization which helps young people feel a sense of belonging by offering them classes and other opportunities that make their lives more fulfilling. The key word is "create."

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 27, 2012

more

June 27, 2012

I've helped with a few Create Now events, and there's few non profits I've worked with that are this dedicated to their cause. I would recommend working with them to anyone looking for a cause to help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Create Now is a unique and remarkable nonprofit making a tangible difference in the lives of the at-risk youth it serves. It is innovative and flexible, constantly responding to the needs of its communities with new programs in spite of challenging economic times. Create Now has helped thousands of troubled youth find a new, productive path for themselves through writing, painting, music and other performance arts. Founder Jill Gurr's passion, experience and thought leadership on the power of transforming young lives through mentoring has positioned Create Now as one of LA's leading nonprofits.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more


1 previous review
January 19, 2011

I am an Americorps/VISTA. I was lucky enough to be assigned to Create Now for my year of service to end poverty in the US. Create Now is a superb organization that provides arts mentoring and service... more

June 26, 2012

Not only does Create Now provide amazing creative arts mentorship programs for the youth who need them most - foster kids, homeless kids, abused kids, and more - but they send thousands of children to concerts, plays, and other performances that they would NEVER have had the opportunity to attend. I have attended several events with the youth and the response from the kids was overwhelming! These are really life-transforming opportunities.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 19, 2011

I am an Americorps/VISTA. I was lucky enough to be assigned to Create Now for my year of service to end poverty in the US.

Create Now is a superb organization that provides arts mentoring and services to the most vulnerable youth population in Southern California. Create Now touches
thousands of children every year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Just this weekend I witnessed foster youth and teen moms delighted by guitar workshops, print making, and crafts. They didn't want to leave.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Raise the much needed funds to advance the mission of the organization

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

working with Create Now has been a very rewarding experience for me. With their assistance I have been able to bring my field of expertise [mythology] to high school youth in LA and in Afghanistan. The young media-makers absorbed and have creatively used the Themes, Symbols, and Archetypes I presented to them in quite impressive ways. It is great to see the before-and-after in person; Create Now helps every participant get real results.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 26, 2012

more

June 26, 2012

Young people are at the top of the list as precious, natural resources and it's time we leave the planet to them in ways that they can heal it to the best of their capabilities. The foundation in doing so, is to support their healing to the best of OUR capabilities. This is why CREATE NOW is so vital at this time. So many of our youths are caught in a downward spiral of hopelessness and despair. This non-profit organization supports every artistic and creative alternative to street life, gangs, jail or worse. Every mentor volunteers their time because they care, not because they're getting paid. These young adults have the full opportunity to recognize this special chance in life, for a change. And many of them do. A difference is being made. CREATE NOW and its staff & volunteers, are turning possibility into potential, everyday.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals.