Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
180 Reviews
1234.95
Write A Review
October 15, 2013

more

October 15, 2013

I discovered Crayons to Classrooms about 3 years ago when my corporation adopted them as our charity for the year. What an extremely well run organization! Crayons to Classrooms provides school supplies for teachers and their classroom for underserved schools. They allow teachers that qualify to come to the store to shop two times a year. Each shopping trip values over $600! Imagine the impact that is making on the classrooms for these children! The fundraising is well thought out. They have volunteers from all sectors of the community on a daily basis...from corporate volunteers to individuals and students who are volunteering in order to earn a shopping trip for a teacher that might not otherwise qualify. Excellent program. Well ran. Dedicated to the students and their teachers. Dedicated to educating our youth. Bravo Dayton Crayons to Classrooms!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Dayton Crayons to Classrooms is only five years old. I wish we could find a way to let their story/mission be known by the whole community, for right now it's the hidden gem!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

The staff and volunteers at Crayons To Classrooms are amazing! The work they do has such a tremendous impact on the lives of students, teachers and families in dozens of schools. They work smart and they work hard, and make the most of the precious resources entrusted to their care.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it and have it grow to help even more people.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 10, 2013

more

October 10, 2013

Crayons to Classrooms is an amazing organization that allows teachers from schools with a high percentage of students on the free or reduced lunch program to "shop for school supplies" for their students. The shopping spree is totally free. When I volunteer to help during these shopping visits, I hear comments like "This is just like Christmas" and "I can't believe we are getting all these supplies for free". It is heart-warming to know our students most in need are getting the supplies they need to succeed in school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

Crayons to Classrooms touches the lives of countless educators and children, in ways few of us could imagine. As a board member and administrator for one of Ohio's largest urban districts, I have witnessed how a gift of basic school supplies can transform and energize a classroom of young learners. Since opening their doors in 2009, Dayton Crayons to Classrooms (DC2C) has provided over $2 million in school supplies to teachers of students in need. DC2C is a free resource center for teachers from under-funded K-12 schools serving children who live in poverty in the Miami Valley area of Ohio. In partnership with local businesses, individual donors, and community volunteers, DC2C lifts at-risk children's level and love of learning by providing them the basic school supplies that are essential to academic achievement at no cost to the children's teachers, families, or schools.



More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2010

more

September 27, 2010

I work for a public school district, where the vast majority of our students are eligible for free and reduced-price meals and teachers use their own money to buy the most basic school supplies so students won't have to do without. Last year Crayons to Classrooms made it possible for educators from 13 of our schools to shop in their free store for teachers. At the end of the school year, our students benefited from those trips with supplies totaling more than $22,000. No other program in our area has done what Crayons to Classrooms has done--they addressed a need that no other agency has filled.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have seen the amazement on the faces of teachers when told to select--at no cost to them--the materials and supplies they need from the fully-stocked shelves in Crayons to Classrooms store. They leave with shopping carts piled high and tears of joy.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers