Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
81 Reviews
1234.851855
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

Create Now is an amazing organization that's filling a much needed void in the Los Angeles community. Through mentorship and arts education, thousands of kids are getting the motivation, inspiration, and confidence to thrive in any field, especially the arts. I've thoroughly enjoyed working with Jill, the Executive Director, and volunteering on behalf of the organization. I'd recommend it to anyone looking to get involved and make a true and positive impact on a child's life as well as the greater community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 6, 2014

more

July 6, 2014

Create Now is an amazing organization that makes a direct impact in the lives of those who need it the most. I have been able to witness firsthand how passionate Jill and everyone involved in the organization is in bringing creative arts mentoring and opportunities to at-risk youth. Art truly does heal and Create Now does everything they can to make a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

When I moved to Los Angeles I started spending time learning about the local education system and the limited programs in creative arts within schools as well as the gap in the system for at-risk youth. In the large city of LA, at-risk includes 30,000 kids. Creative arts are an area of not just education but of self expression, helping with communication, critical thinking, empathy, positive association and confidence which are lacking in the lives of at-risk youth. Create Now aims to address this through several incredibly successful programs. The 12-week programs from creative writing to dancing to guitar lessons have proven very impactful and positive. Jill Gurr has countless stories of these youth coming back to thank Create Now for the long-term impact their experience had and how the programs had a ripple effect on their lives and making positive decisions in school, work, family and choosing to contribute to their communities as well. It has been a wonderful experience having involvement with Create Now and working with the other Board Members on expanding the reach of the programs and ensuring its future success!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

When I decided to volunteer, I researched high and low looking for an organization with a long history of using the arts to help youth. Once I found Create Now, I knew I had found the perfect organization to volunteer for. I met with Jill Gurr, the Executive Director, and I was moved by her passion, drive and commitment. To meet someone, who after serving the youth of Los Angeles for 18 years, can still make a significant impact, is inspiring. I am a firm believer in art as a therapeutic form of expression, and Jill has created so many programs and resources for our youth to heal, think creatively and make their lives better.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more


1 previous review
April 24, 2011

As a presenter who has done dozens of presentations for kids in detention camps all over the Los Angeles area, I can say that I have helped reshape many kids' lives. These events were all facilitated... more

June 27, 2014

I have been Chairman of the Board, on the board, organized benefits and performed in benefits- all for Create Now. But most importantly, I've worked one on one in my studio and at every detention camp in the LA area with the kids- those kids whose eyes light up when they get a glimpse of the possibility of their potential and who they can be because of artistic influence. I've watched the transformation first hand, mentoring kids whose lives change in a moment, affected by the love, motivation and impact of adults and role models who provide a vehicle of transcendence for them beyond what they have known into what they now know can exist for them. This is what the artistic mentoring and programs can continue to do, but only with your continued support of Create Now...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 24, 2011

As a presenter who has done dozens of presentations for kids in detention camps all over the Los Angeles area, I can say that I have helped reshape many kids' lives. These events were all facilitated by Create Now! Imagine what it feels like to see immediate attitude shifts in many of these incarcerated kids and then bring some of these kids into my recording studio and actualize their creative dreams. Feel free to contact me to have me play you some music that these kids have created. This is all because of Create Now.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring in a board member with seemingly unlimited resources of funding! We need to spend a great deal of time on fund-raising which of course detracts from the programs...

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

With major budget cuts to social services and education, art was the first to get cut. People need to understand how art and creative thinking empowers all youth and Create Now does an exceptional job with very limited resources to engage at-risk youth that have no outlets to feel empowered and to fully express themselves. Creative skills are a must in our competitive world and the programs at Create Now are addressing multiple needs and gaps, primarily with underrepresented youth.

Jill as the ED has been its driving force and it's a labor of love for her because she truly understands how this impacts our community and has experienced the transformation in our youth's lives.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Working to create a succinct strategy to cultivate additional funding resources to increase the number of kids it reaches!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

When you hear about the transformational work that Create Now does with youth at need through creative arts, you want to help. It's amazing to hear all the stories from Jill Gurr about the lives they've transformed. In a time when we are losing our arts due to budget cuts, Create Now provides the most innovative and hands on workshop to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2014

more

June 26, 2014

I am really impressed with the important work that Create Now is doing under the direction of Jill Gurr. One of the facilities that we visited had a closed ward - children who are essentially locked up. Jill had them collaborating on painting murals. These kids are the forgotten ones. A little well-placed attention could literally save their lives or steer them away from a lifetime of crime. Unfortunately there are very few programs like Create Now that are entering these facilities and doing this work on a regular basis. Jill knew all the kids and staff by name. She and her crew of staff and volunteers have devoted their lives to helping these children and deserve greater support. That is why I agreed to chair the Create Now Board.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Focus on strategic planning to better communicate the value of Create Now to donors, sponsors and other stakeholders to expand the programs and reach of the organization into the greater Los Angeles community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 20, 2014

more

June 20, 2014

Today I led my first "singing" workshop at Los Angeles Family Housing, with the help of Create Now. The program was a huge success, and I went home feeling very accomplished. This summer I was inspired to volunteer, and to use my talents in order to enlighten those who are less fortunate than me. Within one week of contacting Create Now, I was in touch with Jill, and she set me up with LA Family Housing to lead this 6-week singing workshop. I am so grateful for this opportunity! I can't wait to go back next week and see the kids, who I already feel a special bond with! I love that I am making a difference.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2014

more

June 15, 2014

The decision to join the board of Create Now was not made over night. I researched many nonprofits and paid close attention to their leadership team, their mission and vision, their operations, and the impact they have had on their communities. Create Now won my heart. I am proud to help such a great organization reach out to the needy youth and offer them something that is often neglected by everyone who tries to help a needy person; art!.

Create Now has recently donated a very large number of books to children in a lovely event at the park in Los Angeles. Create Now also runs the Promise Neighborhood program where it provides art classes and workshops.

I am very glad I invested my money and time in such a great organization and I encourage everyone to take a closer look at what Create Now does and help in any way possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Teach creative arts to youth or help Create Now to grow as an organization to meet our goals. Volunteer