Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
April 12, 2013

I used to volunteer at another place, until I found out they weren't really no-kill as they claimed, the staff was very cliquey and avoided associating with mere volunteers, and you never knew where t... more

April 17, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I just can't say enough good things about Cozy Cat Cottage, a no-kill cat shelter in Powell Ohio. I tell everyone who is considering adopting a cat, or is looking for a place to volunteer. People who visit for the first time often comment on how clean the place looks and smells, and the volunteers work every day to keep it so, because a clean environment is a healthy environment for the cats. I like to point out that one of the perks of being a cleaning volunteer is that after the work is done, we get to play with the cats. Its fun for us, and good for the cats, socializing them to lots of people, and increasing their chances of getting adopted quickly. I'm also an adopter, and the first cat I brought home acclimated amazingly fast to my home and my other cats, because she got a lot of attention at the shelter. Cats who are shy get lots of TLC to help them transition to the shelter environment.

Cozy Cat Cottage is one of the few places in Central Ohio who will take orphan kittens who must be bottle fed, and pregnant cats or cats with babies, who need a safe place to raise their kittens. Cozy Cat has a wonderful group of foster homes for these little ones, until they are big enough to be spayed/neutered and put up for adoption. Cindi Clum-Oppenheimener, the Executive Director, takes the responsibility to bottle feed most of the babies who do not have moms, and from spring until fall, she has assorted babies she tirelessly hand feeds, 24/7 (Cindi you are amazing!) In most shelters, the directors do not do much of the care for the animals. Not true for Cozy Cat. Here, everyone in charge is hands on, and does everything from paper work, to adoptions, to litter box scooping.

All of the feline residents are lovingly looked after and cared for. Cats who are sick are treated promptly by our amazing vet techs (Amy, you are awesome!). Even if the cat has a serious illness, it is cared for, treated, can run up large vet bills, as the shelter tries to cure it. Most places just kill cats who are sick, they don't want to pay to treat them. Not Cozy Cat. The only time cats are put down for an illness is if it is not treatable to allow the cat to have a quality of life. Cozy Cat does not let cats suffer, and every decision to end a life is carefully considered, and with many tears by everyone who knew the cat.

Cozy Cat has been expanding its presence in Central Ohio. In addition to spay/neutering shelter cats, it now has a program to provide low or no cost spays and neuters for the public. Cindi is trying to increase the number of days the shelter can offer public spay/neuters. Another recent program she has started is a low-cost vet day, for people to be able to bring their cats in for basic checkups, vaccinations and microchipping. Being low income should not deter people from providing medical care for their cats.

Cozy Cat has other public outreach services too. It works with cat colony caretakers and TNR (trap-neuter-return) workers to get strays and feral cats spayed and neutered so they do not produce more unwanted cats. When it has room to take in some of the friendlies or kittens who find themselves out on the street, it does. All of the cats at Cozy Cat Cottage come from hoarding, abuse or off the streets situations. Cozy Cat is trying to start a cat food bank, to help colony caretakers feed the cats they are looking after. The shelter works with a group that helps homeless people, who often have pets too. If the cats are sick, Cozy Cat helps treat them, and when it has room, it will take in kittens from homeless camps, and spay and neuter the parent cats.

Cozy Cat works to help people keep their cats, rather than giving them up to a shelter, where if it is not no-kill, the cat will surely die. They provide advice, and sometimes even medicine for free, until the person can see a vet for their sick cat. If there are behavioral issues, the shelter tries to help people deal with these issues, so the cat can stay in the home. As wonderful as Cozy Cat Cottage is, it is not better than a forever home, especially if the cat is old and then shelter life is often overwhelming for the cat.

As you see, I could write a book, to sing all the praises for Cozy Cat Cottage. I will end with two final comments though. The first is that Cozy Cat Cottage is always in need of donations to keep all this work going. It takes supplies donations (find the list on the website at cozycatcottage.org), and it is always in need of monetary donations for medical expenses and other bills. When you donate money to Cozy Cat Cottage, you can be sure that 100% of that goes to care for the feline residents. There are no fancy offices, huge salaries, or such that are paid for with your donation dollars. Very few groups can say that. Cozy Cat Cottage is very transparent about how it spends its money; again something few groups can claim, and certainly is not true of national organizations who claim to care for animals. You get the greatest bang for your bucks to help cats, when you donate to Cozy Cat Cottage.

And my final comment (congratulations for reading this far), is that Cozy Cat Cottage has a very active Face Book page https://www.facebook.com/groups/cozycat/ Stop by, join, and see what goes on at the shelter.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I sometimes dream about winning the lottery, when the cash amount is really high. If I won, I'd give a huge chunk of it to Cozy Cat Cottage. What other ways can you change awesome?

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I used to volunteer at another place, until I found out they weren't really no-kill as they claimed, the staff was very cliquey and avoided associating with mere volunteers, and you never knew where the money went. What a difference at Cozy Cat Cottage! The only reason cats are euthanized is if they are too sick or injured to get well and are suffering. Everyone from the Executive Director on down interacts with the volunteers, and pitches in to do the grunt work - scooping poop to cleaning cages in the sick rooms. The all volunteer board members each work at least one day at the shelter, where they help with adoptions and take charge of cleaning sick rooms. Everyone is friendly and supportive, and everyone loves the feline population! It isn't "do the work and get out" - the volunteers mostly stay after the work is done to play with and pet the cats. Socializing the cats is seen as an important part of the process towards getting them forever homes. We love them all, but each of us has favorites, and we are so happy when that cat gets a forever home!

I am amazed at the transparency of CCC as well. At the end of last year, the Executive Director posted to the CCC facebook page how many cats were at the shelter in 2012, how many came in and were adopted out, how many died or had to be kindly euthanized (answer 589 adopted, only about 22 died). If you want to know about a particular cat, you can ask - was it adopted, is it sick, is it at a store waiting to be adopted? As a volunteer, I work many of the fundraising events. At the end of the event, the volunteers working are told how the event did in terms of money raised. That money goes to pay whatever bills were incurred to put on the event, but everything else goes to the cats. There are no fat salaries that suck up event or donation money. Overhead is a very small percentage of where the money goes that comes into CCC. If you donate to Cozy Cat, it goes to the feline residents, keeping a roof over their heads, keeping them warm in winter and cool in summer, paying the medical bills for them.

Cozy Cat Cottage also strives to educate the public on how to care for their pet cats and the importance of getting pets spayed and neutered. I've seen the Executive Director teach people how to bottle feed baby kittens they have found, give them supplies to get them started. CCC actively supports feral cat TNR and cat colony care and responsibility, for those cats who would not make good pets, but nonetheless deserve to live.

I could talk about how clean the place is, and how people tell us how wonderful the cats they have adopted are, but everyone else mentions these things - they are the hallmarks of Cozy Cat Cottage! This shelter is a special place, totally devoted to helping homeless cats who through no fault of their own have ended up on the streets, but make wonderful pets for someone, given the chance.

I'm very proud to be a Cozy Cat volunteer, I think it is the best shelter in central Ohio!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We adopted from CCC this year after learning about them from MedVets Columbus. The staff and volunteers are extremely knowledgeable and caring. The facility was clean and organized. I would definitely consider them in all future adoptions!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cozy Cat Cottage (CCC) has quite a reputation among pet lovers in and around this area, for healthy, happy, well-cared-for cats. They take in not only stray cats, but those whose owners can no longer take care of them. They rescue cats from abandoned buildings. They recently participated in building a shelter for a feral cat colony. There is staff on-hand daily to see to their health and welfare. They have a veterinarian who comes to CCC for neuter/spaying, and offer a low-cost neuter/spay program. Cozy Cat participates in local pet adoptathons at the area pet stores. (I've taken cats for adoption to Petco and Petsmart on several occasions. CCC has saved countless cats from euthanization at area humane societies. Many volunteers, myself included, have fostered kitten families until they were old enough to be available for adoption. Most touching are the kitties who are mere hours or days old and they are hand-fed and nursed when there is no mama cat to nurse them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find new opportunities for fund raising and donations.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

One of my favorite things is donating gift baskets to the silent auctions and raffles of pro-animal non-profits, and Cozy Cat Cottage is my favorite charity. They do such important work and have the nicest volunteers. Their fall fundraising event is my favorite non-profit event of the year. If I weren't so allergic to cats, I would volunteer at their shelter. I highly recommend this non-profit to volunteers, donaors, and those looking to adopt a shelter cat.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The people at Cozy Cat are dedicated to helping abused, abandoned and stray cats. Everyone pitches in to cover if there is an event or an emergency. The cats come first and their needs are seen to before anything else. There are strict procedures to follow so the healthy cats and kittens stay healthy and happy. No kitten or cat leaves Cozy Cat without first being spayed or neutered, microchip-ed and vaccinated. Over all I believe it is one of the best shelters in Ohio.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 14, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

if you go to cozy cat cottage the thing you will notice most is how much the staff and volunteers really care about the cats. not just care for them, but care about them. Everyone is very friendly and don't mind stepping over you if you happen to be on the floor playing with the kittys.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As the board member who started Cozy Cat back in 1998 I saw the need for a shelter that could and would provide medical care to their residents just as we would our own pets. One that would have a clean and stable environment and would always put their interest before money and our own interest. I feel with the help of our dedicated and wonderful volunteers day in and day out we have achieved that goal. We are one of the few in our area as well as surrounding areas that deal with orphan kittens. A 24-7 job. While we have limited intake because we choose to make sure all of ours are well taken care of and know that once we send these little ones onto their hopefully forever home we can take in and they go out. We are truly blessed to have such an awesome following for such a small group. I can truly say we are a five star shelter.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My first experience with Cozy Cat Cottage was when I was working near the adoption center. I have always loved cats and had been holding off on getting a cat until the right time. I went to just explore the cats and get a little cat love time and the volunteers there were very helpful and weren't upset that I just came in to get a little cat love. A year later it was time for me to get my first cat since graduating from college and I went to the shelter with a very clear view in mind of what cat I was going to get. I wanted a tabby kitten. Little did I find out that the shelter takes in previously owned cats that have already been declawed and I wanted a cat without claws so they directed me to the cats that were declawed. I picked up my Jillian and fell in love instantly. I ended up leaving with a completely different view and cat. The shelter educates it's future pet owners and helps the cats live the best life. They did not want me to get my new cat declawed so they showed me cats that had already been declawed. They believe that it is inhumane and that it is akin to cutting our fingers off down to the first knuckle. They changed my view and my next cat still has his claws and there are no problems. They are also very willing to take back cats that have previously been adopted. They would rather get a return than the cat be thrown out due to a problem. They are very helpful and took me in with open arms when I wanted to help out and get even more cat time. I now clean the rooms for the sick kitties and you can see how much love and attention all of the cats get and how well the sick ones are taken care of. I hardly have to do anything because they are so well cared for and frequently cared for that their quarentine rooms are very clean and easy to tidy up. This cleanliness can be said about every aspect of the shelter.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Cozy Cat Cottage in Powell Ohio is an outstanding nonprofit organization. It is well organized, always clean and takes it's goal of finding a forever home for every cat seriously. To meet this goal they use a wide variety of approaches. Newborn kittens and their mothers are taken care of by volunteers both in the facility and in foster homes. There are monthly low cost spay/neuter clinics. A separate area is kept for sick cats of all ages and staffed with specially trained volunteers. All volunteers go through a training program and there are adoption counselors who help people find an appropriate cat for their home. Outreach programs and fund-raisers occur regularly and are well publicized. They also help people who can no longer care for their cat find homes for them, and rescue cats from shelters who would euthanize them. Volunteers clean the facility both morning and evening. The cats themselves have areas to roam in while still having spaces for those who need extra attention. They helped me with a stray I found and with their support I was able to bring him into my home where he currently lives the good life! They even have volunteers who can take feral cats away from dangerous situations and work tirelessly to reduce and eliminate the abandoned cats in the community while meeting high standards of care and staying a no-kill facility. It's an organization worthy of praise.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Cozy Cat is the most amazing place. It is clean and bright and has the most loving caring group of volunteers and staff. I wish there were not a need for a place like this but there is and I feel so much love just walking in the door. It is so special, I can't call it a shelter.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers